We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
String of Horses Inn
Ranked #2 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Neston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Weekend Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Have just spent an excellent weekend at the Inn. The welcome from Colin was first class as was the service of all his staff during our stay. This is an Inn which caters for both the local community (a good indication of quality} and the guests staying at the Inn. The bar/restaurant has a good atmosphere and the menu is quite comprehensive, offering a good choice of excellent meals at reasonable prices. The accommodation was clean and well serviced, our room had recently been refurbished. D

Room Tip: The rooms seem very similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lion98man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    146
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
301
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We got this little gem on a Groupon, 2 nights for £70 with bed and breakfast. It was brilliant. The place itself is a little far out but it was exactly what we wanted. The room was clean and the staff were so friendly and would do anything to make your stay more comfortable. The food was amazing and we recommend the half shoulder of lamb. We would definitely recommend this place if you are after somewhere quiet with good food just to relax. The locals are very friendly as well :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clare2277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a lovely welcoming Inn. Friendly accommodating staff and comfortable room. The bed was too firm for us, but that's my only complaint. I would recommend this Inn to families with small children.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anitra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and 7 year old son have just returned from a 4 day stay at this very lovely inn. We stayed in the superior room with Jacuzzi bath and enjoyed the peace and quiet this provided. Only heard the odd door shutting. No other noise whatsoever. Colin and his wife and all staff are very friendly and accommodating. Our television remote did not work correctly and after mentioning this was very surprised to get back to our room and find a much bigger television had arrived. All in all a super place, lovely and clean and comfortable. Food delicious. Can't wait to visit again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you're looking for a rest including a warm welcome, friendly atmosphere, superb food. Then this is a great choice. Excellent value for money and our room was warm spacious with comfortable four poster. A short break in Feb offered all we could wish for as a relaxing break. Weather poor so returning mid afternoon to relax and luxuriant in the bath before a scrumptious meal each evening. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Only saw ours. Asked for a quiet room. We were at the back of the house and it was silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I am writing this review on our last night of a 3 night stay here. It has been absolutely wonderful, the food here is of a very high standard and we eat out at very good restaurants at home regularly so we like our food. Our room was lovely decorated, well heated with a lovely hot shower with clean soft towels provided. The staff here are very friendly, the younger staff team are also a credit to the hotel always polite and professional. Colin and his wife (owners) are also very lovely people. Only a 7 mile trip in the car to Carlisle which is a really nice town centre with plenty shops, cinema, restaurants etc. Hadrian's Wall site also a short drive away, if the weather was nicer we would of gone on a lot more walks. All in all very happy with our Groupon break away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Retro-Rach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We're just back from the inn .. How would I describe it .. It's very cosy at night with all the candles on and the food was really lovely we had fillet steak and and the Brie for starters and I have to say it was delicious .. Colin was very nice and I have to say the staff were lovely too .. I didn't like the first room we we're put into but as soon as I mentioned it we were upgraded for no extra charge ..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank June37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heads Nook Hall
Heads Nook Hall
#1 of 65 in Carlisle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to String of Horses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about String of Horses Inn

Property: String of Horses Inn
Address: Faugh | Heads Nook, Carlisle CA8 9EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — String of Horses Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your String of Horses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
String Of Horses Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing