We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth stopping for”

The Sycamore Tree Cafe
Ranked #37 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth stopping for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I have been travelling through Longtown on a regular basis for the last 10 years or so and have often noticed this cafe` on the corner of the main A7 trunk road and a side street towards the northern end of the town. The town is very typical in this area for being what I would describe as, 'linear' in its layout, that is a wide and long main street with side streets running off at right angles to it. It isn't what I would describe as an attractive or picturesque town and seems to have many empty and partially derelict properties like former public houses or inns, bank buildings etc. It is a great shame that urban decline in these towns cannot result in the redevelopment of these lovely old buildings into either much needed housing or alternative commercial use to regenerate and improve the overall appearance which would benefit all who either live there or just past through. The Sycamore Tree cafe' is a gem though and having discovered it and sampled the food and hospitallity they offer it is now on my regular stop list. Nothing is too much bother and the quality and variety of their menu for the size of the establishment is amazing, catering for all types of diatry requirements and needs. The service is very efficent, whilst maintaining a warm and freindly atmospher which many larger restaurants could learn from, you are made to feel welcome as soon as you step through the door until you are ready to leave. There is plenty of parking either on the main street or in the adjacent side street. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    32
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ceoliac perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Called here over Xmas time. A lovely greeting we n we entered. And an amazing menu. For celiac. And vegetarians. As well as food for everyone. Great selection for everyone. Sunday dinners. If u book they will arrange for gluten free gravy and yorkies.. they do b&b. Cafe.. bistro.. steak nights. An amazing place wif excellence thro out. You won't be disappointed licensed also. We will b back. For a Sunday dinner booked of course. My wife's celiac.

Helpful?
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“We love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled across this little treasure on our way back from Scotland. The food is tasty & plentiful and for the owners & staff nothing is too much trouble.
They also have 2 fabulous B&B rooms that we have now stayed in on 3/4 occasions. The rooms are spotlessly clean as is the linen & towels.... The shower is brilliant lots of pressure, there is everything you need for a great stay in a fantastic location for visiting either side of the English/Scottish border. We will continue to stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for huge quality breakfasts & a relaxing friendly atmosphere.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Value On Steak Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Following on from a recommendation we went to the Sycamore. Tuesday night offers a great value for money steak night. We ordered 1 sirloin & 1 rump steak. With them came chips, gorgeous potatoes, crunchy array of vegetables, mushrooms, tomatoes, onion rings, and a side salad. It was all excellent and one of the largest portions you are likely to have delivered to your table. Included in the price is a glass of wine or soft drink, starter if required and a great tasting choice of deserts. This truly was fantastic value for money. The steak was cooked to order and tasted perfect. Summary - Great food, great service and great value. Highly recommend.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewcastle
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Full English Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We had stood at Gretna Green from 8 till 10 am as marshalls for a Penzance to John o' Groats classic car rally and were cold, so dropped into The Sycamore Tree for a full English. Superbly prepared and graciously served with a big mug of tea. What's not to like? This little gem has long been a popular meeting place for the locals, and they know best.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cocidii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sycamore Tree Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Sycamore Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing