We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lane Bar

The Lane Bar
Ranked #49 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: We no longer serve food. I hope you will join us for drinks soon, We look forward to hosting you.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A True Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

I love this place, Cam and Gill are such great hosts very friendly and laid back and nothing is too much bother for them. We sat outside in the beautiful garden and chilled in the sunshine for a few hours with Monty at our feet (he's the real star) We decided to eat here today, I had the grilled salmon tortilla and hubby had the Mexican meatballs, both were delicious and tasted so fresh. A real treat, but don't tell any one...

Helpful?
2 Thank Gillybt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    9
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, stylish place...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I found The Lane Bar yesterday. We sat in the stunning beer garden and enjoyed the sun. The design of this place is first class. Can't wait to go back on a Saturday and enjoy their food. Great find. Top tunes!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Linzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“trendy bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

went to lane bar last weekend and had a shisha, chilled in beautiful decor and had a beer with friends and family.

only problem was that you felt as if you were intruding in someones house, the female owner seemed quite rude asking us to move seats in case other people attended the bar and wanted to sit where we were sitting.
It seemed as if the bar was run as a home rather than a business, shame as would have returned again and again but instead would rather go to a chain bar and have better service and feel a valued customer

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneBar, Manager at The Lane Bar, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Firstly thank you for complimenting the bars decor, we are glad it was to your taste. Regarding the bar feeling like a 'home' you were politely asked to remove the large holdall from the seating as it does seat 10 people in that area and we like to feel as if customers can choose to sit in any area of the bar. I wish that you had brought this up whilst in the bar so we could of explained our reasoning for asking you to remove the bag. As attested by many of our reviewers we pride ourselves on impeccable service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best place to go carlisle bar none”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I have visited the lane bar a few times now and although I usually use trip advisor to leave bad feedback I really must pay tribute on a positive note.

Ask yourself what it is you want when engaging in afternoon/evening drinks or some lunch. I guarantee that all you are looking for you will find here and more. Friendly staff,check, warm welcoming environment, check, competitively priced alcohol, check, very very good food, check. I would go as far as saying the lane bar is the closest thing to being at home whilst in the town. I would find it almost impossible to find a negative, and would be unable to give you a better example of being in carlisle so if you are looking for anywhere to spend your time this is where it should be. I must congratulate cam and gill on what is an excellent bar and please keep up the good work x

Helpful?
Thank Benjimillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic vip service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Hired the vip area in october 2013 for a head wetting and 30th and was very impressed. Had a beautiful buffet and lovely drinks. Great service and helpful staff leading up to the event and on the night. Highly recommend

Helpful?
Thank agoldie_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lane Bar also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Lane Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing