We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky little place”
Review of The Lane Bar

The Lane Bar
Ranked #52 of 341 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer
Description: We no longer serve food. I hope you will join us for drinks soon, We look forward to hosting you.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quirky little place”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We came to Carlisle from Newcastle for a day and we can say this is the best place we found. Its a very quirky little bar down a little lane in Carlisle. The owners seem to have put alot of effort into the look of this place and seem very enthusiastic about the bar and its products. We had the Mezze plate which we were very impressed with and the selection of foreign beers is great, we tried an Estonian larger which was very nice.

On our next trip to Carlisle we will visit again

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NicciYouden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    9
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Workington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best night in all of Carlisle”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I've been to the Lane Bar a few times now by recommendation of the locals and I absolutely adore this gem of a bar. I find myself visiting the city of Carlisle a lot more now than I used to, because there really is no better night out to be had than one at the Lane. The staff and owners and very friendly and accommodating, you can't help but feel like you've been friends with them for years. The cocktails are superb and the menu is being constantly updated to keep it fresh, and the decor and ambience is just stunning. My favourite area so far is the VIP lounge, you can't help but feel
Iike you're being transported elsewhere. I can't wait to stay at the new townhouse either as the boutique accommodation cannot fail to impress. First class.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something a bit different.”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I visited The Lane Bar & Kitchen on my trip to the UK in August this year with my brother and sister-in-law. The whole place as an eccentric feel, with it’s quirky décor and select but amazing cocktail menu. The outdoor area is stunning, and the owners and staff were friendly and relaxed. As others have said, a proper hidden gem for a different night out in Carlisle.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dipster1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic night had by all”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Had a fab night out with girls all made to feel very welcome , fantastic cocktails with great service and atmosphere.The staff could not do enough to make us feel welcome ,cant wait to return hopefully soon .
Maria Carlisle

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinegirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Snobby and over priced”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

That is all.

oh and clique.

Really need to get a grip that they are a small time bar at the wrong on of a not very busy Carlisle. Should be encouraging customers to come and not messing them about, lieing an being rude to them before they even arrive. Many many better and more friendly palces to eat and drink in the town.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaneBar, Manager at The Lane Bar, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We are sorry you did not have a good experience?

We pride ourselves on being friendly, attentive and welcoming; and being somewhere different, as is attested by other reviewers and our many regulars.

We do however expect our valued customers to act and dress in an appropriate manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lane Bar also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to The Lane Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing