We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff better than hotel!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crown & Mitre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Staff better than hotel!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Crown and Mitre website states that the recently renovated King rooms.......not all have been renovated or if they have, you would ask for your money back. the car park for a city centre hotel was free although ensure you drive a SUV as the surface is very poor. The reception staff were lovely, even after dealing with the lady in front of me, who obviously wasnt happy. The room was large, spacious high ceilings but a little worse for wear, they also just hoover round, dont look under or move furniture. The bathroom was poor, broken toilet seat, filthy shower head and dont ever turn the shower mat over.......ooh. We were staying at the hotel as a large group, all separately booked and we ate in the hotel restaurant and on the whole 19.95 for three courses the food was of a standard you would expect, sweets were sent back, inedible and coffee was provided foc, again staff were lovely. All in all nice staff shame about the hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ezzavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is though very concerning that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your room was one of our Superior King Rooms, but having inspected the bathroom after your stay I was able to see that everything was not to the standard expected. These problems have now been rectified and had you reported them to the Duty Manager on arrival, I am confident we would have delt with them immediately or else try to move you to another room.

Our car park is in need of resurfacing which we hope to deal with early next year. Although it is great to see such good comments regarding our staff, it is disappointing that you also feel that your meal was up to scratch.

It is important to us that all our guests recieve excellent quality and service during their stay and if we are notified otherwise, our dedicated team will always do everything possible to rectify the situation. Should you wish to discuss this in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me on 01228 525491, as I would be happy to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    353
    150
    70
    46
See reviews for
122
366
47
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Beautiful hotel, centre to Carlisle and a short walk to local pubs and restaurants. . Staff were lovely, friendly and extremely helpful. Hotel was lovely and clean, the rooms were great value and a good size! Looking forward to my next stay already.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stroke5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments. It is always encouraging to be given such positive feedback and to know that our guests have thoroughly enjoyed their stay as you have. If you are planning on staying with us next year, please contact our Reception Team before the end of December to find out about our great Gold Voucher Offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at the Crown with a friend on the way up to Edinburgh in July this year and we found it to be quite decent. The room was very clean, the staff were friendly and they even have a swimming pool! We got a pretty good price through laterooms. The food was not bad either, I had the rib eye steak and my friend had the crown burger, stilton cheese = awesome! both were cooked really well and the chips were spot on.

Overall, good experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I will certainly pass on your comments to our kitchen....Perhaps they should put the Crown Burger back on the menu! I hope that you will stay with us again in the future, please check our website to ensure that you are guaranteed our best available rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Booked for a one night stay in Carlisle. Delightful, well managed Edwardian hotel. Yes, there were issues, but for a three star hotel nothing that could not be forgiven. Check in was not exactly efficient, but if you only have one member of staff to cover phones and reception, I refuse to take issue with the helpful, bubbly member of staff who checked us in. Credit to the chain, under the circumstances. Carpeting through the public areas is a bit tired, but when you have acres of it to look after, it is impossible to take remedial action without replacing the whole lot. All in all, the public areas are well appointed and a "man on a galloping horse" would take no issue whatsoever. The bedroom (305) was well appointed and for the price quite a surprise. Large double bed that would quite happily have accomodated three people, should you be into that sort of thing! View disappointing, but in a hotel of this age, not everybody can have a view of the Sydney Opera House!!! Breakfast was paid for in-situ and was perfectly acceptable for a hotel of this star rating. All in all, my partner and I were perfectly satisfied with the service and accomodation. Anyone wanting quality and convenience in the centre of Carlisle should look no further than the Crown & Mitre.

Room Tip: I can only comment on Room 305, but it was a "standard" room, and if the standard was cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your stay earlier this month. As we had the availability on the night of your stay, we were able to upgrade you to Room 305. This is one of our newly referbished Superior Rooms so I am happy to hear such lovely comments from guests who have stayed in it. The hotel is currently being refurbished so there are some areas which are still in need of updating, but as you kindly pointed out we hope to overcome these shortfalls with excellent service and accommodation.

There is always more than one person on duty on Reception, so I am sorry that this was not the case on your arrival. Nevertheless, I will certainly pass your comments on to our Reception Team, and in particular the girl who checked you in.

I am glad that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you back to the Crown and Mitre Hotel on your next visit to Carlisle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived in the rain to a warm welcome. The room was pleasant although the bed was on the small side. We enjoyed our peaceful swim in the pool which we had it to ourselves. We booked in for our evening meal and were pleasantly surprised by the excellent food and service. In the morning the breakfast was also good. The only down side was the main part of the hotel was looking a little tired and ready for redecoration.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekenderdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and meal in our Peace and Plenty Restaurant. The hotel is currently undergoing a number of major refurbishments and as part of this we will be looking to redecorate the public area of the hotel in order to improve the overall experience for our guests.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Carlisle and enjoy the upcoming Festive Season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I accompanied my Husband who went to Carlisle on business. This hotel in very central to the shopping precinct and therefore very convenient....museum, cathedral and castle are all within walking distance as is the railway station. The room was adequate in size but it was all a bit tatty. the bed seemed small although it was a standard double. the radiator was cold the whole time we were there...........staff kept saying that its on a timer! obviously the timer never click on!! The carpet on both staircases and in the corridors was threadbear in places and definately needed replacing. The breakfast room was nice and the staff were helpful but the food, which was buffet style, was only warm. look forward to returning once it has been update, but not before!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is a shame that you were disappointed with your room.
Having looked into your booking I can confirm that you were in one of our higher standard double rooms. The bed is a full double size and the decor to a good standard. However, we do have more recently refurbished Superior rooms in the main building which might be more to your liking. With regerds to the radiator, I must apologise. We have recently changed our heating settings to reflect the recent decline in the weather. I am confident that this will ensure that all our rooms are warm enough for guests.

We are constantly upgrading the more dated areas of the hotel in order to sustain a high 3 Star standard. Should you choose to stay with us on your next visit to Carlisle, please speak to our Reservationist regarding the issues you experienced on your last stay and I am sure she will do everything she can to make your stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

We took advantage of an offer and had 2 nights, 2 dinner + bottle of wine and 2 breakfast for £99.50 each and we were in a newly refurbished king room with slippers and toweling robe provided. Food was good, staff brilliant and the location perfect for shops, attractions and station. The pool was small but lovely and warm with a view of the night sky, perfect. No gripes other than the stair carpet was a bit tired and the pool shower was not working but it was very quickly attended to and fixed - all the important stuff was spot on. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubychickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCrossley, General Manager at Crown & Mitre Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Please keep checking our page for any future offers. Alternatively you can follow us on Facebook for information on all our details, and a first look at our newly refurbished rooms. I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.8 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#16 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown & Mitre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown & Mitre Hotel

Property: Crown & Mitre Hotel
Address: 4 English Street, Carlisle CA3 8HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown & Mitre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Crown & Mitre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown And Mitre Hotel
Crown Mitre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing