We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit of a change from the Sunday Roast!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Curry Mansion

The Curry Mansion
Ranked #104 of 406 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A fairly new Indian restaurant, with very freshly cooked food with plenty of individual flavours. Run by a young team who seem really keen to know what you think of their cooking. A refreshing change from the average curry house. Set in the country. Large, light, airy and clean building. These guys are building a good reputation locally.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“A bit of a change from the Sunday Roast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My partner and I were out for an organised Sunday drive with fellow sports car enthusiasts and our leader had booked us all in for a lunch with a difference at The Curry Mansion, about 4 miles north of the county town of Bedford.. Their on site car park more than swalled up our 11 cars with space for a lot more. The restaurant had modern decor and seating and the whole atmosphere of the restaurant was very relaxing. As this was an "all you could eat" Sunday Buffet at £9.95p per head, we sampled everything and the food was indeed, delicious and had some of our party going back for more and more! The bar was pretty well stocked, but no cask ales and during their "rush hour" one had to queue a long time for any sort of drink, but that was the only minor complaint. The staff were very attentive and explained what was in the dishes on offer. Certainly a restaurant that my partner and I would go back to again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    27
    11
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have visited this restaurant several times after being recommended by friends and have never been disappointed. The menu is extensive and the refurbished restaurant is modern and clean. It is worth the drive out of town for the great food and friendly service. Cannot recommend enough.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“First time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Live within 4 miles of this Indian Restaurant and have been there in all its other guises as the old Blacksmiths Arms public house and then in its first incarnation as an Indian restaurant then last night, Saturday, as this new restaurant. What an amazing change! So bright and modern. Completely different, in fact you wouldnt recognise it as any of its previous lives. The staff were extremely attentive, polite and welcoming and the food was out fast and hot and extremely well cooked and presented, and there was plenty of it. The popadoms were all perfect, and the accompaniments were all very fresh and tasty. The mains were not the bog standard things that are found in 99% of other Indian restaurants locally and I couldnt fault any of our choices. All in all a lovely meal out in great surroundings, not rushed and local to us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-atAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Best Indian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

This out-of-the-way restaurant was recommended to me, and I'm glad that it was. I've only ever been there at lunchtime on a Monday, when it has been very empty, so lacking atmosphere, but the food has made me go back again and again. Especially unusual and always delicious were the fish curries. I know of no better Indian restaurant in or near Bedford (and there are many). Service was good, not surprisingly, since we were outnumbered by staff. Definitely worth the drive a few miles up the road towards Kimbolton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TimSharrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Not the easiest place to get to and the entrance is round the back - don't let that put you off. Very modern premises, beatifully fitted out, very friendly staff, and great food, the portions are the biggest in and around Bedford, so go steady on poppadoms and starters. Great value Wednesday night fixed price meal - I think it's £10.95 for a really good meal with quite a few dishes you don't get elsewhere. Disappointing desserts, usual straight from the freezer ice creams but you won't have room so it didn't matter.

Helpful?
1 Thank wedgieBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Curry Mansion also viewed

Sandy, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Curry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing