We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tennyson House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Bedford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here for more than a week. The accommodation offers reasonably priced rooms, that are clean and well maintained. The price also includes a cooked breakfast. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the internet access is of top quality and the hotel is in a great location

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 53 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed for one night on a Saturday. Was advised on check in that breakfast would be at 8am. What about the guests who start out early, how about 7am. No can do.
The room was shabby and old which sometimes you can expect but it was really dirty and uncared for and couldn't get any hot water from sink. The bed was terrible. A single which had springs digging in your back and folded in middle as it had been so used. Had to turn it around. Pillows were paper thin and grubby. Really did not enjoy sleeping here. Stay here at your peril.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryJasonByfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Hi, firstly i am sorry for the inconvenience caused during your stay with us. Breakfast is usually served at 8am on weekends, although when possible breakfast can be arranged for an earlier time. Secondly if a complaint was made about your allocated room on the day, a change of rooms would of been made to make your stay more enjoyable. We try to keep all of our rooms to an up to date standard. We have been established for approximately a year and are always trying to improve our facilities and services. If you ever choose to return to Bedford and our establishment then we will be happy to offer you a discount. Although kitchen access will still not be granted at 5am. Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great location and great value. Cheaper than the cost of the fuel to drive home and a good cooked breakfast included. Good WiFi as well. However... This isn't the sort of place where you will find chocolates on your pillow, rose petals on your bed and the towels made up in the shape of a swan - it's not the right choice for a romantic get-away.
It is clean but a bit shabby and old. I understand it's recently changed ownership and the staff were great, helpful, and seem to be gradually improving the place. It's not super quiet, thin walls between rooms and some traffic noise but not enough to be a problem.
If parking at the back - depending on the time of year - watch out for the lime trees covering the car in sticky droppings. Can't blame the hotel as the trees are next door and my car needed a wash anyway !
So, overall, pretty good, will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

This place was perfect....I had business in Bedford and needed to stay over for a few hours before catching the train back to London. Tennyson House Hotel was a great place to stay and fantastic value for money. The manager was very pleasant and most helpful. I would recommend staying there again.

Room Tip: The en-suite rooms are brilliant. The garden is wonderful on a sunny day Fast internet WiFi access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyLittleMitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I travel a lot due to the business I am in and usually end up staying in grotty B&Bs but what a surprise Tennyson House was. The hotel was right next to the train station and my room was immaculate. I paid £30 for a clean room which included breakfast - BARGAIN!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBC123023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I travellled to bedford as i was attending a wedding there, i found the location perfect, very competitive prices, owners were very friendly, the rooms were clean and considering the low price i paid i found it was very good value.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Smelly and not very clean, the bed was sagging in the middle, shower rail held up with tape, en-suite smelt of urine. Not a good experience!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TennysonHouse, Manager at Tennyson House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2012

Hi there i am currently the new manager of Tennyson House Hotel. May i please take this time to state that the Hotel is now under new management. and is no longer in the unpleasant state it was one in. We have taken over and revamped the whole of Tennyson House, creating a modern, chic and stylish image.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bedford hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bedford
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Bedford
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bedford
Travelodge Bedford
#11 of 18 in Bedford
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Verve Hotel
Verve Hotel
#17 of 18 in Bedford
90 reviews
2 mi away
No photo provided
Tree Garth
#13 of 19 in Bedford
5 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Sharnbrook Hotel
The Sharnbrook Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sharnbrook
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tennyson House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tennyson House Hotel

Address: 36 Shakespeare Road, Bedford MK40 2ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Bedford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Bedford
Price Range: $61 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tennyson House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tennyson House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing