We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Economical and Functional”
Review of Ibis Carlisle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Carlisle
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 4 nights in this hotel situated in the centre of the City of Carlisle in October 2012. It was pleasant, clean, comfortable and it was exactly what we wanted. Restaurants and Pubs were in easy walking distance, varying from cheap and pleasant to expensive and even more pleasant. Anyone who wants somewhere central to explore Carlisle cannot go wrong with this hotel. The facilities were up to scratch and the room was cleaned thoroughly every day. The only downside was finding the car park which is behind the hotel and is part of a bigger car park belonging to a shopping mall. Seemingly this is why the hotel cannot provide directions.

Room Tip: I suppose the rooms at the rear are quieter as the front looks on to a busy main road.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinceMathieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for posting your kind words on here, we really value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Many Thanks,

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Carlisle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

The flash television advertising for Ibis currently on TV shows a miraculaous team of people swapping a bed of a sleeping man - promises that a new bed, mattress, pillows and linen will revolutionise sleep and be installed in all UK Ibis hotels by 16 October. They are not installed at Carlisle, at at the end of October.

Having sufferred a grotty bed and bad nights sleep here a couple of years ago the advertisment prompted me to give the chain another try - what a mistake. Same old thin foam matresses, bed linen that does not fit the bed or the duvet. Very disappointing.

I did have plenty of opportunity to feel the discomfort as even on a Monday night, and securing a quiet back room, a nightclub in the back lane kept booming out music till 3ish, without any apparant customers.

On the positive - the room was cleaner than last visit and shower good.

Check in and out staff must be fed up of the feedback and, to be honest I did not give them a hard time - it's not their fault the surrounding clubs are there, and that they seemed to have missed the refurb the rest of the UK Ibis's have - maybe their days are numbered...?

I did complete the post visit online questionairre the hotel sent and to the credit of Ibis I did receive a response advising that the Carlisle Ibis will be getting new beds later in the year, and that they are trialling better double glazing. In the meantime if you are happy with old beds overdue replacement and noisy nights - this is the hotel for you.

Unlike Premier Inn there is no good sleep guaranttee, so if dodgy bed and noise keep you awake - tough - we'll say sorry but you still pay full whack.

Not recomended whilst awaiting refurb and new double glazing.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel until promised new beds and double glazing are installed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManxQueenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

In fact as you mention we haven't yet finished replacing all the beds in the Hotel.
I do promise that by the 14th of November 100% of the Hotel will have new beds.
Thank for understanding the noise situation and I do hope you continue to use ibis for your stays in Carlisle.

Kind regards

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was greeted by a rather miserable receptionist who was coughing and sneezing all over the desk. She didnt want to be there!
I was given a room on the third floor, got in the lift and was greeting by a service door in the lift open also revealing a grotty storage area.
I got to my room only to find the swipe key not activated. I went back down and was strangely given a room on the 1st floor.

The room was the usual Ibis room, sliding curtain, pod bathroom etc etc. Functional and does the job, but no more.

Room Tip: Away from the main road side for less noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gra90travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to at Ibis Carlisle. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

stayed here for one night, pleasantly surprised as it was a budget hotel, room was good very clean, bed comfy, bathroom great, for the price excellent value for money, only downside the noise from nearby nightclub at 3 in the morning so had disturbed night, not the hotels fault otherwise great location

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle. However I am sorry experienced some problems with noise from the pubs outside.

Best regards

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here 2 watch my team, tranmere play Carlisle. Only a 15 minute walk to the ground. Its close 2 loads of pubs including 2 wetherspoons. Free parking which is a bonus.
Lovely , friendly and helpful staff.
Rooms clean and tidy
Id definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TranmereRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights on the 26th and 27th October 2012.
We cannot fault anything about it. That is why we always book here. We have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to friends and family.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ebbie1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way back home from Scotland... It was okay, wasn't hard to find and car parking was ample, just remember to ask for a permit! We were early for checking but our room was ready. Went up and cleaners were still cleaning on our floor - but it was a mess glass bottles everywhere! In the room itself, was clean but stunk of cigarette smoke. So my husband went down to ask to swap rooms. Swapped rooms straight away to be fair. The new room was far better and smelt fresh. The soundproof window really helped as we were on the main road and it was a Saturday with all the revellers out. Breakfast was average but a wide selection to choose from. I would stay here again but not for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIGUEL M, General Manager at Ibis Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Carlisle I look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Miguel Mendes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,070 reviews
1.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
3.9 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Carlisle

Address: Portlands | Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1RP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Carlisle
Price Range: $59 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Carlisle 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Carlisle hotel is located in the centre of the city, 200 m from the main railway station and not far from Lanes Shopping Centre. Carlisle Cathedral and the Castle are just a few minutes walk from the hotel. Book one of our 102 air cooling rooms and benefit from use of our hotel amenities, including chargeable outdoor parking, a bar serving light meals and snacks 24 hours 7 days as well as wireless Internet access to cater for business guests. Europcar rental services are available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Carlisle Hotel Carlisle
Accor Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing