We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Expensive

Visited for lunch which we have been many times before although this time they have changed the... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
skinnyzebra
,
United Kingdom
via mobile
Always something to buy and now it’s Christmas!

We stopped off at Houghton Hall because there is always something for me to buy! This visit was no... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
holland21
,
Stirling, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 269 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Carlisle
from $32.90
More Info
from $32.90
More Info
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveler rating
68
98
46
28
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
98
46
28
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews craft shop food hall garden furniture excellent garden coach tour miniature world motorway services omelette excellent range brought to the table water features for sale model railway lots of choice on display play area car park
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited for lunch and mostly enjoyed what we'd ordered; less so my sister whose meal had gone a bit cold after she'd spent an extra ten minutes queueing for drinks that had already been ordered and paid for, since house policy is not to bring beverages to your table with your meal order. Instead you are expected to re-join the back of the queue, behind customers who have just arrived and are ordering their meals. A silly and annoying practice, especially with the inflated prices charged here. Buck up your ideas Houghton Hall!

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

plenty of parking, good shopping area extensive garden centre, good food and friendly staff, lot of variety to choose from

Thank BazNorthyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for lunch which we have been many times before although this time they have changed the menu and ‘how you order’ now you need to reserve a table and remember your table number before you order your food (they will not accept food orders without a table number) a little of a pain as you have to walk through the restaurant to do this awkward if you have children with you!!
Food was expensive for what you get £6.95 for soup and half baguette very small portion sizes!! Soup was tasty if not a little watery and lacking in seasoning, baguette was warm and filled well but was a half a very small baguette.
Can’t say to be perfectly honest I will rush back as I don’t like the way the restaurant has changed and the menu is a little pretentious for a garden centre.

Thank skinnyzebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped off at Houghton Hall because there is always something for me to buy! This visit was no different and their Christmas displays were all out and of course I just had to buy more lights for outside and a scent diffuser and then of course the obligatory latte which was perfect! The fruit and veg market was outside and seems to have grown with an amazing array of fabulous fresh food including fresh turmeric which I’ve never seen before !!
If you get an opportunity you just have to visit and allow a lot of time to view everything on offer !

Thank holland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2018

This is an excellent garden centre with good transport links near the M6 and Carlisle. There is a separate cafe for a cuppa and restaurant, and clean loos also on the ground floor where the toy/craft section is. There is a Miniature World attraction for which you have to pay 2.50 but sadly no more model railway like there was last time. But on the whole a good place to get stuff for the garden or items from the Farm Shop - including the Cumberland Sausage which is pricey but delicious!

Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

This has to be the best garden centre we've ever visited. There's absolutely everything for the garden here and more. Great way to spend a rainy afternoon.
Plants on sale have s guarantee. There's hot tubs , water features, huge stock of all types of fish, outdoor buildings , fantastic food hall and butchers, great restaurant and a really good greengrocer which you can get just about anything.
Just off the M6. Well worth s visit

Thank stephenwM5183DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2018 via mobile

We had a very nice day, lunch afternoon tea and lots to look at. And it was great because it was raining and we didn’t have to worry about the rain because there where so many covered areas.

Thank SweetPfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

First visit for a few years. Plenty of parking spaces. Most impressed at how the centre has extended & improved. Restaurant was lovely. Although we came early for lunch and there are plenty of tables, it was already filling up quickly. They have good system for you to put a ‘reserved’ sign on your numbered table before you join the queue to order food which is great for the solo customer. Other places should emulate.
We both chose the Brunch Omelette from the extensive Breakfast menu. It was excellent. What a brilliant idea for an omelette. Filled with sausage,bacon, mushrooms & tomatoes and topped with slice of black pudding & a hash brown. Well-cooked and decent size. Good value too especially for a big garden centre.
The gift department is full of gorgeous,tempting presents. Downstairs there’s now an extensive crafting section where there was a class in action and we were also happy to pay £2.50 entry to the Miniature World display which was a fascinating bonus. You could spend ages going round everything including plants, gardening equipment and outdoor furniture. Didn’t get a chance to investigate the Butchers Shop or Fruit & Veg Shop. Will definitely have to return.

Thank Margaret G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018 via mobile

Started by eating in the restaurant, vegetarian options excellent and highly recommended, very clean but a shame it's not dog friendly around the garden centre

Thank richardeK6128HX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

We buy all our fruit and veg from Julian’s Veg and meat from the butcher counter (great customer service & friendly staff) who make an effort to get to know their customers.

The butcher counter is always stuffed with delicious looking meats and a staff who are able to advise on best ways to cook the produce.

Well worth the trip!

Thank OlavDacre2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews