We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Elephant

The Elephant
Ranked #81 of 411 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely wine!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We ate here over the weekend, I phoned a day before and booked a table for two for the next evening. We arrived at 7.30pm, we were immediately seated and on our table were prawn crackers and sweet chili sauce, both of which were very nice. Our drinks order was taken very quickly. At this point our wine menu was taken from the table, but we wanted to keep it as we were going to order a bottle of wine once we had decided which we wanted. The staff are so efficient, the waitress who bought our first drinks to the table went to take our wine menu from the table again so we had to explain we wanted to keep it. This is no bad reflection on the restaurant though - the staff were very good!

The menu is brilliant, there is so much choice. From Chinese cuisine, to Thai and a complete Vegetarian menu too.

When the starter was bought to the table it was the wrong one, but the staff very quickly exchanged it for the correct ones, no issues at all. The starter arrived very quickly.

Our mains took a fair while to arrive, but they were well worth the wait. The rice portions were huge - I couldn't even eat half of mine! The main dishes were lovely, full of flavour.

Drinks wise the Pinot that we ordered was lovely.

Neither of us could finish our meals but the staff were more than happy to box them up for us and let us take them home.

I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    56
    16
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best oriental food in bedford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food.. Service and ambience.. The tom yam soup and wasabi prawns were delicious.. Chicken in pandanus leaves and coconut ice cream very authentic..will recommend

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mankiran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Left happy after every visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have been here a number of times and the food is consistently good, Bedford was in desperate need of a good Chinese restaurant and thank god we've got one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Even better than last time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

It's 18 months since we enjoyed a great meal here so we were looking forward to our second visit.

We were not disappointed - in fact the overall experience was even better than last time. The Thai food was impressively good, tasty and well-presented - and the service from our Thai waitress was faultless and very friendly.

The restaurant was very busy, it being New Year's Eve, but the staff coped very competently. Well done, Elephant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidLondon2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The food here is nice and of a good standard, it has a good range of dishes and good portion sizes. The food is also well presented and the service was functional.

My only real gripe is that it was slightly pricier than I expected - £2.90 is too much for a standard portion of plain rice, for example. Overall, coming to The Elephant was a good experience, but I wouldn't be in a rush to go back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertlb85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elephant also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing