We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic lunch”

Toby Carvery Carlisle
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #124 of 403 Restaurants in Carlisle
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Carlisle. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings – including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Cumbria’s favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We needed a Pitstop on our drive up to visit family in Scotland and where else but a trusted favourite with our family, Toby Carvery never lets us down and today is no different 1st time here but not our last, fantastic warm welcome great food and a friendly goodbye , thank you Toby we will see you again soon on our drive back home to St. Helens x

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank jonmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

what a lovely review, thank you. we hope that you return to us again soon
Regards
Hazel and the team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 798 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped off here for breakfast on the way down the M6. No latte (machine broken). No hash browns, no beans, no eggs. Pink undercooked looking sausages and bacon. Perhaps we called when they were having an off day. Won't be back.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bambibambina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

the only thing true regarding this statement is that the latte machine wasn't working. if you recall in your selective hearing you were informed that the chef was replenishing everything and it would be 5 minutes to which you decided wasn't good enough so you were refunded. we weren't the ones having the 'off' day it was clearly yourself.....unless it's normal for you to be rude and ignorant to everyone (not our words, words of other guests who heard the way you spoke to the team that morning).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Although the food was okay, the staff were not. We booked a table for half 4, we received two text messages which read if we were going to cancel we had to text the number and that we had to put our number plate in. We arrived only 10 minutes late due to traffic. As we got there we received another text to say sorry we couldn’t make the reservation. I understand that other people are waiting to be seated but to cancel the table after just 10 minutes is a bit ridiculous. We went up to the woman at the desk and explained the situation to which she replied “your table has been given to someone else you can either sit in the bar or leave.” If she had worded it different i wouldn’t have minded as much but the way it was worded and the tone of her voice was just unacceptable. There was a couple in front of us who she told they could wait for a table, the fact we weren’t even given that option just made it worse. We chose to sit in the bar because we were already there and there was no point going home. I’d like to say the rest of the staff were happier but not one of them cracked a smile and most of them were very blunt when you spoke to them, I didn’t speak to all of the staff so I can’t say every single one of them were like this. Most of the staff just made the atmosphere uninviting and not very pleasant we just wanted to eat our food and leave. They also never kept on top of the food so when the mash was empty they didn’t bother refilling it for a while which doesn’t work when there is a long line of people waiting for it. Not a very good experience, will not be returning if I have the choice.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WBRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi,
thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear that on this occasion you didnt enjoy your experience with us. By your comments im guessing that you visited us on Sunday? on Sundays we can do in excess of 1000 meals, for this reason we have to be strict with bookings. the reason we send TWO texts within the 10 minutes of you being late is because we hope that it will prompt the guest to update us on them being late (obviously on this occasion you didnt) and if this doesnt happen then the table is automatically given to the next guest who is waiting.
Regards
Hazel Foulkes GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

where do i start i work for the ambulance service in suffolk.myself and my work partner had to take a patient to Carlisle from ipswich well to cut a long story short this took around 7 hours in the end and both of us where starving and still had the journey home to contend with so thought we would stop here for dinner before we headed back and it was defintly worth it.
we where greeted at the door by Hazel the G.M with a lovely smile and cheery welcome when asked if we had a reservation the answer was no why would we lol this didn't matter in the slightest to her and found us a great table near a window and a bit of a view.
we both decided to have the carvery that I can say is one of the best i have had for a good while the meat portions where good and the veg was fresh the dinner tasted great and all the staff i had dealings with fantastic.
all in all i can say if you are ever near here and need a good meal and happy cheerful service give the Toby a go I'm sure you won't regret it.
thanks to all the staff today you where all great.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Hi Shaun,

Wow, thanks for your amazing review and thanks for the great job you and your colleagues do!

I hope you had a safe journey home and if you are in the area again please pop in

Warmest regards,
Hazel and the team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019

stopped when travelling on the M6 as it was less that a mile from junction.

The place was almost empty, however it looked like 100's had been in but nobody cleans up? obviously we had carver, which was dry and sliced like someone had ripped it apart with there hands.
As tobys go, this is probably one of the worst

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank catcrazycook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerAA, Manager at Toby Carvery Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Hi Catcrazycock
thank you for the review, i will speak to the kitchen team regarding this. I apologise that your visit wasnt as expected
Regards
Hazel Foulkes GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Carlisle also viewed

Gretna, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle
 

Been to Toby Carvery Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing