We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Robin Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Robin

Robin our cottage with..
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robin our cottage with..
..open plan living space, double bed room,
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Robin our cottage with..
..open plan living space,
double bed room,
and walk in shower.
The entrance to the garden with..
fish pond
and
the picnic area.
Through to the lower garden with..
view over the fells.
Some wild life:
our hens and
flowers.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carlisle, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rob L
1 review
“Robin Cottage”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

An excellent little property for two. Owners could not do enough to make a pleasant stay. Would return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia L
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We came here for a weekend away for my partner's birthday at the end of February. The cottage was beautifully converted with modern interior yet had a rustic feel and original features still exposed which we loved. It was well equipped and clean. The bed was so comfy with a memory foam mattress.
Unfortunately we didn't use the garden due to the weather but can imagine it would be lovely in the Summer and they are currently renovating their outdoor private swimming pool so that would be fantastic when it's up an running!
The owners very kindly left my partner a card and a bottle for his birthday which was very thoughtful.
Would definitely return and highly recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony M
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage - great location”
Reviewed September 16, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This was our first visit to the Solway Firth and we really enjoyed it. The cottage was a great base for walks along the marshes, the Eden Estuary, Hadrians Wall and nearby Carlisle. The cottage was set in a courtyard with access to an attractive garden.

It was formally a dairy which has been tastefully converted. It is comfortable, well-designed and well-equipped. The owners were very friendly and approachable and kept the accommodation scrupulously clean. We would definitely recommend Robin as an ideal base for a short break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idyjones
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Quiet, Relaxing and Comfortable”
Reviewed September 15, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This cottage is well appointed and everything is quite new. Lovely comfortable bed and the home had everything we needed. Loved the heated floors! Nice table on the patio where we had lunch on a warm sunny day in September! Lovely gardens with a picnic table and a pond. Close to downtown Carlisle and on the path everyone walks for Hadrian's Wall where you can walk if you want. Our hosts met us and we're very friendly and helpful. Would recommend and certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed!
Liked least: Wifi kept dropping off and was very slow, could use a booster perhaps.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johan M
Tilburg, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Characteristic, peaceful cottage on a quiet but central location”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Robin Cottage is a characteristic yet modern cottage located 15 minutes from a massive ASDA supermarket and 30 minutes from Carlisle which is a lovely city offering cosy shops and lunchrooms. The cottage offers everything you need and is really clean and up-to-date. Thank you for a wonderful stay Raphaela and Steve, we enjoyed our evening tea with you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quashqai2...
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful accommodation in a most beautiful part of England”
Reviewed April 24, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This is a superbly modernised and charming place. Our hostess could not have been more helpful and accommodating, Boustead Hill is a small hamlet with commanding views over the Solway marshes, within easy reach of Carlisle and Dumfrieshire and half an hour from the Lake Disrict. 'Robin' provides an ideal centre from which to explore the fascinating history of this area. It is equipped with all that you need for a holiday, including warmth if it turns cold. Wi-fi is weak, but our hostess was able to help us with it, and it is easily accessed in pubs in the neighbourhood. A stay here is highly recommended!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieuAle...
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“Nice cottage in a picturesque hamlet”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is located in the small hamlet of Bousted Hill, which is only a 15-minute drive from Carlisle. It is very small, so be prepared that there are no amenities in walking distance. But that was no problem for us. We loved the idyllic atmosphere in the sweet cottage which is newly renovated and very well equipped. The bathroom is very spacious, there is a big walk-in shower. The living-room has two big entrace doors, so there is a lot of light coming in during the day. There is a new open kitchen in the living room. We also loved the underfloor heating ;-) Raphaela and Steve were the most friendly hosts. They welcomed us with tea and whisky and we appreciated to have several chats with them. There is a huge, beautiful garden with curious and nice hens who are willing to join you if you leave the door open... If you love a natural setting and hide from the city life, it's a perfect place to stay. We loved it and will definetely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing