We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Premier Inn consistancy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Usual Premier Inn consistancy”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stopped here before.The good thing about premier inns is you know what to expect.Clean rooms good basic facilities.Food pleasant pub grub standard evening meal.Good buffet breakfast with decent ingrediants.Very pleasant local staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank epocmot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I’m pleased that we met with your usual expectations for Premier Inn and that you found your room clean and comfortable and the team helpful. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal in the Thyme Restaurant and had a good quality breakfast to start your day. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    363
    170
    63
    33
See reviews for
309
402
52
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Good hotel, ideal base to stop off during long journey. Ideal for meeting up with friends. Good location. I would recommend this hotel for couples or families. I think the menu in the bar could be reviewed to give a better variety as not everyone wants to sit in a restaurant.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendersDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I do agree we are in an ideal location for breaking up a long journey on the motorway and just a short drive into Carlisle city centre if you ever want to go and explore. You’ll be pleased to be hear that the bar menu is under review, we do currently offer the full restaurant menu in the bar before 7pm most evenings. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here as a last-minute booking on an extremely stormy night - was unable to get home. Despite turning up at 0100, the staff were friendly and attentive, and asked if there was anyone I needed to contact to get home.

The hotel design is a little odd. I think that this hotel used to be a Holiday Inn or similar, as the layout is not the same as others - you actually have to go downstairs to get to the rooms! The communal areas are in some places in need of updating, but I am sure that Premier Inn are onto this!

Had an excellent night's sleep with a good shower/bath. Sadly some drunken idiot knocked on my door at 5am, but this could happen anywhere and is not the fault of the hotel!

Room Tip: If you are disabled, have a care as there is no lift to the main room corridor. There is a large &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undercovercarrot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that the team looked after you well and were friendly and attentive, I do hope you had a safe journey home in the end during the exceptionally bad weather we had! I’m delighted that we delivered on our good night guarantee and that you had an excellent night’s sleep despite being disturbed by a worst for wear guest. Reception are always on hand 24-7 if you ever has this problem again. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I were on a 2 night break to Carlisle and whilst doing a bit of shopping at the retail park we thought a quick lunch and a beer. Our first impressions of the building created all sorts of questions from a factory to a school even a mental hospital but step inside and you enter a different world this is a very nice place indeed. We entered the Thyme bar and we were greeted by Shirley as our stay progressed Shirley was the star of the show she never stopped always cheery always working hard serving drinks and food and a quick chat in between well done you. The food was great as well superbly presented and very tasty. On departure A quick chat to the wonderful lady on reception who told us about the building in its formal life and we were introduced to the head chef who was sadly supervising as he had a broken arm we wish him well. Full marks to this hotel wish we stayed here and sorry for suggesting it was a mental hospital in its formal life (oops).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I do agree that on first impressions we certainly don’t look like a Premier Inn but I’m pleased that you were impressed with the interior. I will pass on your kind comments to Shirley who I am sure will be delighted, the team work hard to ensure we deliver the best possible service to all of guests and it’s always wonderful to see this recognised. I do hope that you choose to stay at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 when you are next visiting and we look forward to welcoming you.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A really well placed Premier Inn. Lovely staff and very welcoming. Breakfast was excellent as usual. Parking was interesting as the Reception is quite a walk, especially if its raining. However there is a drop off area close to the Reception which was very useful also if you parked at the back of the hotel there was another exit from the Reception to the back car park. When booking note that the family rooms are not with the normal rooms, they are just a short walk away. My Husband was disappointed with only 30 mins free WiFi. Personally it was a pleasure to have his full attention so I didn't miss it. Premier Inn honour their good night guarantee. If ever we are back in Carlisle we will definitely stay again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ess1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear that we delivered on our good night guarantee and that you found the team lovely and welcoming and you enjoyed an excellent breakfast to start your day. Having your husband’s full attention sounds like a bonus however we do offer a further 24 hours access for just £3 if required. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed one night one way home from holiday. Staff welcoming, room rather warm but fine otherwise. Bed comfy but pillows not as good as other Premier Inns. Struggled with shower but got there in the end. Breakfast lovely. Good place for stopover

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelling0ldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you found the team welcoming, bed nice and comfortable and you enjoyed a lovely breakfast before continuing on your journey. We do use the same pillows as the other Premier Inns, in the future please do not hesitate to mention this to reception and we can get you some different firmer or softer pillows. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

never stop anywhere else only at the best.
best of service and first class food.allways open I can come and go as I please. the staff are allways pleasent and correct at all times, never had a bad nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorene M, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. It’s great to read such positive feedback- the team work very hard to ensure we deliver a fantastic service to each and every guest and I am delighted that you feel we achieve this. I look forward to welcoming you back to Carlisle M6 Jct44 in the future.

Kind Regards,

Dorene McDavid
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing