We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just average!”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

The room: the bedroom was of an average size. The decor was slightly dated. Unfortunately the bedroom was located next to the fire door which was unfortunately made an horrendous noise when people walked through them ( which seemed to be every five minutes) up side the bed was very comfertable. Breakfast: just average. In a nutshell, average. I've uploaded pictures so that you can see for yourself!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JSPHILLIPS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your review we very much appreciate your comments.
| am sorry that you felt we were just "average" not something that we hear often we will take your comments on board.
Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.

Yours sincerely


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    290
    250
    126
    95
See reviews for
86
408
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were invited to a wedding on the 10th November 2012, and the wedding meal was way below average. For starters it was supposed to be vegetable soup, but the chef had burned it, and to disguise this they added lots of salt & pepper, all the guests could not workout what the soup was supposed to be as it was also brown! Then the main, i had chicken which was dry and tough, wrapped in bacon which was only just cooked, and there was supposed to be a sauce with it but instead only a slither of red wine gravy, which was for the other meal, and that was poor, it was supposed to be roast beef but it was the sort of beef you would buy for sandwiches, it was wafer thin, about 3 slices, and to accompany every ones meal was a small dish of partly cooked veg between 4 adults! Well most people did not eat the chicken meal, and there was not enough with the beef meal, and the sticky toffee pudding was not the best either. Later they put on a buffet and the sandwiches where going hard like toast, and the quiche was freezing cold like it had not defrosted in time, and there was lots left over even though there where over 200 guests! The d.j they supplied was grumpy, and the songs where not very good for the occasion, like "hello" by Linol Richie... But i can say the staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your review however we find your comments to be unjust and untrue. We pride ourselves on the standard of food served in the hotel and receive positive comments about this daily. We have spoken directly to the Bride & Groom Joann and Liam, whom were over the moon with the standard of service, food and staff and could not have been more complimentary about the hotel.

Yours sincerly


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have now visited this hotel twice, on business, and the service has just got better and better - on my first visit i was very apprehensive purely because of the mixed reviews i had read/heard - but it was a very pleasant stay!
i would say the bathroom is dated like most people are saying, but this is minor, everything in the bathroom worked fine!
staff were all very friendly, i must pay a special compliment to Brian, the night porter who i rang the night before checking in to make sure everything was fine, he confirmed on the phone that it was all booked (as my company arranged this and there had been mix-ups in the past) and then when i met him on my second night there, he remembered me from when i spoke to him on the phone just by me telling him what company i was from! he was very very pleasant, and very friendly, making general chit chat, something that is nice when you are away from your normal surroundings by yourself. he also makes a mean hot chocolate :-)
if theres anything that i would say needs changing its the parking facilities - there are only 26 parking spots and its on a first come first serve basis - however Brian made me aware if you park at the train station and you are staying at the hotel you are eligible for a discount (which i had to use as no spaces when i checked in) and the train station is literally 10 footsteps away from the hotel!
also for all the party go-ers 'Botchergate' is right round the corner so thats handy too!
even though this hotel is right next to the train station, there was hardly any noise coming from it at all!
excellent hotel, made better with excellent staff who deserve to be recognised!
will definitely be staying again when im in the area!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabz1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review we very much appreciate it. I will pass on your comments to Brian he will be thrilled by them and of course the rest of the team.
Very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Could not fault the staff in this hotel,they made our stay here a delight.Nothing was too much for any of them,the duty manager on this weekend a Mr Paul Mabbley has got to be one of the nicest we have ever come across,he certainly does what he is paid for and more!! The girls on waitressing were so lovely an absolute delight. The food was perfect just perfect, the Chef and kitchen staff definaltey need praising for their menu,presentation was fab .
Thank you Thank you Thank you xxxxxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAHRUSSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review, it seems like you have had a lovely time with us which I am delighted to hear.
I will pass on your lovely words to Paul he will be thrilled by them and I will pass on your wonderful comments to the rest of the team including the kitchen they will be delighted that you enjoyed your food.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Called in for lunch whilst waiting for a train,they offer 15% discount on production of your rail ticket,the hotel is located fifteen steps from the station entrance.
Full marks for service and food quality,many thanks.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel-2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, I am glad that you enjoyed your visit all be it a short one. Delighted that you enjoyed the food and service and I will pass on your comments to the team.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future and for a longer time!

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel for my wife's birthday along with our family. The room was really great although the bathroom was a little bit dated.All of our party were highly complimentary about their rooms too.
The service throughout our stay was excellent and the staff, particularly in the restaurant were outstanding.Our evening meal was excellent and the staff couldn't have done more to help my wife enjoy her birthday.I would highly recommend the Hallmark to anyone and it was great value as well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that your wife enjoyed her birthday.
I will pass on all your comments to the team and hopefully we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future, maybe on your birthday this time!

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanferres, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed overnight here for a conference, held at the hotel, last weekend and was very happy with all aspects of my stay. Reviews on here are very mixed however I found the staff very pleasant, helpful and friendly and my room spacious and comfortable. The only possible criticism of the room would be that the heating and towel rail weren't on but that suited me as I hate hot bedrooms, it might not suit everyone though! Despite being next to the railway station and there being a Beer Festival on in the hotel there wasn't any noise to be heard from my room on the 3rd floor.

The hotel provided evening meal, breakfast and a buffet lunch for our group, it was all excellent and I would definitely recommend other organisations take up this option.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWalesMutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review we very much appreciate your comments and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.
I will pass on all your comments to the team and I will ask maintenance to have a look at the towel rail, it may be a simple fuse has blown on this.
Thanks again for the kind words and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
957 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
220 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Property: Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing