We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate and di the job fine.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Adequate and di the job fine.”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here to break our trip from the Midlands to the Highlands. We had pre-booked and arrived just approaching 8pm. we were checked in by Laura who was very pleasant and very efficient. Whilst the Hotel did not have it's own restaurant there is an adjoining pub called the Gosling Bridge which was a 'Flaming Grill' Pub which does cater the breakfasts for the Premier Inn and whilst we couldn't book dinner we could have done so for breakfast which we left as it was our intention to get away again quite early. (We did have dinner at the adjoining pub which I will review separately).

We went to our room which was the first room from the stairwell on the first floor, a good sized clean and comfortable room with a large double bed. As it turned out the bed was comfortable but had a hump in the middle as though it was two smalled beds joined together, luckily it was large and we were able to lie either side of the hump and it didn't bother us too much.

We were up and away next morning and the were checked out by Laura after a decent nights stay. Anj ideal place to stop over on the long journey north...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for you review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear Laura looked after you well both when you arrived and on check out and that you found your room to be comfortable. I will certainly look into the issue you found with your bed. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and that we are able to welcome you back again when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    124
    76
    30
    16
See reviews for
132
178
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Just stayed here for the one night,saturday. The hotel was busy but we had no problems with any noise or having to wait for anything. Check in was simple, rooms were quite spacious for a budget hotel and were very clean, decent bedding and pillows We had breakfast which had a good selection to choose from.
Overall a good, pleasant stay, and we would stay there again quite happily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxigirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear you found your room to be of a high standard and that you also got to take advantage of our great value Premier Breakfast.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Burstead
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We broke our journey from Essex to Scotland by staying in this hotel. The dinner was a disaster, wrong food etc but breakfast was a pleasure

I find is incredulous that only one room in the entire hotel is suitable for someone with a wheelchair or severe walking difficulties and as someone else was in that room both myself and my friend had to make do with bathrooms that were not fit for purpose so to speak.

If this issue could be sorted and the staff trained better at dealing with a busy restaurant things would have headed towards perfect

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank lak125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay. We do have accessible rooms available and I am sorry that on the evening of your stay, we were not able to offer you one of these. I will certainly pass on your comments regarding your room and also ensure your comments regarding your eveing meal are brought to the attention of the restaurant manager.

I do hope this experience will not deter you from using Premier Inn in the future. If you would like to discuss this further with me please do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

As with all Premier Inns we've stayed at the room was comfortable and clean, good facilities and helpful staff. The decor maybe looked a little dated, but the beds were comfortable and we all slept well. Because we booked well in advance we also got the saver rate which made the stay overall great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. I am pleased that you found your stay to be of the same high standard you expect from Premier Inn and that you were able to take advantage of our great value Saver Rates.

I hope we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Easy to find off the M6 and a good location to do our family hospital visits. NIce sized car park to allow easy access to the hotel.Rooms large with a king sized bed- bathrooms acceptable. Gosling restaurant supplies the breakfast and on your return you can enjoy your dinner there.Not a bad selection and well priced-including the wine. The staff are helpful and pleasant - a good training program by Premier Inn paying dividends. You know what you get with Premier and this hotel is in a good location and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrzej116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We have received your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and I just wanted to take the opportunity to thank you for your kind review. At Premier Inn we promise our guests a great stay and it's great to hear that we are keeping that promise.

I hope we are able to welcome you back on your next visit to Carlisle.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whenever we come to the Lake District, we stay here or Premier Inn in Whitehaven. Both are very good, staff always helpful, and the food is great. Book up well in advance and you can get a really cheap deal.Rooms are good and the beds in this hotel are king-size. Breakfasts are good. I always have a cooked one. Lovely grub. Never had any problems Stayed here lots of times

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave42_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear you choose to stay with Premier Inn whenever you travel to the area and that you also enjoy the food and service in our adjoining restaurant. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto the team.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff are really friendly and cant do enough to help you. They swapped our rooms to accomodate my disabled nan. Restaurant next is just as good. Again the staff were really great for our family of nine on good friday. Cant recommend eniygh.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-3210, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us here at Carlisle Central North Premier Inn. It's always great to receive such positive feedback and to hear that our team went out of the way to ensure you enjoyed your stay.

I hope we are able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
1.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel
Address: Kingstown Road, Carlisle CA3 0AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlisle is the ideal base to explore the grandeur of the Lake District. And Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle Central North is a grand place to stay, putting you within easy reach of the national park as well as the business and leisure facilities of the historic city centre. Whether you're strolling along Carlisle high street, or stomping along High Street Fell, there's plenty to distract you here. Some visitors come to buy livestock at the Harrison & Hetherington auction market, others to spend time on Hadrian's Wall. Every September there's the Tour of Britain cycle race too. Then it's time to unclip from the pedals and unwind back at the hotel, with our tasty restaurant and extra-comfy beds. Directions: Exit M6 (J44) onto the A7. There is a Premier Inn hotel located on this junction but Carlisle North is located 1 mile away on the A7 towards Carlisle.On the left, next to The Gosling Bridge Transport and local information: Carlisle Castle Historic Site Hadrian's Wall Historic Site Carlisle Golf Course Carlisle Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle Central North Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing