We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent lodge in a lovely section of Carlisle”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlisle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howard Lodge Guest House
Ranked #20 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent lodge in a lovely section of Carlisle”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We arrived mid way thru our eight day bike trek on Hadrian's Cycleway, and were very happy to arrive at the Howard Lodge. Innkeepers Charlotte and Tony could not have been nicer and more accommodating to weary travelers! The room was very nice and the breakfast excellent! It was a most welcoming respite to prepare us for the steeper terrain that lay ahead on our bike tour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank franceyburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    29
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
42
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We spendt a nigtht at Howards lodge walking the Hadrians Wall Path. Very friendly and welcomming hosts, very good breakfast and ok rooms. We had to share shower and toilett with others, thats the only thing that could have been better.
We will recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

From the friendliness of the welcome, the very nice room with exquisite decor, the fine bed, the excellent breakfast, and the helpful advice, to the many small touches and details, the was a fortunate choice on our part, and highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdawson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2012

It was a last minute decision to travel to Carlisle and stay overnight. I was collecting may parents who were completing a walking of Hadrian's Wall holiday, and the Company had booked their accommodation (the last night being at Howard Lodge). Rather than doing the run in one day, I managed to get a room there myself.

The tone of the impending stay was set when I received a friendly (but to the point) from Charlotte and Tony Carr. I received a lovely welcome when I arrived from Charlotte, and it was obvious from the start that they had a great pride in the place. It was spotless, and there were nice little touches like books and DVD's to borrow, as well as free WiFi, and off road parking.

My room was very comfortable and tea and coffee in the room were in plentiful supply. I had one of the best night's sleep that I can remember.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, with most tastes catered for.

Above all, the friendliness of the proprietors and the spotless nature of the place made my stay far, far too short. If I have the opportunity to return to Carlisle, I will look no further for my accommodation.

Thank you Charlotte and Tony Carr.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here at the end of the Cumbria Way for three nights to explore Hadrians Wall. This was an excellent choice with a warm welcome, a comfortable room and good breakfasts. We hired a rental car and it was nice to have off street parking. The restaurants recommended were great - lucky to get the last table at the Italian one.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChchPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Howard Lodge 5/6th of the way through our walk along the Hadrian's Wall Path, mildly startled by the civilization in Carlisle after 4 nights in the virtual wilderness. The location is right in the middle of the city, no more than 5 minutes walk from anywhere you need to be (bus station, train station, shops, restaurants). The owners were extremely friendly and happy to accommodate any requests. The wifi signal was strong, and breakfast was one of the best we had on our trip. The room was average size of what you would expect in the UK. I would certainly stay here again on a return trip to Carlisle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dyrewolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Convenient location with small car park hidden to the side of the property. Comfortable bed, quiet and clean room, and inexpensive. As other reviewers write, the onwers are very friendly and helpful and the cooked breakfast looked very good .... after some not-too-good experiences with cooked breakfasts I played safe with just bacon and toast and feel I missed out as the bacon was nicely cooked and not dripping with fat. Next time, I shall order a wider selection!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancasterHermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.5 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cornerways Guest House
Cornerways Guest House
#3 of 61 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Lodge Guest House

Property: Howard Lodge Guest House
Address: 90 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1JU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing