We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of india in a quiet area of Carlisle”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo Indian - CLOSED

Indigo Indian
Price range: $8 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Fusion, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A taste of india in a quiet area of Carlisle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

Located in the Denton Holme area of Carlisle one of the best authentic indian restaurants locally.

Indigo also has an excellent "take away" service ready in approximately 30 mins. The only downside is that the take away service is located in the middle of the restaurant and if you are dining there you can have people waiting for their take aways. Very good food all the same

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rudchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    14
    4
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of my favourites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a excellent Indian Restaurant ,We have been a few times in the last year or so and have never been dissapointed , Staff are friendly , service has always been good and the food is great too , One of the best in Carlisle , Would definately recommend and will be visiting again in the future

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suzukidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very Very Salty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My Husband ordered a takeaway from Indigo as we had heard a few people say it was very good.
We ordered Beef dansak and the dish was so salty that we couldnt eat it, it seemed the dish was made up of 80% salt!! I have heard that indians do use a lot of salt but we regulary get an indian and i have never encounted a dish as salty as this. We certainly wont be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gonzocumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlisle
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great night out or in as takeaway available”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Fanastic food, staff are really friendly, average prices, close enough to town centre to walk

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pixie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

On arrival the we were seated and seen to quickly, we went on a Sunday night and it was the all you can eat buffet. after receiving poppadoms we then had to wait 40 minutes for our starter which we didn't really know anything about because the whole procedure of the buffet was not explained properly so we felt a little lost and confused.
The food was very average and the buffet advertised that it had naan bread with it but we could not see this anywhere, and on trying to catch the attention of a member of staff I was quite obviously blanked, so we went without the naan.
The atmosphere was very nice as it was busy and lively. Overall I liked the idea of the £9.95 all you can eat buffet as this includes poppadoms, a starter and an average choice of curries, however the service was pretty awful, butI do understand it was busy, but being blatantly ignored was just ridiculous.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amyp152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigo Indian also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing