We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely experience... but” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bedford Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bedford Swan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely experience... but”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

A 90th-birthday treat for a hugely loved aunt, following a similar visit some years ago for my mum-in-law's birthday. My wife and I came down from Yorkshire and stayed with Aunt V overnight at The Swan. Two other family members also came down from Yorkshire and stayed nearby with family, and a cousin joined us from Bedford. It really was lovely - excellent, spacious rooms with views over the river, convivial pre-dinner drinks, then down to eat in a restaurant with a very welcoming atmosphere.

We had superb service from all the staff, from reception to restaurant, and Maitre d' Gareth was excellent. I told him afterwards I'd enjoyed my meal, which I had. It was only later the next day, after we'd left, that I discovered I was the only one who had - nobody had wanted to say anything that might sour the event. I would have preferred to have mentioned this privately to Gareth, as I wouldn't normally do a crit just via Trip Advisor unless I felt ripped off, which we didn't, but the meal and wine were relatively expensive for the quality of what we had and I'd rather point out something that I believe was a rare drop in standards.

I would urge people, however, not to be put off by our dining experience, as everything else was fine, including the best night's sleep for weeks. This is a genuinely excellent hotel with wonderful staff, in a superb location, and we shall almost certainly return.

Room Tip: Easy - just ask for a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jayceeYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with Tripadvisor. Please allow me to thank you for your kind comments about your last visit to us. I have communicated your feedback to the team who are very grateful. With regard to the meal, we would encourage all of our guests to be honest with us about their dining experience. We would have been most happy to rectify any issues your party had experienced on the night. I do hope that we may welcome you back again soon to allow us the opportunity to make amends for the areas where you found us lacking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    435
    254
    174
    111
See reviews for
284
526
66
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was a present from family, the whole experience is fabulous. The wonderful location of the hotel and olde world interior make it very special. The service, scrummy sandwiches, cakes and pastries made this a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol190726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your five star feedback with Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our offering of afternoon tea. The teams have worked hard in improving this area of late, and in designing our festive afternoon tea offering which will be available from the 1st of December. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

After experiencing afternoon tea at the Swan earlier in the year I had taken my parents as a treat to a well renowned and prestigious hotel in the centre of Chester. What a disappointment!!! No comparison with the Swan and twice the price.
So on my next visit to Bedford I returned to the Swan with my close friend to relive our past experience. We were not disappointed and were delighted to be greeted by the lovely Cristina who had served us on our previous visit. This young lady is an asset to the Hotel - she ha a wonderful smile and is keen to make everyone feel at ease. She served us our wonderful afternoon tea with a professional but caring manner and it was worth returning there to see her again. It is not often that you remember a member of staff so well.
Thank you the Swan and we will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireAnne_Mick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback with us. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback has been passed on to the teams and to Christina directly. Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My first impression of this hotel is the location, on the fabulous river Ouse. On entering this fabulous hotel the décor is in my eyes perfect very oldie traditional British artefacts and spotlessly clean.

Next: ALL the staff, the reception, bar staff, cleaners! Just all are so very helpful and so polite, whoever trains the staff take a big pat on the back, no matter what member of staff you talk to, just so nice, and nothing is too much trouble.


If I can mention one person I think he was either the duty manager a guy named “Paul” very knowledgeable and helped us with any detail we asked him.
We attended a wedding; the food was as good as it gets, also the evening buffet so plentiful and tasty.

If you are ever in this region of the country or fancy a break book the Bedford Swan Hotel truly a perfect relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your five star feedback with us. It is wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Your feedback has been communicated to the teams who are most grateful. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely meal celebrating a 70th birthday. Very relaxing with great food and there is a great choice, the daily specials are worth trying. the service is good and very friendly staff too. The Swan is in a good location and onsite parking. Good wine list.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drich681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review to Tripadvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

On arrive the lady who checked us in was lovely when we got to the room we had a view over looking the bins :-( we decided to go and relax in the leisure facilities, the Jacuzzi was really nice once it had stopped we decided to go for a swim I had only just got in and swam from one side to the other and got a mouth and arm full of hair ( not mine!) this put me off and we decided to have another jacuzzi then go to our room.
On check out the lady was very abrupt and did not have a "can do" attitude like most hotels it was more like can't go and go away attitude :-(
Very disappointed with the stay

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nuttytazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am pleased to learn that in the main you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the pool area and reception have been passed to the appropriate personnel for review. We are sorry that you feel our standards did not reach your expectations in these areas. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that we may welcome you back to the hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Booked afternoon tea for 23 guests for my Mothers 90th birthday. We were kindly allowed access to the two tables an hour before the tea party and allowed to decorate them as we wished We went for a vintage theme with lots of flowers in jugs and little teapots plus the usual balloons etc. The staff were very attentive and on hand for lots of top ups of tea. We had read some dubious reviews regarding the sandwiches but ours were fresh and varied. We were not hurried over tea and felt we could stay as long as we liked. Overall a lovely afternoon and Thank you to all concerned at The Swan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kenandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan113, General Manager at Bedford Swan Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with Tripadvisor. We are delighted that your party enjoyed themselves. The hotel has made a consious effort in improving our offering. We are very pleased that this was to your satisfaction. Only through honest feedback can we make these improvements. We do hope that we may be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bedford
1.6 mi away
The Barns Hotel
The Barns Hotel
#2 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
8.6 mi away
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wyboston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
2.0 mi away
Woodland Manor Hotel
Woodland Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#13 of 17 in Bedford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Swan Hotel

Property: Bedford Swan Hotel
Address: The Embankment, Bedford MK40 1RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bedford Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Swan Hotel is situated in a stunning town centre location overlooking the river and just 30 minutes from central London. Steeped in character and history yet fully refurbished to meet the needs of both our corporate and leisure guest The Swan provides outstanding hospitality expected from a 4 star Hotel. REST Enjoy a perfect night's sleep in one of our stunning bedrooms with thick soft duvets, contemporary fabrics, throws and cushions, signature wall papers and stylish furniture. Air conditioning is in all rooms as standard along with flat screen 32 inch LCD TV with in - room entertainment offering a wide range of up to date movies and high speed internet access. EAT We offer a fantastic range of dining options including the fabulous AA rosette awarded River Room Restaurant and relaxing lounges. 24 Hour room service is available daily and in the summer enjoy al fresco dining or drinks on our terrace overlooking the river. All our food is freshly prepared by our highly skilled team of Chefs. SPA: Our stunning Roman bath inspired pool and Jacuzzi provide the perfect way to unwind after a long, busy day. Our fully trained therapists also offer a wide choice of treatments including Swedish massage, Decleor facials and luxury OPI manicures. MEET: The Hotel is the ideal destination for conferences and meetings. Tailor made to suit the individual requirements of all our customers. CELEBRATE: With its superb location and stunning setting, the Hotel is a popular choice for weddings and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bedford Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing