We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Peterhead
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great place to stay plenty parking good rooms freindly staff good bar and good breakfast right next to motorway so you dont have to come to far of the road retail park just next door big asda not far away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and location convenient. It’s also great to hear you were happy with the service in our bar and restaurant. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    363
    170
    63
    33
See reviews for
309
402
52
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed at this Premier Inn years ago ... it has since been re-furbished and the bathroom is now a natty shower room ... but they forgot to deal with the old TV!
Reception friendly and efficient. Cannot comment on the restaurant, but it looked very smart.
Parking is free but all the way round the hotel but you can drive up to reception to drop your bags and book in BEFORE you park up! Turning the car in that area is not a problem.
Reverse the routine on booking out and you will find no-one objects, and it makes life easy.
Our room was on the small side and the bed was rather firm, but the carpet looked brand new.
This Premier Inn is just off the J44 turn-off on the M6, but road noise is not an issue.
It is an ideal stop-over if you are on your way up to Scotland and/or you can get to the centre of Carlisle city very easily.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgiahay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff friendly and efficient and the rooms nice and quiet. Fortunately we are in line for another refurbishment in the near future which will be bring the newer flat screen televisions. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 when you are next travelling to or from Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here as a journey break on our way from Inverness to London. We checked in after 11.00pm. It was raining heavily, and the nearest car parking spot was furthest away from reception, so we looked like drowned rats!

Gentleman on reception was welcoming, and great banter. He explained everything we needed to know, told us about the good night's sleep deal that He and Lenny Henry guaranteed, and gave directions to our rooms.

Our rooms were smart and comfortable, with fans provided for warm nights. Lots of spiders and older looking webs though - something the hotel may want to look into.

Breakfast was fantastic, couldn't fault it, and it set us up for the rest of our journey.

Note to the Manager : Hank on to that man on reception! Best receptionist of all the Premier Inns we visited this Summer (we used Premier exclusively this year when touring)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room comfortable. Richard the receptionist is delighted by your comments, it’s always wonderful to receive lovely feedback about our team members. I’ll certainly have our head housekeeper look into the problem you have mentioned with the spiders- I have a big fear myself so I can assure you I’ll be keen to get rid of them! I hope to welcome you and your family back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

After being badly let down by another hotel under a different brand which had double booked our room (twice!), my wife and I ended up at a Premiere Inn in Cumbernauld. Although they were full, the receptionist would not let us leave till she had found us a place for the night. She initially tried for something closer, but we ended up in Carlisle, which was at least on the way home. There, too, the staff were professional, friendly and thoughtful - a very welcome difference from our experience with the other hotel branch... I will certainly be using Premiere Inn in the future.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased that the receptionist at another Premier Inn managed to make you a reservation for ours and that you found our team friendly and thoughtful. I am delighted to hear that you will use Premier Inns again in the future, you certainly won’t have any over-booking issues with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

8 people , two family rooms ( a little bit of a walk ) ,16 meals ,and not a single complaint !! evening meal superb, breakfast buffet very good ,nothing too much trouble .,service spot on ,(thanks Rachael and your friends ) check in fast and friendly ,beds comfortable ,bar nice ,children welcomed .we will be back (, and all for 29 £ per room per night )

Room Tip: the family rooms we have been allocated have always been down a long corridor ,but it is very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobtheb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you returned to our Premier Inn and have written another wonderful review! It’s great to hear your party enjoyed your dinner and breakfast, found the rooms clean and comfortable and staff friendly and helpful, I’ll certainly pass on your compliments to Rachel and the team. Unfortunately all of our family rooms are at the far end of the corridor but please do not hesitate to ask a member of the team for a hand with any luggage should you need it. I hope to welcome you back to Carlisle M6 Jct 44 for a third visit in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
149 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

You know what you are going to get when you book a premier inn. On arrival our room wasn't quite ready not a problem we sat in the bar area didn't wait long and the room was ready. Couldn't get a drink as the bar wasn't open which we thought was a bit strange for a Sat afternoon? Anyway room as expected but soap dispenser didn't work got a member of house keeping who tried to repair it but couldn't. I asked if they had a bar of soap but they didn't. Was told to just use it from the container which was slightly difficult as it is supposed to come out like a mousse however it was only for one night so not a problem. Bed was terrible every time my partner moved I was bounced into the air! Not impressed with the bed at all. Didn't like to complain when asked if everything was ok I didn't want them thinking I was after a free night, so just said everything was fine. Which really it was cant moan for the price you pay. Think Internet should be free and not have to pay for it. You do get 30mins but that is soon gone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris69kidderminster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part. Due to lack of demand our bar area does not open until 3:30pm on a weekend however it is open from 8am during the week. I am sorry to hear that you had problems with your soap dispenser, to be inline with Premier Inn’s brand standards we are unable to offer alternatives however we do now double check the dispensers each morning so hopefully this problem shouldn’t happen again. I am also sorry to hear that you felt you couldn’t claim under our good night guarantee, I can assure you our reception team would have been happy to help and if you do still wish to claim please do not hesitate to contact us. I hope to welcome you back to Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil Somerset
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

stop over for one night very good service and breakfast good size room clean not much to do in the area.Good place for a stop over only.We were travelling on the next day so it didn't matter but wouldn't have stayed more than one night.



  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxwellnetball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found your room clean and comfortable and you were happy with the service. I hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the near future. Although we are mainly used as stop over for journeys to and from Scotland we are situated just 2 ½ miles from Carlisle City Centre, should you visit again reception can always advise on things to do and see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing