We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Put here by my company on a course, I went by car (on 25 or so spaces so had to park in the train station car park at £8 a day!!!) while on the subject of the train station, it is almost connected to the hotel in a good way, no noise but extremely convenient. The bar and restaurant were very new looking and well laid out and the staff were very pleasant and friendly. The room u had was good but the bathroom was a little tired but functional and clean. The bed was massive and very comfy. I would have no problem going back with my family but the train option would be preferable unless you get there early enough.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay all be it on business. We would love to have you return with your family in the future and look forward to that.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you need a Hotel for business in Carlisle, next o to Railway Station, in the middle of town that is outstanding then look no further than the Hallmark.

My room faced Carlisle Castle and was an excellent room, there were also the finest free biscuits in the room.

The breakfast was fantastic, the coffee a delight.

Carlisle is definitely an excellent place to visit.

Room Tip: Top stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Lovely review thank you we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments will be passed on to all the team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Me and my husband had a two night stay at this hotel, it was perfect. We stayed for the valentine weekend, it was fab value for money. Wil deff be coming back again the hotel was lively the staff were very welcoming. And the food was to die for. Thank you. X

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chellel1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely comments to all the team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Me & hubby looking for nice hotel for good dinner bed & breakfast with good food & nice wine,
Just what we to great online offer we just wanted to relax somewhere else & that's what we did.
Free tapas at tea time good bar service excellent 3 course meal lovely room & great breakfast.
Only downside a bit noisy outside at night & early morning but that could have just been where our room was, would book again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards



Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The hotel is very conveniently situated next to the railway station in town and has parking round the back.

A typical large hotel but with friendly staff and a good atmosphere - you felt they care. The rooms were very good with a comfortable bed and good ensuite, both were very clean.

We ate in the dining room in the evening and the food was well presented and tasty. Breakfast was largely self-serve but of good quality.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WarwickDogwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Thank you for your review we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the staff looked after you. I will pass on your comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again at the hotel in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Location
You literally walk out the train station doors and the hotel is on your right hand side. If proximity to the station, bars and shops is what you are looking for, and we were, this is ideal.

Entrance
Hotel interior was good. Lift, bar and restaurant all there and reception too. All clean and tidy.

Room
Room was very nice, really good size. Great size bed and comfortable too. One small thing, there was a nice round table in the room and one chair at the table. There was another, different type, chair at the dressing table. It might suit better to have two chairs at the wee table but that's just a small thing.

The bathroom was enormous and was clean but there was a funny smell which I couldn't really pinpoint the location of but was definitely there.

Food
Breakfast on Sat morning wasn't good. It had been lying too long and wasn't very hot. Sunday morning was better.

Staff
All staff were friendly and efficient

Carlisle
As you might expect, at night, this is a place for young people and is very loud and slightly intimidating. During the day, it is like any other city. Night time is stag, hen and birthday party time. We didn't do any historical type things so can't comment.

Overall
If you are looking for a quiet, sedate and peaceful break, this isn't for you but if you are looking for a bit of hustle and bustle and realise that this comes with some noise, then enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lynnemch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall and that the staff looked after you.
The points your raised about breakfast and the smell will be looked into immediately and steps taken to rectify them.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I cant say I am impressed. Although its not a bad hotel at all especially where english hotels are concerned.
The lobby is nicely renovated. The rooms (standard) are very very small. That was the worst part. Toilet is also miniature so it makes cleaning a hassle.
There is a flat screen tv in the room (a normal one would never fit)
Breakfast was ok....typical british.
Location is good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GPeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for your review and your feedback which we take on board and will review the points that you have mentioned.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#6 of 20 in Carlisle
1,086 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,459 reviews
1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#9 of 20 in Carlisle
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing