We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dalston Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Carlisle(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$166
$54
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbria Park Hotel(Carlisle)(Great Value!)
$47
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angus Hotel(Carlisle)
$97
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Wetheral Hotel(Wetheral)
$73
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$63
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (238)
Filter reviews
238 results
Traveler rating
137
48
25
10
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
137
48
25
10
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuestone spiral staircasesunken bathbeautiful hotelwedding breakfastthe rib eye steakon arrivallovely old buildingfour poster bedstaff attentiveromantic breakbridal suiteevening mealchecking outopened the doorbed was very comfortablelamb
Filter
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 238 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by chance after holidaying in Scotland for a week. The hotel is a few miles out of Carlisle set in the countryside. It looked like a small castle on arrival with an imposing large wooden door. Are we at the right place my wife asked as there was no indication of a name on the building, probably because it is a listed building! Lovely large room and big bed with a view over the 'estate.' had drinks on the lawn prior to dinner, we were very well looked after by Steve who had checked us in earlier. He reccomended the steak as a main course as he put it 'you wont get a better or larger steak in the area'. Well he was right it was beautifully cooked and large( I guess at 16-18 ozs). In fact the chef should be congratulated on the food everything was hot and they pride themselves on cooking the items from fresh. Breakfast was sumptious. Back to the steak, we couldnt finish it!!
Although a tad expensive well worth it. My wife liked it even more when she saw and talked to Martin (off the tele from homes under the hammer)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandyboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed in many places around the world that started off as castles, manors or minor palaces and have since been converted into sumptuous B&Bs. Not all of them successfully translated romantic nostalgia into a modern comfortable place of rest and relaxation.

Dalston Hall manages to avoid these pitfalls. It's large well-appointed rooms retain the old-world charm while managing to infuse enough modern elements to make a comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well stocked.

The staff and the owner were very friendly and the breakfast was simply outstanding. It alone was worth the stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcvadhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dalston Hall... First impressions of the exterior made us feel privillaged. We were not dissapointed once we got inside. Our room was stunning with an amazing bathroom (no bath) but very modern and piping hot shower. The property interior will not dissapoint either with it's classic style and imposing charm.

The owner was most helpful, allowing us to check in well ahead of published times. He also assisted us in directions for sightseeing and shopping in very nearby Carlisle city centre.

Breakfast was a pleasure with obviously freshly cooked fare... In fact the best scrambbled eggs enjoyed over our 8 day trip of Scotland.

The grounds are beautiful and lend themsleves to be the perfect location for private functions and weddings.

We wish the proprietors every success with their business as every attention to detail has been addresed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonsReviews1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Dalston hall 3 times in the last 6 months,
Interesting old manor house, very large luxurious rooms, enormous beds and bathrooms, great breakfast and friendly staff,
couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013. It was quite late in the evening until we arrived.
We were checked in by the owner, who didn't give us the most friendly welcome but was very efficient. When he served us drinks in the bar later he had lightened up a bit and was quite cordial.

Our room (7, I think) was lovely. It had a four-poster bed with a comfortable mattress. The building itself is very interesting and it has been sympathetically converted into a hotel - you certainly feel like you are in a very old building and not a modern hotel room. The room had a nice layout with the room sort of divided into two areas - one with the bed and one with a small sofa, dressing table, TV, etc. The windows are beautiful - no modern double glazing in sight. Very heavy curtains would keep out any draft. My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was a little dated and not very well laid out - there was a shelf right above the sink which got in the way when trying to wash my face. Everything was very clean, however.

Our meal in the restaurant was very good. I had scallops (ever so slightly over-done) with black pudding and cauliflower puree and my husband had pate. The fillet steaks were excellent. Perfectly cooked and there was a good selection of sauces and side orders. The two members of staff who served our food and drinks were excellent. Very attentive and friendly. I overheard them giving plenty of advice to foreign guests who were looking for tips on the area. The staff could not be faulted.

Breakfast was also excellent.

I would recommend Dalston Hall, and would certainly stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TownheadHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews