We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bar solo”
Review of Bar Solo

Bar Solo
Ranked #84 of 343 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“bar solo”
Reviewed July 2, 2014

nice friendly atmosphere but rather busy overcrowded on a weekend drinks mixed to how u like them nothing is to hard for them to try and make for u could do with a bigger place as rather small building.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denisewallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Sadly let down”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Majority of night went well [27/6/14]. Was with a group of friends, and over a few hours must have spent close to £100. Then something rather strange occured. Went to bar, ordered 2 and a half pints of lager, was served 2, pointed out politely was still awaiting the half, then the barman, looks at me with disdain, went off to side of bar, heard the sound of smashing glass and then came back with my drink which he slammed down in front of me. Continued to give our group [two couples] intimidating looks from there on in. Was noticed by us all , and was utterly inexplicable. My partner attempted to find out his name before we left but he refused. Not good enough, I have never complained about anything officially in my life, I am not that type. However this guy has certainly lost custom from us, as won't be going back. Would have been bad enough if had just been in for the one drink, but we had been sampling the cocktails, and they are not cheap!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Had coffees here with my partner on a Sunday morning. Staff were lovely and friendly, we were served quickly and the coffees were lovely. We didn't order food, but a group of people did next to us and the food looked really well presented and fresh. Would definitely go back to try the food. There was a really relaxed atmosphere and it was very clean with lovely quirky décor.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank S1201317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainstable219, Owner at Bar Solo, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. We are certainly proud of our little bar and reviews such as your are very welcome by all the staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing cocktails”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We ordered a White Russian cocktail each and it was made perfectly by the charming mixologist. Followed by the Cherry Shakewell, which again was amazing. We went on to another bar and I stupidly ordered another White Russian which did not compare to the one in Bar Solo. Best cocktails on town, by far.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zacharyquack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainstable219, Owner at Bar Solo, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Many thanks for your kind comments. Your feed back is greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level Contributor
349 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Chic Little Bar”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This bar has been in Carlisle now for a long time, it has to be good to survive in Carlisle! Brilliant small intimate bar with a great seventies quirky style, friendly and chic.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PrimalSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ainstable219, Owner at Bar Solo, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your kind comment, and the secret of survival in Carlisle-
great customers!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Solo also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Bar Solo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing