We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very average”

Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet
Ranked #139 of 338 Restaurants in Carlisle
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Girvan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“very average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

not a bad choice of mains but sweets were very poor. asked for glass off water and waiter brought bottle then put two pounds twenty on my bill for water. food was ok but not best chinese buffet i have been to and wouldnt rush back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank stuart k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    78
    73
    34
    48
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Just what was wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

A clean, no hassle service, plenty of food to choose from, all well prepared. Good to see families, singles and couples enjoying the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alan_uk1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a nice dining experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

First time visiting carlisle and decided to try the restaurant, what a mistake the food all looked past it's best, every meal tasted the same and there was a distinct lack of vegitarian options. The best part of the meal was the canned fruit! This is one place to avoid! Wish we had read the reviews on trip advisor before our visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rnewcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely outrageous should be shut down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were warned by numerous people to avoid this so called restaurant as it was disgusting this made us want to have a look for ourselves well I can honestly say that I have never been to such a disgusting horrible place the food was simply slop it was like feeding animals from a trough very very bad quality muck it was an insult be warned avoid this place it really should be shut down as a matter of urgency !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bender65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Terrible meal, it was very cheap and the food reflected the price. It felt like the food had been kept hot for too long and the choice of food was poor in my opinion.

The fried food was very dry and we didn't enjoy the experience at all.

The waiting staff were fine but the chef in his dirty jeans didn't look too good when he came out to try and revive some of the food so it looked acceptable.

I was warned by a colleague before we went in but there was not another sit down Chinese restaurant in the area that we could see.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Shanghai Shanghai Oriental Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing