We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average and clean”
Review of Cumbria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cumbria Park Hotel
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average and clean”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Clean hotel but desperately needs a complete refurbishment!! Old fashioned and dark furnishings. We were in room 3 a small room for a double occupancy. Food average with staff who appeared new or without training. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CumbriaMazzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Cumbria Mazzam,

Thank you for your recent comments. Feedback from our customers helps us work towards improving our product and services.

We are currently working through a complete refurbishment of the property and room 3 is still pending. We do operate three tiers of room standards, Executives, Superiors and Classics. Room 3 is a smaller Classic.

Your comments regarding the food will be taken up directly with the FOH manager. Whilst we are currently building a new team, training is in place to ensure guest satisfaction.


Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    231
    103
    43
    33
See reviews for
99
249
41
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Cumbria Park and had a 'great' stay. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much to make my stay a pleasant one. For one of the evenings we tried the restuarant which was a wise desicion. The food was so good.

Our room was very comofrtable and the little touches like crayons for the kids and chocolates left by the housekeepers were really special.

Overall i would most certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure you try their cumbrian grill in the resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakhbinder P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page. It's great to get such positive feedback. The service we provide is something we take great pride in here at the hotel and to hear that we are getting it right is very encouraging.

We have made some big changes to the kitchen team and are looking to develop a rossette standard menu and service. Whilst we appreciate there is a lot of hard work still to do to achieve this, we are determined to get there.

The little touches in the bedrooms have only recently been introduced by our Head Housekeeper. To know that they are making a positive impact to our guest experience will be well received news amongst her team.

Again i wish to thank you for your positive feedback.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay for one night on business.

The hotel was a little dated decor wise but the staff were friendly, helpful and attentive over 2 full days.

The room had a good TV with excellent reception and channel choice. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was comfortable.

At a price that was very reasonable I have to say that I was most satisfied and will be staying again when back in Carlisle on business.

Give it a go but don't expect modern art - that is all.....

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank YorkTraveller1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessey B, Operations Director at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
YorkTraveller1962,

Your recent comments are much appreciated.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and felt it was most suitable for your requirements. We have had a real drive on improving the housekeeping services at the hotel so to hear that the room and bathroom was spotless is very encouraging and will be relayed to the team.

As referenced in earlier responses we are investing in bringing the hotel forward. Although with the history behind the building, as you say, i don't think modern art will be making its way onto our walls anytime soon.

Again we really appreciate the positive review and look forward to servicing your future lodging requirements.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Total lack of heating on a day when it had been freezing outside. No hot water. Wifi not working. I don't know if there is new management involved but this place has gone downhill pretty fast. Staff are still pleasant enough but it will take a bit more than pleasant staff to make me want to stay there again. I have stayed there once or twice a month for the last two or three years and it has gradually got worse.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessey B, Manager at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Brian,

Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your most recent stay. Firstly i would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused when one of our heating pumps failed. Whilst maintenance were able to react within the hour i appreciate the inconvenience this can cause.

Regarding the Wifi signal, we have recently upgraded the entire property and boosted our signal dramatically. Sometimes guests have issues with their personal hardware but when this occurs our front desk are usually able to assist. Reviewing our outage/issues log at the front desk i am unsure if you managed to report this.

Regarding management - Over the course of the last 12 months we have been adding to the management structure, developing service and standard levels. As you'll know one example of this is the opening of the gym to our residents FOC aswell as considerable investment in our bedrooms.

Whilst it is a shame that you feel unable to reside with us going forward i would welcome the opportunity to invite you back to discuss your concerns in greater detail and prove to you that your most recent experiences are not representative of the hard work myself and staff are putting into the business.

Kind regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Director.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
142 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I cannot comment on the food as I have not eaten whilst staying ( twice) on business trips. I usually go to the pub over the road due to the budget I am on.
Rooms are OK, nothing special but clean and tidy with all the usual amenities expected. I do find that heating although on does not warm the whole room. Shower rather dated but sufficient to do the job. Had a problem with hot water tap on the sink as I had to run it for ages before anything like hot water came out, then it was tepid. I reported this and eventually it was rectified. My room overlooked the main road which does not help sleep wise if your a light sleeper.
Overall I believe the room/hotel are adequate for my needs (business) and not inflated in price, I have certainly stayed in worst places.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms that face onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northumberlandlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessey B, Manager at Cumbria Park Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Northumberlandlad,

Thank you for your recent comments.

Following the feedback received we are looking at introducing an earlier served menu that is more competitively priced and aimed at suiting those customers on a restricted budget. Hopefully when you are next with us it should be in place and we can tempt you to try it.

We do endeavour to ensure that our rooms are clean and tidy and are currently in the process of upgrading all our bedrooms. New Carpet has been laid in approximately 25 rooms with the other half of the hotel earmarked to be completed in the next 3 months. This is coupled with an extensive refurbishment programme which will see all rooms upgraded over an 18 month period. With regards to the shower head, we have taken onboard a few comments from guests and have decided to change the heads to allow for a better water distribution as we agree some of those in situ could be improved.

As a city hotel on the arterial route in and out, some of our regulars do prefer to request a back facing room. If you are in the area again on business please ask my team on booking and i am sure they will be more than happy to assist with your request.

Kindest Regards


Jessey Bal - Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Douglas, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I wrote this letter to the Manager at the Cumbria Park on 2nd December, 2013 and he still hasn't done me the courtesy of repying.

On Sunday evening my friends and I had booked for a concert at the Sands Centre and a meal in your Conservatory Restaurant to celebrate one of the ladies 80th birthday.

The Concert of the Royal Marines lived up to our expectations, our experience in your hotel was, to put it kindly, disappointing. We arrived at 5.45pm for a 6pm reservation, travelling from Castle Douglas.

Our main course took over 30 minutes to arrive and despite the long wait, when it finally arrived, it was barely hot.

When we ordered our deserts at 6.45pm I told the waitress that we were getting short of time and would appreciate being served quickly. After waiting for 20 minutes we put our coats on and went to pay the bill, just as our deserts arrived which we asked to be returned to the kitchen.

The two members of staff who had been serving us were very pleasant and apologised profusely, explaining that it was a new chef's first night and they were trying to help him as much as they could, though when we arrived there were only 2 other diners in the restaurant.

Even with a full restaurant, 90 minutes to order and serve two courses is excessive - when there are only 6 covers, it is inexcusable.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank CJOR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We travelled as part of a coach party of 37 from Scotland to celebrate the New Year with our brother and sister in law.The hotel was clean, if lacking in atmosphere and the staff were helpful and friendly.We passed through the breakfast room when being shown to our room and I remarked how cold it was and was assured that it would be 'nice and warm' by the next morning ready for breakfast.During the four days of our stay it never became 'nice and warm' and in fact food chilled very quickly,spoiling what could have been a delicious meal.Due to the lack of atmosphere we de-camped to the local pub,where we had a most enjoyable evening,the first but not our last visit during our stay in Carlisle.The evening meal was mediocre on our first night,with inexperienced waiting-staff causing delay and frustration to diners.The roast beef and Yorkshire pudding on New Year's Eve was first class and produced clean plates all round.
Chicken was among the choices for our last supper and I don't really have words to describe the offering.Apart from being overcooked,dry and tasteless it was listed as a Chassuer,which 'usually' is served with a tomato/bacon/mushroom sauce.This came topped with tinned chopped tomatoes...........
To add insult to injury our itinerary showed a 'Four course candle-lit supper' as our evening meal.We asked the waiter about it and in good spirit bought tea-lights to our table. 10 out of 10 to him.
After dinner we went to the local pub and had a great evening but decided we would return to the hotel to welcome in 2014.The entertainment for the evening was listed as a jazz band,which was queried by some as an unusual choice for Hogmanay ! When we went into the bar we found the band to consist of a keyboard player and a trumpet/vocal female duet.The choice of music was similar to a dirge,hardly celebratory for the occasion.I enquired if we would be having the customary countdown to midnight (world-wide in my experience) only to be told that they didn't know what the time was and to enquire if it was usual ! I produced my mobile and saw that it was 11.58 p.m [should have stayed at the pub] We,the guests,did the countdown and wished each other all the best for 2014.
Many of the guests spoke to the management team the following morning only to be told that the owner was South African and 'perhaps' didn't understand how the new year is celebrated in the UK.The other suggestion was that hogmanay doesn't have the same significance in England as it does in Scotland.What utter nonsense and rubbish.........I am English [married to a Scot] and believe me we celebrate the new year in England perhaps even more so than the Christmas holiday.
So all in all this was a very disappointing start to the new year,only saved by the good company of our family.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor,looking out onto the street/houses opposite. Very small room,when the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate111113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumbria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumbria Park Hotel

Property: Cumbria Park Hotel
Address: 32 Scotland Road, Carlisle CA3 9DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumbria Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumbria Park Hotel is a privately owned hotel and has been established for over 40 years. Located 1.5 miles from the M6 J44 and a 10 minute walk from the town centre. We have a leisure club and 6 conferences rooms. The menu is a mix of modern and traditional. A warm, friendly atmosphere awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cumbria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlisle Best Western
Best Western Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing