We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The heart of Bedford”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The heart of Bedford”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have stayed here for the past 4 years and every year it goes down hill. Last year I put a report in and the reply was that they were going through a renovation period. Well this year all the problems that we encounter last year had been put right. This year was down to charging you for parking but not enough spaces so we had to park on the road. Dirty plates at breakfast mixed in with the clean plates. Having to wait for breakfast because they did not have enough staff on. Come on Park management up your game or loose your customers.

Room Tip: If it is a one night stay it is ok otherwise look for an alternative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Paul S,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford.
Feedback from our entire guest’s is for me of the upmost importance to ensure we improve the service and standards within the hotel.
I do take on board all your comments and firstly apologise for the standards that you received. Has the new general manager one of my goals within the coming weeks is to improve the service and standards we offer to all our guests. At the same time I have taken on a new Operations Manager will ensure that the company and hotel standards are in place.
Once again thank you for your comments
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    154
    100
    44
    26
See reviews for
53
107
22
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Found the park inn to be an excellent venue for the business meeting we held there. The room was spacious and had all we needed to carry out our meeting. Really great atmosphere overall, good service friendly staff and very accommodating, The food that was put on for our meeting was excellent. Ideal center of town location by the riverfront. Would definitely use the Park Inn again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Kevin J
Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent meeting at the Park Inn by Radisson Bedford.
We have within the last 3 months refurbished all our meeting rooms, and the feedback we have received from other guests attending meetings within the hotel is very positive. We are within the next 2 months about to launch new in room meeting standards, which will also include a new food and beverage offering.
Once again thank you for your comments
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Rooms were small, but clean. Great location in Bedford. Would have been nicer if I had been in the tower. Did not seem to care about my Carlton Preferred Membership. If i stay there again, I would insist on being in the tower portion.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear JF,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford.
I was sorry to read that you feel that you were not recognised within the hotel as a valued Carlson Member and please be assured I will with the front office manager ensure that our recognition programme is reviewed.
Once again thank you for your comments
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at the Park Inn on business quite a few times over the last few years and have seen a gradual improvement with the reception and dining areas being the latest to be refurbished. The staff are friendly, all areas are clean and the bedrooms are modern and the bed very comfortable . Unfortunately the whole experience is ruined by the 70s aluminium framed windows. They are badly corroded, badly fitting and missing most, if not all of the catches that would at least enable some of the gaps to minimised, cutting out at least some of the road noise. They must waste so much heat and make the hotel draughty.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Knockout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Knockout,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford.
Feedback is always welcome so that we are able to improve the service and standards that we offer at the hotel. We have over the past year refurbished a number of areas within the hotel which you have commented on. At the same time the feedback we have received with regards to the refurbishment is very encouraging.
I am please to inform you that the next main project will be the outside of the hotel which will include the windows.
Once again thank you for your comments
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Went to a wedding reception, didn't actually stay at the hotel.
The bar staff were absolutely terrible! Didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. Had to wait about 10 mins for a drink and when we did get served the lady served 3/4 of a pint! And when I kindly asked her if she could fill it to the top, if looks could kill! The gentleman behind the bar, who I could only assume was the senior member of staff due to the way he was dressed, was all over the place! Didn't seem to know how to work the till, forgot drinks that people had ordered and paid for and at one point I witnessed him nearly serve a gin and tonic to someone purely wanting tonic water!!! How bad is that if that person was driving and he was serving them alcohol! The buffet food was stone cold and the bread seemed like it had been sat out for hours, was rock hard! Bar prices were expensive compared to the poor service and lack of organisation behind the bar.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AnonB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear AnonB03,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Park Inn by Radisson Bedford.
Feedback is always welcome so that we are able to improve the service and standards that we offer at the hotel. I apologise that your experience at the hotel with regards to the function was not to your satisfaction.
I am please to say that we have now taken on a new operations manager who has a wealth of knowledge with regards to food and beverage and one of his key areas of focus will be to service that our food and beverage department improve with regards to service and standards.
Once again thank you for your comments
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bedford hotels

Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

nothing to write home about. the hotel was going through a renovation when I was there and booked for the raddisson name but was slightly disappointed with the food and the fact that the TV system was down for the entire duration (3 weeks) that I was there.
breakfast was good but the dinner for their buffet and from menu were really bad for a hotel run by Radisson. was on business so got an internet enabled room which was great. price and location nice with a room facing the river. not too bad really just average though not the high standard (by that I mean the food) that I have had at some other Radisson hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilhanJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear DilhanJ
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Park Inn Bedford last December. Feedback for all our guests is of the upmost importance so that we are able to improve the service and standards.
The hotel was indeed undergoing a renovation of the main ground floor area, meeting rooms, bar and restaurant. I am please to say that the hotel, has now completed all our ground floor renovations. We have received excellent feedback regarding renovations.
With regards to the food and beverage service this is a key focus area for the hotel, This is an area both myself and the Operations Manager are working on to improve the service and standards.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

I arrived, parked in the car park, overlooking the lovely river. Then it was downhill from there! Checked in got to my room and had to go back to get the key card re programmed as I couldn't get in.
At booking I had booked a room, for 1 person for 1 night and for 90 quid I was anticipating a double!
It was a single bed, arghhhhh!!
The tiny tiny room was about 7ft wide 10ft long but with a really nice shower room.
I've never been to prison.... But I can imagine that's what it's like!
I have paid less than that in nicer places than Bedford and got a much better room. Hence the bad feedback.
I would expect something above and beyond what I got for 90 pounds........ Feel very disappointed and out of pocket!
Breakfast was ok, not brilliant.....

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexxeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PI_Bedford, Manager at Park Inn by Radisson Bedford, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Bexxeb
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Park Inn Bedford. Feedback for all our guests is of the upmost importance so that we are able to improve the service and standards.
I have read all your comments in detail, I do apologise that your feel your stay was not to your satisfaction. With regards to the bedrooms within the hotel, we have a number of rooms, some of these are single rooms, however we do have bedrooms with a double bed that overlook the river.
Thank you for your comment regarding breakfast, this is a key guest area that we are working on within the next month and I am confident that we should see a great improvement within this area.
Once again thank you for your comments.
Simon Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.1 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bedford (Priory Marina) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Inn by Radisson Bedford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Inn by Radisson Bedford

Property: Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Address: 2 St. Marys Street, Bedford MK42 0AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Inn by Radisson Bedford 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City centre hotel in Bedford welcomes travellers With a premium location close to shops, pubs, restaurants and business parks, the Park Inn offers ideal city centre accommodation. Adjacent to the college, this hotel in Bedford is only a short walk from the charming market. Our 120 stylish rooms feature appealing amenities like Free Wireless High-speed Internet and 24-hour room service. At RBG Bar & Grill, you can indulge in savoury grilled dishes while enjoying views of the river Ouse. On-site car parking and complimentary access to the fitness centre make travel more enjoyable. For an unforgettable wedding reception or a business gathering of up to 450 guests, we offer eight fully equipped meeting rooms. Guests can easily walk to pubs, museums and shops from this Bedford hotel. Fun attractions like Woburn Abbey and Safari Park are a short drive away. All 120 en suite rooms include Free Wireless High-speed Internet. GBP 1.5M refurbishment on the County Suite at the beginning of 2014. Treat yourself to a gourmet burger at the on-site RBG Bar & Grill. With a fitness centre available at the hotel, it's easy to stay looking your best while on the road. We offer on-site parking for up to 70 cars (GBP 5 per car, per night). This Bedford hotel is non smoking. The hotel holds a license to perform civil ceremonies and partnerships; we also welcome ethnic events. Pets are not allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Inn by Radisson Bedford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn By Radisson Bedford Hotel Bedford
Bedford Park Inn
Park Inn Bedford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing