We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Crossroads House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crossroads House
Ranked #5 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 14, 2012

A very good B&B very clean and with most things we want also a excellent breakfast. Owners very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonygill69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
There are newer reviews for Crossroads House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 176 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

Enjoyed the breakfast at Crossroads House and Warren and Sue were great hosts - but that doesn't necessarily make up for the saggy baggy bed and the road noise. I wonder why B&B proprietors can't go out and buy a decent firm mattress. I mean, I am assuming they have to change them once every few years anyhow. The noise - both outside (the inn is at a crossroads) and inside (even though the other guests were all OAP, they were a noisy lot) was a bit much.

Note, if you go - they offer a twin room with a "private" bathroom. Private in this case does not equate to "en suite." You have (supposedly, although it doesn't lock from the outside) exclusive use of the bathroom, you just have to traipse up the hallway to get to it.

Value was OK - not the lowest price, not the highest. The breakfast was really quite good and the guest lounge and amenities were very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueHenFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to Crossroads. Once again Warren and Sue went above and beyond the call of duty. They could not do enough for us. In fact it was so good I brought the keys home with me because I never needed to use them as felt no need to lock my room. (sorry Warren I will stick them in post to you.) On our first morning we had to leave at 6,30, Sue was kind enough to make us a packed lunch to last us thru the day. You would not get that kind of service inmany places. Already looking forward to coming back next year.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NESSLINLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Do NOT trust Google Maps directions to get you here. From the M6, take junction 42 exit to the A6 to Carlisle. At the roundabout, take the Dalston exit or you will never find it. This exit is not mentioned ANYWHERE in Google Maps directions. After the roundabout it's almost exactly a mile on the right, so not hard to get to at all really, you just need to know it's the Dalston exit.

The place looks exactly like the photos, so you should recognize it even before you see the sign. The proprietors are a lovely couple who go out of their way to get you anything you need. Upon arrival they made us all a cup of tea and some homemade muffins that we were just devastated we did not get to try as we had just finished eating lunch. If breakfast was any indication, we should have eaten the muffins anyway, LOL.

Room #2 had a particular bad smell to it, but we did not want to complain and just lived with it. My sister's room #4 did not smell, so it must have been something wrong with ours. Other than that, the room was quite comfortable, the shower was hot and clean. The rooms were more like traditional hotel rooms than simply B&B rooms with little amenities you would expect at a chain even though it's one-of-a-kind. The coverlet on the bed was heavy and warm.

Breakfast was perfect and in a lovely, bright room, and we were given all kinds of information about how to get to and around town easily.

Room Tip: Room #2 besides the smell is also directly above the one stop sign in town, so there's a bit of...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sweet_insurgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Had to spend and evening in Carlise on business, and instead of driving home myself and my wife thought it would be a good idea to break the journey and stay overnight. We know the area quite well, and this B&B is only a few miles from the centre ( in Brisco ) and close to the M6 turnoff. A great base for exploring.
We looked at the previous reports on Trip advisor, and they were not wrong. Superb B&B and a very warm welcome by the hosts. Our room was warm and very clean, all en suite, and the propriters could not do enough for us. There is a nice guest lounge, and even a little drinks fridge if you want a tipple at very good prices !. Next morning breakfast was one of the best we have had in any B&B, all in all a great experience and well priced. We shall return when in the area. Well done !

Dr Malc

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

We went back to Crossroads on our way to a short stay in Cumbria. The bedrooms have been renovayed and are even better than before. Very tasteful contemporary revamp. Loved it and have booked a night at end of May on our way up for a wek in Northern Scotland.
Thank you Susan and Warren for your warm, friendly hospitality!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are top rate.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne12343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I visit Carlisle regually for business and stay at this lovely B&B. Sue and Warren are fab and make you feel very at home. Rooms are lovely and the bed so comfy you just want to sleep on.Choice of breakfast from cerial to full brekkie. Lovely lounge to sit in and most of all a great atmosphere. I feel very lucky to have found such a great place to stay where all the comforts of home in a friendly environment with two lovely interesting people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindsey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.2 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,402 reviews
2.6 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,004 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,011 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
1,067 reviews
4.0 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads House

Address: Brisco, Carlisle CA4 0QZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: $93 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crossroads House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come away and feel home from home at Crossroads House, just 1-mile from J42 of the M6, 3-miles from the centre of Carlisle and 2-miles from Carlisle Racecourse. Crossroads House is ideally located for stopping of on route to and from Scotland, visiting Historic Carlisle, The Northern Lakes, The Eden Valley and The World Heritage Site of Hadrian's Wall. With a selection of single and double rooms all en suite, and a Family Room, we can cater for most requirements along with free off road parking and Wi-Fi. After a fabulous nights sleep, wake up to one of our award winning breakfasts and take in the picturesque views of the northern lakeland fells of Blencathra and Skiddaw. Return at night and enjoy a relaxing drink from our bar in our comfortable guests lounge. Don't just take our word for it, come and see for yourselves. And don't forget, we are the only B&B in England with it's own Roman Well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Crossroads House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing