We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really central”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived early and we were greeted by a very pleasant receptionist,lovely Scottish lass.
Right next door to the train station,very handy for day trips.
Room was nice but the bathroom could do with a makeover.
Only really down side was the noise from bars on the next street so if your
Looking for a quiet break don't book this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review on our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. We work very hard to ensure that our facilities and service are superior however, it sounds like we fell below your expectations in the bathroom, this will be addressed immediately in house by the team.
Thank you once again and we do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    290
    249
    124
    94
See reviews for
86
406
48
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We arrived very late due to the traffic but the staff were very welcoming and very cheerful. The hotel was very nicely decorated. The bedrooms were very clean, so we can't understand why some people have complained about the size of the room, they are not living in their rooms. Our only niggle and I mean niggle is we both wish the shower was a little higher. The staff went above and beyond and always had time for you. There was two lads who had only been there a few days but even though they were learning the ropes they always had a smile on their faces and if they were unsure what the answer was they went and asked. The food was lovely and very reasonable. The night life is a lot to be desired, I felt saver in the hotel! I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I do hope the other hotels in the chain are warm and inviting as this one. Sara and John

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will pass on your comments to the team especially the new starters, always nice to receive such positive feedback when they have only been with us a few days, we know we have then made the right choice when choosing them to join out team.
Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived nearly an hour and half early and just asked if we could park the car in the car park till 2 before we checked in (2pm check in time), but the receptionist check us in there and then ;-) she was very helpfull and couldnt help us enough, even gave us advice of where to go for a nice drink & eats without us asking (I have been to Carlisle many times). we were on the top floor on this occassion rm 311, I was a little dissappointed when we got inside.
1. Toothpaste in the sink
2. Hairs on toilet
3. black finger prints on door casing
4. dusty and the phone hadnt been cleaned for ages.

But I went down to see the receptionist and explained my concerns, Nothing was too much trouble, she was very sorry and moved us to another room a couple of doors down which wasnt much better than the first !! anyway she upgraded us to superior room which was lovely and clean. Please dont let these points put you off staying here as it is a lovely hotel, staff are very accommodating and the breakfasts are lovely ;-) they do their best to please if your not happy with anything.

I have stayed here quiet a few times now and its always my first choice when Im staying in Carlisle, give it a try. ;-)

Room Tip: Spend the little extra to get a better rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ema-J99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank your for your review I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff looked after you however I am very disappointed with the comments regarding the room allocated and offer my sincere apologies. Rest assured that these will be dealt with immediately and steps taken to ensure that there can be no reoccurrences. Having stayed with us before you will know that this is not out normal standards.
Once again thank you for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Booked the hallmark hotel for august bank holiday sunday. Had used a wowcher deal, glad only paid £59 as it is certainly not worth full price. Our room had been recently refurbised, but it was not to a good standard they had spend money on swish bedding and a tv surround but the room was very dirty, a thick layer of dust on everything and the bathroom had seen better days, certainly not what i expect from this type of hotel. Also as there was a wedding on there was absolutley nowhere to sit downstairs, so were stuck in our room as had a little one so couldnt go far. On a positive note the staff were lovely, especially the blonde girl who helped us with a cot for our room and spent time to make sure our son was okay at breakfast. So overall okay but wont be returning as there standard prices are too high for what they offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your review my sincere apologies for the issues encountered in the room, these will be dealt with immediately by myself and the Head Housekeeper.
I am very glad to hear that you were looked after during your stay and will pass on your thanks to the persons involved.
The hotel is a busy hotel that caters for various groups of people, weddings and other functions, I am sorry if these impeded on your stay in any way.
Once again thank you for your review and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Went on a one nt special DBB, our room was lovely clean only down fall was looking out of window onto a brick wall, the staff great they always grated you with a smile and ever so helpful. we had our evening meal in the hotel, it was FAB, I had lamb you didn't need a knife the meat just fell of the bone and the puddings which are my best thing on the menu well they were to die for Whoopee

Room Tip: Don't take the car the train is right next door to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCF99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the staff especially the Kitchen, they will be delighted that you enjoyed your food so much.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards

Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

50 plus Welsh family and friends stayed here for my sisters wedding, from 07/09/12-09-09-12.
The hotel was fantastic, and catererd to all our demands. The rooms were spotless and spacious. The staff were brilliant all throughout, to the barmen working until the last of us were going to bed at 4am, to the catering staff who served the wedding food.
Breakfast is great at this hotel too. Well worth the money.
After my sister got married at Anvil Hall, Gretna Green we arrived back to the hotel where the staff had laid a red carpet outside the hotel and served us bucks fizz which was a lovely touch.
The wedding food was beautiful at this hotel and they do go the extra mile for you. Thank you Angus and staff, Perfect weekend.
Thank you Hallmark Hotel for a fantastic time :-)

The only downfalls were, the guests staying at the front of the hotel found it hard to sleep due to the noise from outside (but this is something the hotel have no control over) and the other was the drinks were quite pricey, but we were at a wedding at the end of the day, so was not too bothered.
There is no swimming pool at this hotel, it's at the sister hotel about a mile up the road,
all in all I would 100% recommend this hotel for a wedding party.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdiosWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic review and I glad that you and your guests enjoyed the wedding and I will pass on your special thanks to Angus, he will be delighted.
We wish your all the happiness in the future and we do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel, maybe for your first anniversary!

Our very best wishes


Claire and the Team at the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamilton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed previously returned for 1 night lovely room, dinner and b/fast fab, attentive staff and great location will def return.The hotel as spotless nice bar to sit and have adrink very central for all ammenities and if you want a rest from driving literally 2 mins from train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hall1qy, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Carlisle, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank your for lovely review delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your comments to the team.
Look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards


Claire Flint
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Carlisle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Carlisle

Property: Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Address: Court Square, Carlisle CA1 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Carlisle 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is an elegant Victorian building dating from 1859. With a prime city centre location fronting Carlisle's historic Court Square and next door to the railway station, the Hallmark Hotel Carlisle is truly one of the most convenient hotels in the city. Business and leisure guests will benefit from free WiFi, excellent customer service and delicious food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Carlisle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing