We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and good food”
Review of Indiya

Indiya
Ranked #11 of 418 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine dining restaurant
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and good food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

After many years we decided to give this Indian restaurant a try one Saturday. Booked a table only a couple of hours before, on arrival the waiter was vey apologetic and said our table wasnt ready but it would be in 10 mins but offered us drinks on the house while we were waiting, after another 10 mins the table still wasnt ready but we were given a big tray of poppodoms to munch on while we waited - drinks and food on the house excellent touch they could have just left us to wait without offering anything. The food was good, my prawn puree could have been a bit more spicy but that was a minor issue, next time I will ask for it to be spicer. The chicken tikka jalfrezi was very good, lovely light and fluffy keema naan with the meat spread all over not just a bit in the middle, veg side dishes could have been a bit better the veg curry was a bit thin and not much of it but overall 7.5/10 for the food. The tables are not too crammed in so you have some space between yourselves and other diners. The kingfisher lager pump was playing up but the waiter offered the bottled beer at the same price as an alternative. Nice touches at the end orange slices, hot towels. Would definitely pay another visit to this indian. 10/10 for the excellent customer service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lisjj13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    59
    20
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Thank you for a great Evening”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I admit I was skeptical that my usual Indian Rest would be matched by any other and I was delightfully proved wrong - great service, great food, - a lovely pleasant evening. Gorgeous starters - plenty of choice. Little details like the fresh oranges at the end to cleanse the pallet and nice hot towels all added to the experience. The restaurant is nice and clean, crisp linen and comfy seats. Yes I cant wait to go back - parking really good - just a few yards before the restaurant is a big open safe car park facing the road (used to be the Ford dealer)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Pagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening ruined by waiter”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Went to Indiya last Thursday with my boyfriend. It was very early. On arrival there was another table of customers sitting next to the window. We asked the waiter if we can have a table away from the main floor. He gave us a lovely table inside the small room. As soon as we sat down one of the waiters sat on another table right opposite us. We ordered our food,my boyfriend ordered lamb korma but got chicken instead. The waiter got it changed for us and also gave us the chicken korma to have. Throughout our meal that waiter was sitting there as if he's listening to our conversation. Nobody came over to ask if the food was good or if we were comfortable. We had to whisper to each other most of the time. We asked for the bill, while leaving no other customers had come in. The same people were sitting near the window. We felt very uncomfortable and didn't stay there long.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellyy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious food, excellent service”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

By far the best Indian I've had in Bedfordshire! Really delicious food from starter to desert. Very good service the waiters were very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is lovely and cosy inside. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone dining in Bedford.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Nishta123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite good overall”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Indiya is the only restaurant that is consistently busy weekday and weekends. We have been going there for years. Ive had better curries but theirs arent bad by any means, the service is always good and the restaurant clean. It can get really busy on weekends with youngsters, families, pre-clubbers etc so always best to book

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fatsos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiya also viewed

Bedford, Bedfordshire
Kempston, Bedford
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 
Bedford, Bedfordshire
Bedford, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Indiya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing