We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”

Anazao Tearoom and Gallery
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Anazao specialists in Afternoon Teas with choices of sandwiches, cakes and tray bakes. We have a choice of fifteen different artisan teas straight from the importers/blenders and delicious coffees. Our morning coffee and lunch menu with a selection of quiches, salads, soup of the day and baked potatoes. The atmosphere is warm friendly with an old fashion quaintness in the cellar of a Victorian town house close to rail and bus links with a car park near and on street limited parking. Booking is helpful but not essential.
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited with two friends chose afternoon tea which came on cake stand. Sandwiches and cakes all home made and delicious. Staff attentive and friendly. Booked in for Mother's Day can't wait to visit again! Must try!

Helpful?
2 Thank Carlisle111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    10
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous afternoon tea”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited Anazao tearoom last weekend to celebrate my 40th sister's birthday. This was a family gathering with all enjoying a lovely afternoon tea. I can't fault the standard of the food or the service, both were fantastic, many thanks

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjacks0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic find”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Came with my twin for our birthday and had a lovely time. We are beggie so the shared food was altered to our needs. We anjoyed lashings of tea, dainty sandwiches and beautiful cakes. (Think it was the big breakfast blow out?)
The tea room is quiet and beautifully decorated, a vintage/tea lover's dream.

Will definitely be going again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eden G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cousland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Coffee 'n Cake”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here for coffee and cake whilst on a shopping trip to Carlisle
Recommended by Trip Advisor we were not disappointed. Very good coffee and homemade mince pie. Friendly staff and a lovely young man served us.

Helpful?
Thank lesmike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Daughter's Graduation Tea - WOW!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My daughter graduated from Carlisle University last week and we wanted to do something different to celebrate the occasion. Not knowing the area well, I was slightly worried with the streets that we were heading through trying to find Anazao. But WOW what a find when we got there. The owner had decorated the table in sprinkles and had even put a helium balloon on the table. The food was amazing - even my mother was impressed and that really does take something to impress her these days!!!! The youngesters in the party only went for the tray bakes, which were all homemade, but the adults all went for the Yummy afternoon tea. We had to take half of it home in containers as we could not manage it all. The sandwiches were all made to order, followed by various flavoured scones with jam and cream, followed by homemade cake, followed by homemade traybake. On top of that there was homemade fudge on the table too!!! So you can see why we had to take some home!! The tea was all loose leaf and the pots were refilled frequenty. It truly was a wonderful way to celebrate our daughter's success - so thank you for making it a memorable day for us all. Good luck.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anazao Tearoom and Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Anazao Tearoom and Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing