We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cornerways Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cornerways Guest House
Ranked #3 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cornerways Guest House”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

10 of my family stayed at the Cornerways Guest House for 4 nights. We had three family rooms: two ensuite and 1 sharing. Our group consisted of 8 adults and 2 children (2yrs the youngest). The travel cot was forgotton when packing, but Steve was very accommodating when arranging bedding for the little one. Every room was immaculate, decor and cleaning maintenance kept up to date. The breakfasts were very tasty and many choices. Easy parking on street (parking permit given) or on ramp outside building. Easy access to town centre. Would definately stay there again. Thank you Steve and Be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    28
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
17
57
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was my second stay at this B and B. My friend and I dropped our rucksacs off there, got the bus to the start and walked back to Cornerways. Nothing too much trouble for Steve, a warm welcome,
comfortable rooms and a good breakfast.
It's only5/10 mins walk from train station and town centre so it's well situated, for an evening meal and a pint in Carlisle centre.
I would certainly recommend this B and B.
Cornerways is situated on a main road into Carlisle, but there is very little late night traffic, to spoil a nights sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was recently stranded in Carlisle overnight because of flooding and had to find a place to stay. The big hotels had already filled up and so I knocked on the door of Cornerways and they had a single room. When I'm planning ahead I'd normally book a double room with an ensuite, but as the alternative was sleeping in the station I was quite happy to take a single room with a single bed.

The room was great, the TV had all the freeview channels and the bed was really comfortable and didn't feel small. The shared toilet and bathroom were cleaned to a high bathroom, and were far nicer than some ensuites I've had in the past. I was very impressed.

It's close to the centre of Carlisle too, so once I'd checked in it was easy to find a shop and pick up the bits I needed, then find somewhere to eat. The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and delicious. It kept me going until I finally made it back to Newcastle.

If I ever need a place to stay in Carlisle I'll happily go back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE UK
Level 6 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I had only one night at Cornerways but very much enjoyed my stay. I had a single room which was not en-suite, but the bathroom was very close by. The room was small, but good use had been made of the space available, and there was a huge window so it felt very airy. The room was spotless with a comfy bed. Breakfast was fine. The house itself is lovely with many original features retained. It was good that I could leave my bag with the owners until my train time. It was about 10 minutes walk from the rail station and closer still to the shopping areas. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrewsisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My friends and I stayed at this B&B for three nights at the end of our Hadrian's Wall Path hike (days 7 and 8 of our hike plus an extra day touring Carlisle). This was a very well situated B&B for hiking Hadrian's Wall Path and touring Carlisle. It has a very large number of rooms that are very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good and the owner very nice and hospitable. (He drove us to pick up our rental car as a favor!)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I stayed at Cornerways for a week in May and found it to be a great B&B. Clean, tidy, good food, excellent hospitality, comfortable bed reasonably priced and in easy distance of all things you may need, IE rail station, M6 motorway shops, pubs and places to eat. Highly recommended. This is the second time I have stayed there, the first way back in 2005 and the same high standards maintained.

Room Tip: I had room 9, single en suite with the most comfortable bed you could wish for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in February 2012. Steve and Be were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was very good. Everything was within walking distance of the station with plenty of bars and restaurants to suit everybody. We highly recommend this B&B for the breakfast, cleanliness and joviality of the hosts. We stayed for 3 nights and it was well worth the visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
612 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
1,013 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerways Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerways Guest House

Property: Cornerways Guest House
Address: 107 Warwick Road, Carlisle CA1 1EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerways Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A popular Grade II listed Victorian property, some 160 years old, situated in a quiet conservation area within the historic city of Carlisle. A 4 Star rated establishment by Visit Britain. Just a 5 minute walk from the train / bus stations and from many restaurants, bars and shops, close to many local attractions including Hadrian's Wall Trail, The Castle, Tullie House Museum, The Cathedral, River Eden. A short drive to the Scottish Borders and the Lake District National Park. Cornerways offers a choice of standard or en-suite rooms including singles, twins, doubles, triple & family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cornerways Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing