We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIGHT AWAY TO SEE HAWKWIND”

Tennyson House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tennyson House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“NIGHT AWAY TO SEE HAWKWIND”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After over 30 years living with a Hawkwind fan I was persuaded to go with him to a concert and booked at the Tennyson. Whilst out of town the walk to the Corn Exchange only took about 20 minutes. Room was clean, quiet and warm. Good breakfast and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Room 8 at the back of hotel as a busy main road runs past at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
12
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at the Tennyson house Hotel for 2 nights in October 2012 - I was on business and all the staff were very helpful and friendly. This Victorian Hotel is situated in a nice quite area just 5 minutes walk from the railway station and 10 minutes walk to Bedford town centre. I had booked a single room and used one of three shared bathrooms which were never busy as a lot of rooms have ensuite facilities. My room was on the ground floor and there was tea/coffee making facilities and a sink. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The dinning room was very nice and the breakfast was excellent. Great value for money and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Owners very welcoming and helpful. Great breakfast. Room was warm and clean with tea and coffee facilities. Bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in! Perfect location, walking distance from centre of town. Would certainly stay again and would not hesitate to recommend a stay at this lovely character filled house. You would be hard pushed to find a nicer place to stay for the price. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had a wonderful stay. So helpful and friendly. Yummy breakfast. Great room, was so clean. Location was perfect, parking was great. The atmosphere was great. Love to stay again. Thanks for looking after us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sang K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scarborough
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for an overnighter as we were visiting our daughter.we booked over the phone and as it was in the next street to where our daughter is living it proved very handy and convenient.
The owner was very welcoming and friendly, allthough the property is old it was well decorated and well kept, our room was clean and well furnished and the bed was very comfortable, nice touches were the toiletries in the shower and tea /coffe making facilties, also wi-fi was free .
We had the Breakfast and again you could have whatever you liked,cereal ,cooked, toast, fresh juice and all very well prepared, there is a large car park which is really useful as parking in Bedford is at a premium.
We will be staying here again over the next three years while our daughter is at stage school ,If you need a good hotel which is clean and friendly then this is well worth a visit

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsmt47471015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here for more than a week. The accommodation offers reasonably priced rooms, that are clean and well maintained. The price also includes a cooked breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the internet access is of top quality and the hotel is in a great location

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byfleet
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for one night on a Saturday. Was advised on check in that breakfast would be at 8am. What about the guests who start out early, how about 7am. No can do.
The room was shabby and old which sometimes you can expect but it was really dirty and uncared for and couldn't get any hot water from sink. The bed was terrible. A single which had springs digging in your back and folded in middle as it had been so used. Had to turn it around. Pillows were paper thin and grubby. Really did not enjoy sleeping here. Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryJasonByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tennyson House Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hi, firstly i am sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Breakfast is usually served at 8am on weekends, although when possible breakfast can be arranged for an earlier time. Secondly if a complaint was made about your allocated room on the day, a change of rooms would of been made to make your stay more enjoyable. We try to keep all of our rooms to an up to date standard. We have been established for approximately a year and are always trying to improve our facilities and services. If you ever choose to return to Bedford and our establishment then we will be happy to offer you a discount. Although kitchen access will still not be granted at 5am. Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
0.6 mi away
Pilgrims Progress JD Wetherspoon Hotel
0.8 mi away
Bedford Swan Hotel
Bedford Swan Hotel
#8 of 18 in Bedford
1,581 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#12 of 18 in Bedford
65 reviews
1.0 mi away
Embankment Hotel
Embankment Hotel
#14 of 18 in Bedford
303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson House Hotel

Property: Tennyson House Hotel
Address: 36 Shakespeare Road, Bedford MK40 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Tennyson House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing