We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never fails to please”

Sportsmans Restaurant
Ranked #170 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Just up the A7 along the Tourist Route to Edinburgh
Howden, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to please”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We returned because we expected a friendly welcome, lovely room and wonderful food. We were not disappointed. Our room was very comfortable and we relaxed with a cuppa before going to the bar for a pre dinner drink The menu offered tempting choices but we both chose game dishes from the seasonal local produce on the specials board and they were two of the nicest meals we have eaten anywhere. Not only quality but plenty to fill us. After a good nights sleep it was a challenge to manage a full english breakfast but it set us up for a full day out in the area. It was deja vu when we got back to the hotel, consistency we now take for granted.
Just the best place we ever stay and we have been visiting for about seventeen years - long may Richard and Claire and their family reign.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    5
    0
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional local cuisine at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Took my 88yr old Dad for his birthday lunch, we all thoroughly enjoyed our food and all chose different things! Pigeon breast with black pudding, seasonal duck and veg followed by sponge pudding with raspberries and custard..... Sublime. Service was first class. Definitely a great place for Sunday lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dickthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I were delighted to find the 'Marchbank Hotel,' as good dining options are hard to find in the Canonbie/border area.
'Marchbank Hotel' was recommended to us by our B & B hosts at Byreburnfoot Country House. 'Marchbank' has a good reputation locally for their incorporation of fresh game on the menu.
My garlic mushroom starter was a bit of a disappointment. To my mind, it was no different to a larger portion of the type of chopped up mushrooms served as an accompaniment to breakfast.
My main course baked Salmon was delicious.
My husband thoroughly enjoyed his 'Sportsman's' game orientated main.
The wine list has something for everyone, the separate bar/lounge area is intimate and cosy, and the service is excellent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank u7jf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
83 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent place to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second visit to this restaurant whilst staying nearby on holiday.
All the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is absolutely beautiful - even my extremely fussy son enjoyed his food here.
Would love to visit again and also stay in the hotel part.
Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fulltimemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Following a walk from nearby Longtown we made it to the restuarant. Although we were a bit late the hosts were very accommodating and we both had an excellent meal, they even gave us a lift home. We were so impressed we returned the next day for another excellent meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brizamedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sportsmans Restaurant also viewed

Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Dalston, Carlisle
 

Been to Sportsmans Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing