We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for one night this weekend. My first impression of the hotel was lovely, very classy. Staff are welcoming and friendly. Although we didn't eat here, the restaurant has a great vibe and food was highly recommended by other guests.

The rooms are modern and homely and the bed was very comfortable.

I would recommend the Lotus Spa for a massage. Laura gave me a hot stone massage and it was amazing!

We would defiantly stay here again and defiantly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    452
    262
    180
    112
See reviews for
299
536
66
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We booked for 3 of us to go for afternoon tea lovely service, great selection of cakes and sandwiches and there was a lovely atmosphere around the place. Would definitely go again good value for money our waitress looked after us she was a superstar!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah_Park_Rev_Mgr, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Many thanks for your delightful five star review regarding your Afternoon Tea. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Following our experience at the very basic Best Western Leicester Stage (see earlier review) we moved on to Bedford and the Swan. We immediately knew this was going to suit us more. There was plenty of parking, some of it under cover, which was helpful at this frosty time of year. We didn't object to paying £5 to park for anything up to 24 hours. (Try Cambridge!) Reception staff were friendly and efficient, there was antique furniture and masses of flowers. It did really look as if one was in a country house hotel, in spite of the fact that the road alongside the river runs past the front of the hotel and it's only a short walk to the town and its amenities. Our room was on the first floor, reached by a very efficient lift which one accesses by heading towards the spa area. There's a slightly unnerving smell of chlorine - from the spa pool, presumably - and two lovely ladies looking hopeful in case one might be about to book a 'spa experience' - but proceed onwards and you are whisked upwards to a superior room which, in our case, overlooked the castle mound. Everything you could want was there (except a face flannel and biscuits). The hairdryer blew at a rate of knots (good). The only downside was having to scroll through interminable menus with 'adult movies' offered in order to get to BBC1! And this every time you switch on. We ate briefly in the restaurant with friends when it opened at 6pm as we were going out to a lecture. Since we were in a hurry, we only had one course. Everyone except me had the lamb chop Shepherd's Pie, which came individually in a teeny lidded dish sitting on the ubiquitous slate platter with glazed mega carrots on the side. I chose Mussels, which is the Monday Special. New Zealand Green Lipped they were not. In fact, many of them were very small or missing from the shells piled up in the bowl. They brought a finger bowl and a shell plate, which was fine, but no bread and I had to ask for a spoon since I intended to drink the liquid they'd been cooked in. Ideally, I'd have mopped some of it up with bread but in the event there was no time since it had taken me so long to disinter the mussels from their shells that everyone else was ready and raring to go. There was a small tub of string chips on the side, so 'moules frites' I suppose, but the chips were very thin and not to my taste. When we came back we had a double whisky and smoked salmon sandwiches each for £22 by the side of a roaring (gas) fire at about 10pm.. The bedroom was comfortable and water hot in the morning. Breakfast was very good, with a choice of hot buffet or you could have eggs cooked to order (only scrambled on the buffet) and black pudding or kippers if you asked. There was salami, ham etc on the cold buffet and a good selection of fresh fruit. The collection of antique chairs in the dining room is rather eclectic but adds to the refreshingly homely feel of the place. At this time of year, a double room is very affordable. Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Swan Hosted our Work Christmas Party one lunchtime / afternoon. We were looked after brilliantly and didn't want to leave!

Good food , Great atmosphere - highly recommended.
A great venue for a Christmas party- roll on December!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed toward the end of January 2014 for four nights (Sunday to Wednesday). The prices were similar to Premier Inn, but the quality on the whole was much better. I've heard folk complain about the lack of parking spaces - I thought that there were plenty of parking spaces, but £5 a day is unfair for a paying resident given that hotels in other town cities which attract more visitors than Bedford does do not. Perhaps do not charge residents and increase the charges for non-resident visitors? The hotel has excellent and attentive staff in particular in the restaurant in the evenings. The swimming pool is not of a swimmers pool given it's short length and the "waterfall" effect at one end. It has one single unisex changing cubicle which can make for a long wait on occasion when you want to get out of the pool and none of the locks on the lockers work. That said, the whole pool/jacuzzi area is apparently influenced by Roman baths (I might say shabby ultra-chic) and has a really good relaxing atmosphere. It was somewhere I wanted to return each night before to unwind after a stressful day with a little swim in the pool, jacuzzi and shower that jets out from different places (brilliant!). The one thing that is missing which would be helpful is a swimming costume drying machine like you get at most pools to stop having to drip a wet cozzie through the hotel. The food in the restaurant is excellent and the lounge areas are very chilled out with a perfect ambience. My room was a good size, clean and properly stocked. My only quibble with the room are the polyester pillows which are rock hard - if you are feather pillow kind of person you will be bitterly disappointed (maybe a choice of pillows types as Premier Inn now do is a good suggestion for the hotel?) - though the bed itself is a good size and very comfortable. I definitely want to return to this hotel when on business in Bedford - if the suggestions for improvements are do-able, for me it would nigh-on perfect! On the whole, I had a wonderful stay and my quibbles are suggestions for improvements which I think other guests might appreciate.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

A group of us from a motor club organised our annual party at this hotel. The accomodation was comfortable and quiet, the food and drink both excellent, and service very good indeed. We had gone to this hotel after a deteriorating experience at another, so this was very welcome.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view over the river, but those at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinFergusson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked for ourselves and friends for a new years eve celebration. The Hotel was clean and the rooms adequate for our purposes, the staff were friendly and helpful, we did find that the younger members had little experience and unable to resolve basic problems without recourse to senior staff. The afternoon tea was a good idea but placing a buffet next to the reception area made things a little chaotic at times particularly when the food need replenishing and people were waiting for fresh trays and hot drinks to arrive. The evening meal and entertainment was excellent and the service improved when a manager took control and started directing junior staff. Breakfast however returned to buffet style and the problems with replenishing food and drinks again became evident. The staff were trying but had little experience, we raised this with the Manager before leaving who apologised so hopefully things will improve for next year.

Room Tip: River view rooms are on the 3rd floor and the view is over the roof of the function room. Suites are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Real_Ale_Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 18 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.5 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing