We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic coffee and amazing food”
Review of Whytes Cafe Bar

Whytes Cafe Bar
Ranked #9 of 343 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a local family run city centre cafe who pride ourselves on serving delicious homemade and where possible locally produced food. We are known for our delicious cakes and scones.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic coffee and amazing food”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Me and my sister came for lunch during her lunch hour we didn't have long to sit and eat but as soon as we were seated we were served swiftly by friendly staff!! Food came in excellent time all presented wonderfully on the plate and tasted amazing!! Choice of home made cakes is endless only to sad that we didn't have enough time to get a slice of that peanut butter cake!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    42
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Fabulous service fantastic coffee and lovely food .A great place to meet with friends for a catch up.I met my friends and stayed for over 2 hours having a second cup of coffee and gorgeous coffee and walnut cake. Excellent service definately be going again.Good luck to this new cafe

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank N0rmskiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Don't go anywhere else for lunch!”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We visited on 3 April and were given a warm welcome on a cold windy day. The place was spotless and the staff were really friendly. My husband and I both had the soup and toastie which was really tasty and excellent value. The downside was I was too full for a cake! They also do an excellent Americano. If you are visiting Carlisle, don't go to a chain, support your local independent cafe owners their food and coffee takes some beating especially at Whytes..

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FionaT938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Whyter than Whyte!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

A new discovery in Carlisle and a great alternative to the usual chain shop coffee places... So smooth lattes, fresh soft scones and a very clean gleaming interior... Looks a great menu choice too for food on the go, breakfast to grab or a long lazy lunch. Topped off with great service too. Well worth a visit... You'll be back, just like we will too.

Helpful?
1 Thank 2UKGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We visited Whytes on a cold Sunday afternoon in search of hot beverages to warm up! Being lactose intolerant I was pleased that soya milk is on the menu and ordered a soya latte which was delicious, husband had a flat whyte which was also lovely. As we had dinner reservations we didn't have a slice of the homemade chocolate cake but I wish I had as it looked fantastic.
The decor is fresh and igniting and we will definitely be back! The menu looked very tempting so am keen to try it out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamarco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whytes Cafe Bar also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Whytes Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing