We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLD BUT GOOD”
Review of Dalston Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dalston Hall Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel by chance after holidaying in Scotland for a week. The hotel is a few miles out of Carlisle set in the countryside. It looked like a small castle on arrival with an imposing large wooden door. Are we at the right place my wife asked as there was no indication of a name on the building, probably because it is a listed building! Lovely large room and big bed with a view over the 'estate.' had drinks on the lawn prior to dinner, we were very well looked after by Steve who had checked us in earlier. He reccomended the steak as a main course as he put it 'you wont get a better or larger steak in the area'. Well he was right it was beautifully cooked and large( I guess at 16-18 ozs). In fact the chef should be congratulated on the food everything was hot and they pride themselves on cooking the items from fresh. Breakfast was sumptious. Back to the steak, we couldnt finish it!!
Although a tad expensive well worth it. My wife liked it even more when she saw and talked to Martin (off the tele from homes under the hammer)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandyboyTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 235 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed in many places around the world that started off as castles, manors or minor palaces and have since been converted into sumptuous B&Bs. Not all of them successfully translated romantic nostalgia into a modern comfortable place of rest and relaxation.

Dalston Hall manages to avoid these pitfalls. It's large well-appointed rooms retain the old-world charm while managing to infuse enough modern elements to make a comfortable stay. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was clean and well stocked.

The staff and the owner were very friendly and the breakfast was simply outstanding. It alone was worth the stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcvadhool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Dalston Hall... First impressions of the exterior made us feel privillaged. We were not dissapointed once we got inside. Our room was stunning with an amazing bathroom (no bath) but very modern and piping hot shower. The property interior will not dissapoint either with it's classic style and imposing charm.

The owner was most helpful, allowing us to check in well ahead of published times. He also assisted us in directions for sightseeing and shopping in very nearby Carlisle city centre.

Breakfast was a pleasure with obviously freshly cooked fare... In fact the best scrambbled eggs enjoyed over our 8 day trip of Scotland.

The grounds are beautiful and lend themsleves to be the perfect location for private functions and weddings.

We wish the proprietors every success with their business as every attention to detail has been addresed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonsReviews1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed at the Dalston hall 3 times in the last 6 months,
Interesting old manor house, very large luxurious rooms, enormous beds and bathrooms, great breakfast and friendly staff,
couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013. It was quite late in the evening until we arrived.
We were checked in by the owner, who didn't give us the most friendly welcome but was very efficient. When he served us drinks in the bar later he had lightened up a bit and was quite cordial.

Our room (7, I think) was lovely. It had a four-poster bed with a comfortable mattress. The building itself is very interesting and it has been sympathetically converted into a hotel - you certainly feel like you are in a very old building and not a modern hotel room. The room had a nice layout with the room sort of divided into two areas - one with the bed and one with a small sofa, dressing table, TV, etc. The windows are beautiful - no modern double glazing in sight. Very heavy curtains would keep out any draft. My only complaint about the room was that the bathroom was a little dated and not very well laid out - there was a shelf right above the sink which got in the way when trying to wash my face. Everything was very clean, however.

Our meal in the restaurant was very good. I had scallops (ever so slightly over-done) with black pudding and cauliflower puree and my husband had pate. The fillet steaks were excellent. Perfectly cooked and there was a good selection of sauces and side orders. The two members of staff who served our food and drinks were excellent. Very attentive and friendly. I overheard them giving plenty of advice to foreign guests who were looking for tips on the area. The staff could not be faulted.

Breakfast was also excellent.

I would recommend Dalston Hall, and would certainly stay here again if I were in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TownheadHaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

stayed here for one night on a saturday and first impressions are good when you approach you see and old building with a tower and stone mullion windows - the entrance door is big and old then inside there is an iron yett (metal gate) as part of the original old tower.

the main hall is lovely with wood paneling and a balcony and was set out for a wedding

reception was quick and efficient and we were given our key to room 13

the room is not what you expect - sort of modern with some eclectic pieces of furniture - all good quality but not what we wanted or expected

we changed to room 11 which was more in keeping with a historic building with a 4 poster bed and dark furniture (except for the unusual leather chair)

everything was very clean and mostly in good condition but there are no curtains - just blinds
the view looks out onto the roof and if anyone is working on the roof outside they can see in - even the bathroom!

the staff are all pleasant and polite

the restaurant looks nice apart from an unusual large chair at the side - seemed completely out of place

lots of black - tablecloths , napkins and staff attire

the food was very nice - tasty , cooked well and presented well

one problem - we ordered the house champagne as it was my birthday and we were served sparkling wine ???

we only realised this after it had been opened and we tasted it

when we ordered the champagne the staff member said the name of drink which we assumed was the name of the champagne as there are so many and when we asked about it afterwards we were told that we were offered this drink and we said yes - yes we did we thought it was the name of a champagne as that is what we asked for - NOT sparkiling wine (i know it is made in the same way but it is not the same drink)

the grounds outside are nice to walk around but it would be nicer if they were maintained better as this is classed as a 4 star hotel

overall we mostly enjoyed our stay but at £135 per room for one night there are better hotels and cheaper even old hotels with character

Room Tip: room 13 is more modern and contempary in design so if you like "ode worlde" appeal chose a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmcquade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel/castle during April for 1 night and was treated like a King. Fantastic service by all concerned and the owner himself was there to assist with any issues. The room was huge and furnished to a very high standard. Although I did not eat the evening meal at the hotel I did take breakfast and it was one of the best I've had in any hotel in the UK.

This is certainily a hotel that I will be using again in my trips to the Carlisle area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iron0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
3.1 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
5.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,079 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#2 of 20 in Carlisle
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,187 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
684 reviews
3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalston Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalston Hall Hotel

Address: Dalston Road (B5299), Carlisle CA5 7JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlisle
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: $168 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dalston Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 Star hotel nestling in the heart of the beautiful Cumbria, just 10 minutes yet a million miles away from the vibrant City of Carlisle, this magnificent Grade II listed Hotel provides the finest luxury coupled with discreet yet friendly service from the resident owners and their team. The perfect place to stay. Thirteen individually designed, lavishly furnished suites and bedrooms. The perfect choice for fine dining. Exquisite cuisine complemented by a splendid cellar. The perfect choice for weddings and celebrations of all kinds, be they on a grand scale or rather more intimate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dalston Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalston Hall Carlisle
Dalston Hall Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing