We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Had a very decent 2-night stay here. Location is ideal if you're arriving by train - step out of the station, take a few steps and you are there. Hotels looks very nice. Modern interior, very pleasant staff, room was very nice to stay in. Restaurant has a good choice of meals. The ONLY down side to our stay was an intermittent dripping noise that could be heard from our room. Wasn't sure if it was the drainage or something like that.

That only negative aside, a very nice stay overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Apologies about the dripping noise I have asked Maintenance to look into this today and rectify immediately.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    287
    249
    119
    90
See reviews for
84
399
48
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

good points:
1. very handy from train station
2. large clean room, nice decor, all amenities necessary
3. comfortable, clean beds
4. nice bathroom/big bath
NEGATIVES:
1. shower head moved very little, therefore floor flooded when using shower
2. was really looking forward to nice big cooked full english, which is an important part of hotel experience. To have it cooked and served up would have been a real treat, unfortunately what we got was a small buffet squeezed into a corner of the equally small dining room.
even though we were there within 1/2 hour of dining room opening,
eggs were cold, congealed and stuck together on a plate.
tinned mushrooms were cold and limp
sausages quality good, but also stone cold
tomatoes cooked to a pulp, also cold
bacon, pale, cold, thick and disgusting
black pudding of a poor quality, halved as if they were grudging you a full slice
all this "lovely" food, served on, - yes, you have guessed, cold plates, my favourite!
Toaster provided, set to zero by a helpful member of staff???
one cup of tea or coffee provided, no pots! most people like a pot with their breakfast.


the second day we decided to be first in to see if this would make a difference. There happened to be a large party of chinese arrived just after us. This seemed to make the staff go to pieces and therefore the dining room did not open until 20 mins after it should have. We were not amused when we saw that a group of 8, were already in and finishing their breakfast before we were allowed in. I also witnessed one of this group approach a member of staff and be handed croissants from under the counter, the same procedure occurred with other members of their group. There should be no special priveledges made, all guests should be treated equally!
Due to the very poor offering for breakfast for a hotel of this stature, it lets them down badly, we would not return or recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madgeayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and your feedback of which we take very seriously and all the points you have raised will be investigated and the appropriate actions taken to ensure that there can be no re occurrences in the future.
I was most disappointed by your comments regarding breakfast as this is not something we hear often as you will see by other reviews. I have passed on your comments to the Head Chef and he in turn will speak with the member of staff responsible for the food and also the wait involved. I would like to point out that the mushrooms are fresh as is all the food we produce and the toasters are controlled by our guests not the staff members. The restaurant is of adequate size for the hotel as is the area in which the buffet is served from. The Hallmark Hotel standard is not to serve pots of coffee as again all our coffee is freshly made to order from the machine however, you may have as many cups as you like and I am sure this was explained to you on the day.
Once again I thank you for your feedback as it is invaluable for us to develop the service and standards with the team and improve on them for the future.

Yours sincerely


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an overnight stay on dinner, bed and breakfast basis for our anniversary. The staff were so welcoming - even when we had a problem connecting to wifi one of the staff came to our room and sorted it. The rooms are really comfortable and well equipped. We dined in the Brasserie and the food was amazing, the belly pork was to die for! I would definitely recommend this hotel and would like to return for another stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gillo66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your review and lovely comments I will pass them onto the team.
Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and especially the food Chef and his team will be thrilled.
We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

My lovely bride and I stayed here on our wedding night, and we both agree the room (325) was amazing, very clean with lots of space! The only downside to this room was that their was no natural light in the bathroom as there was no window and in the morning as we were getting ready to go down for breakfast the light went out! Apart from that the room was brill
We had a couple of drinks in the bar when we got to the hotel from our reception and bar service was good and reasonably priced!
Plenty of well cooked food for breakfast and not much of a fight to fill your plates!
All in all a good stay and I will be recommending the hotel to any of our friends coming to stay in carlisle.
Managed to get an early check in due to the time of my wedding and loved the congratulations card from the hotel staff! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familyMAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and congratulations once again on your recent wedding. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon maybe even next year on your anniversary!
Thank you again

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent 1 night at the Hallmark hotel, parking is very limited, if there's no room in the hotel car park, you need to use the train station (parking fee). nice meal in the bar area, staff really friendly & helpful. Rooms were very clean with free wi-fi, highlight was the buffet breakfast, loads of choice

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank malbrodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and nice comments which I will pass onto the team. We hope to see you again in the hotel very soon.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Town, Tanzania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

This Hotel was clean and well decorated. Bed room was spacious and had a good shower. Staff were welcoming and obliging. Sounds good and it was, until you went into the restaurant. Breakfast was very short on choices though some of the cooked food had some merit. I would not recommend anyone staying here to have the evening meal. Go out, there are plenty of small restaurants around. Complaints were made to staff and many apologies received but no improvements were made. Basic cooking should not be a problem in a Hotel of this type.

Room Tip: ask to see it first. Believe some rooms are rather cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beezwacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments an my apologies that you found some aspects of your stay disappointing. The comments you have made shocked me as you will see from the new review and previous ones this is not the case for everyone.
I will pass your comments onto the team and your feedback will be taken on board as we continually learn and improve our training and standards, based on our guests feedback.

Yours sincerely



Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located right next to the train station. Well managed, with spacious rooms and bathrooms. We had a twin room and it had a desk, but no locker/safe. The window overlooked the train station and there was some early morning noise with the train arriving, but that goes with the territory!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your nice review very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Property: Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing