We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas Break in Ibis Carlisle” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Break in Ibis Carlisle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very friendly staff. We took our seven month old Lab with us and he was also welcomed by the staff. His cage fitted under the worktop which was ggod. We asked for a room at the rear as these are away from the busy street and this was provided. Very comfortable and excellent value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Happy to hear that you and your lab enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    405
    579
    202
    68
    56
See reviews for
188
560
124
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've stayed at the Ibis Carlise on business on two occasions now, both proving to be very good stays.

The staff are reasonably friendly, the rooms spotless and a very quiet night sleep. I booked 10+ other guests into the same hotel and nobody could say a bad word.

Will stay again. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Don't take too long to display your parking permit. If you can't leave someone in your car w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
workington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Its one of them hotels u know is right in the thick of the clubs n pubs and is only good for one thing. Thats finnishing the night off after partying/shopping/sandscenter. You know your gonna get rowdy people during the weekends. its perfect location, parking was spot on, room was good, however they did mess up on the beds front but the desk sorted that out straight away. all in all it was perfect for us

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorkingtonWkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

In the 5 minutes it took me to check in and walk out with the complimentary car park pass, a parking fine had been slapped on my windscreen. When I spoke to hotel reception staff about this, they were totally unhelpful and that there was nothing they could do about it. The hotel is in a very noisy location near several bars so don't expect to get a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: My tip for chosing a good room: - chose another hotel instead!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I can assure you the matter is being looked into. Feel free to email me on h3443-gm@accor.com to discuss this further.

Kind regards,
Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stayed once again to incorporate a shopping trip. The rooms have been improved with new carpets curtains bed and it was really comfortable, so much so we were reluctant to get out of the soft memory foam mattress and it meant less time in the shops!! Have stayed several times and are booked up again soon. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bryandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit at Ibis Carlisle. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Good welcome. Easy check-in. Great beds. Street outside said to be noisy in previous reviews, and indeed it was fairly noisy outside, but once in the room, it was like being another world. Exactly as desired for a budget hotel at a great price. Truly excellent location for the Railway Station.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wings_Of_Chicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for posting your kind words on here, we really value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Many Thanks,
Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Much enjoyed the sojourn at the Ibis Carlisle. Home comforts, warm and sleep easy. Shower a dream! Can I take one home please!!!!! Area great and convenient to the main station, shops and bars etc. Staff polite and helpful though help was not needed throughout the stay. Loved the new mattress toppers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your very kind words. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves in our hotel.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Ibis Carlisle.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Property: Ibis Carlisle
Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing