We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Would stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Booked at the last minute and would stay again. Ground floor room comfortable for 3 adults, hot drink tray and a welcome chocolate bar for each of us! Christine cooked a hearty breakfast and there was a good selection of cereals, fresh fruit, juices and yoghurt. There is free Wifi access and the option to watch a DVD in your room too. A car parking permit was arranged for us together with maps of the area and information on local restaurants and places to visit. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
15
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

There is nothing intrinsically wrong with the Townhouse but it is definitely not 4 star, as advertised. We booked a triple room for 3 adults and ended up with a small family room with a double bed and single bed. The bathroom was tiny and all of the decor was dated with cheap furniture and fittings (i.e. chipped ornaments, dusty lampshades). The 'view' from our window was onto the bins in the yard. Breakfast was OK, fairly standard but nothing special. Its situation is very handy, on the main road in from the M6 and it is surprisingly quiet at night.
So, no real issues but definitely NOT 4 star accommodation

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a1vicster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked a room the night before using laterooms. It was the cheapest on the site, but was pleasantly surprised when I arrived!

I had a single room, which had a basin, shared bathroom, TV and a yummy chocolate biscuit to go with my tea/coffee! The choice of breakfast was good (cereals, full English, vegetarian, eggs anyway you want juice tea/coffee etc.), and the food itself went down a treat!

The proprietor was very friendly, helpful and made me feel at home. I was also given a parking temporary parking permit, so I could park right outside.

Pros: Good value, lovely breakfast, very good location for Carlisle city centre (10 min walk), friendly host, chocolate biscuit!

Cons: Walls were either a little thin or the person next to me was very loud in their en-suite bathroom. I suspect it was more the latter!

Overall: A lovely B&B, ideal for exploring Carlisle and the surrounding area. I will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a friend. We were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Rooms had everything we needed. They were spacious, light, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. There was a good choice of breakfast items including several cooked options, cereals toast etc. Wifi access is free and there is a computer available for use. There is parking directly outside. City centre is a short pleasant walk away. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I would definitely ask for an en-suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Booking was easy.. Rang the b&b spoke directly to the owner made the reservation as easy as that! Arrived early in the morning before 7.30am.. No trouble provided breakfast for my daughter upon request!!.. Rooms are big and airy. Very clean! Breakfast is excellent!!.. Nothings to much trouble!.. Will definately go back again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 123lezzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Only about 10 minute walk from the station, very quiet location considering its close to town centre. Rooms very clean and meet their purpose of a comfortable nights sleep.

Plenty of Cereals on offer, Good Choice of Cooked Items that you order the day before with your serving time too which is nice if you want a bit of a lie in ! Christine and Duncan very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravenut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I always try to make reservations directly with small properties, to save them commissions, and it always seems to come back to bite me. I made a booking on the Townhouse B&B website and received a confirmation letter from a company called "eviivo" that said if I need to cancel, contact the B&B directly. Unfortunately I did need to cancel and I sent an email to the B&B, well in advance of their 48 hour cancellation deadline.

When I did not hear back, I called the hotel and was told "Yes, I saw your email, but because you booked through eviivo, I ignored it. You have to cancel with them." I pointed out I didn't book through eviivo, and in any case the cancellation instructions were to contact the hotel directly. The person I spoke with said she would call eviivo and get back to me, but of course she never did.

So now I'm fighting with eviivo to get my deposit back. However, the reason I'm leaving a negative review is because any time you're told, "I saw your email, but ignored it" should be a big red flag to stay as far away from a company as possible.

Or at the very least, ensure you book through a reputable travel agency who will take care of these things for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank london_import
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#11 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cornerways Guest House
Cornerways Guest House
#3 of 65 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#6 of 65 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arkale Lodge
Arkale Lodge
#13 of 65 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Cherry Grove Guest House
#32 of 65 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Bed & Breakfast

Property: Townhouse Bed & Breakfast
Address: 153 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star English Tourist Board rated. Ten minutes walk from Carlisle city centre, bus and train station. Five minutes drive from Junction 43 M6 motorway. Ideal base whether visiting Carlisle on business or for pleasure. Great location also for Hadrian's Wall, Keswick / North Lakes or Scottish Borders. Standard single rooms. En suite single and double rooms. All rooms non smoking. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Townhouse Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing