We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great good, fantastic service!”
Review of Thai Lagoon

Thai Lagoon
Ranked #16 of 426 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Thai Lagoon is a family run business which aims to serve food cooked with love and care at a reasonable price and in a warm atmosphere. Here at Thai Lagoon, we take pride in the fact that all our dishes are cooked fresh and to the customer's tastes. Fresh Thai herbs, spices and vegetables are imported each week and expertly blended with the finest quality local ingredients to provide an authentic taste of Thailand. Please note: The kitchen closes 1 hour before the closing time
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really great good, fantastic service!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Went few for a meal in pre celebration of a trip to Thailand. Were really impressed with how the venue felt, far better use of the small space than when it was the previous thai restaurant. The food was full of flavour and delicate, beautifully presented and the freshness of the ingredients can really be tasted in the dishes.
Personal opinion is that thai is more delicate than Indian and more varied depth of flavour than Chinese (the other options along that stretch of bedford).
Tempted? Try it, we'll be going again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justme_2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    74
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Query other reviews?”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I'm somewhat confused by the other reviews on here, I would agree the service is good, but the decor is notThai and the ambience (hate that word) isn't brilliant. The food, for a Thai restaurant, is no better than average and is fairly expensive. By all means try this restaurant if you've never had Thai food before, but don't expect the best, because it isn't

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank glynandwilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thai_Lagoon, Owner at Thai Lagoon, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thats a tricky one. Really unsure how to respond since you are challenging all of the 5 star and 4 star reviews received over 18 months of which there are over 120! However, we are all entitled to our own opinions. I should excplain that the decor is indeed Thai. The restaurant has plenty of Thai artefacts but the problem is sometimes people are used to going to tourist areas in Thailand or restaurants in Europe where they go overboard on old outdated decor such as dark wicker, bamboo everywhere which closely resemble a 1940's oriental war movie. We probably have more Thai decor here than we generally see when we are in Thailand, but we dont go to the tourist areas. We would equally have to excuse some oriental tourists having visited the UK, returning to their country thinking the whole of the UK is emblazened with Union Jack' flags and the soldiers all walk around with a bearskin on their heads which would be their experience in Central London.

The food is also misenterpreted in the same way. My wife is Thai and has been a very successful Head Chef in Thailand where she owned a restaurant and hotel frequented not by tourists but by Thai's. Both the restaurant and hotel were very popular. Subsequently she ran mid to large restaurants in Holland and was equally popular and she was in fact on TV over there as well. A large number of our diners know Thai food very well and many of them live part of their lives in Thailand dividing their time between UK and Thailand. We are frequently told that Chutima's food is absolutely authentic and this quality they have not experienced outside of Thailand. We do not profess to be better than everyone else or that you cant find good Thai food elsewhere. That would be arrogant, but we do know that the quality is up there with the best and since we also eat Thai food we are also able to compare. It is personal choice. If your experience is different then stick with what you know and enjoy it but it is a little unfair to overly criticise those who also provide a good standard. Let us also not forget that for a European who possibly holidays in Thailand occasionally is someway short of a Thai who has been cooking Thai food for around 30 years and been a Head Chef for at least 20 of those years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality Food”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My husband and I ate at this restaurant for the 1st time yesterday evening and were delighted we chose Thai Lagoon. Initially I left a voicemail advising we wanted to book a table and we received a call back as confirmation. Upon our arrival and throughout, the service was very welcoming and always with a smile. the most important apect was the food. It was of very high quality and the flavours were really nice. I had a Red Curry with rice which was rich and warming in flavour. Although my husband had a different dish, we were both feeling full by mid way but the taste and quality ensured we just had to finish our dishes! I would highly recommend taking time to visit and experience what Thai Lagoon can offer both in food and venue

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LfRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“All round, impressive”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The owner was sociable, service was excellent, food was tasty and the price was very reasonable, too. Would strongly recommend!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bev1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“yummy, yummy”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

What more can I say? The food was utterly divine and the service fantastic! Can't recommend it highly enough and will definitely be going back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallyf333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Lagoon also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Kempston, Bedford
 

Been to Thai Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing