We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good motorway stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Good motorway stopover”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stopped overnight from Scotland en route to Lake District. Easy access. Parking good. Staff helpful. Room nicely appointed. No security problems. No noise issues. Continental breakfast well stocked and outstanding value (5.25 GBP).

Room Tip: Ground floor fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that you found our Premier Inn a nice convenient place to stay to break up your journey and very pleased you managed to enjoy a good breakfast to start your day! I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 on your next journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    363
    170
    63
    33
See reviews for
309
402
52
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here at the end of May beginning of June. We were in room 25 which is a ground floor bedroom facing the main car park. There is another car park behind the hotel which we used after the first night as there was more room to park. You can also enter the hotel from the rear car park. Room was basic as they usually are. We found the bed smaller than other premier inns we have stayed at. However it was clean and served its purpose. The one gripe I have with premier inns is that they do not have any drawer space, therefore if you stay more than one night there is nowhere to put your underwear etc. Although we were overlooking the main car park, we didn't have any trouble with a lot of noise as people were exiting the restaurant. The last night we were there the air conditioning would not go off in the bathroom, but when we reported it to reception the next day we were given our money back for the night. I think this is brilliant - no quibble.
There is a stair lift from reception to the ground floor (approx. 6 steps) but I do no know if there is one to the first floor.
The restaurant is their own and is called Thyme - the restaurant was very good, plenty of space between tables so you didn't feel cramped in. Food was cooked well. Had to ask to move tables though as I found the air conditioning rather chilly - but that's just me.
We will be staying here again.
I have noticed some people have complained about the road noise. I do have to say that we had our windows closed all night and didn't have a problem with noise whatsoever.

Room Tip: Ground floor room 25 was good. There is a stairlift (approx. 6 steps) from reception to ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that we met with your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry that you had a problem with the bathroom extractor fan on your last night but I'm very pleased that you benefited from our Good Night Guarantee, this is exactly what it is there for! I'll certainly pass on your kind comments about the restaurant to our Food and Beverage team. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed there one night as a midway break to the Highlands. Despite being a purpose built hotel with 3 floors there is NO LIFT. We had been given a 2nd floor room. My wife cannot manage stairs and by some heroic juggling, there were a number of parties staying who wanted adjoining rooms, the staff managed to get us a room on the ground floor (many thanks Susan). But even then the "ground" floor was down several steps from reception. We never thought to mention the stairs issue because we did not believe a purpose built hotel in the 21st century wouldn't have a lift. Even Fawlty Towers had a lift.

From what it says on this page, it seems Premier Inns took this over from Holiday Inns. That was a mistake guys. No way is this up to Premier Inns' usual specifications.

Apart from that, the room was comfortable but a bit noisy (but then you are between a Motorway and a Retail Park). Service was good and so was the food. There's a very nice bar too.

Just a pity about the lift.

Room Tip: If you can't manage stairs, make sure you get a ground floor room - there's a wheelchair lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. As you have pointed out, we are not a purpose built Premier Inn and unfortunately we do not have a lift. This is something we are looking into for the future. In the mean time our reception team are more than happy to allocate ground floor rooms if you contact us in advance. I am however, delighted that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. I do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at many premier inns, this one certainly doesnt meet the usual standard. Small unclean room, very hot and no fan/ac. Noisy outside all night and a cold shower! At least its handy for the motorway

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzehol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very sorry that on this occasion we failed to deliver on our good night guarantee and that we did not meet with your expectations. Unfortunately we are a relatively old building and we do not have the luxury of air conditioning however there should have been a fan in your room, I am sorry if this was not the case. If you wish to further discuss any of the other issues you have mentioned, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at the hotel and the reception team will be more than happy to help. I do hope that we can perhaps restore your faith and welcome you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct 44 in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Visited on the way to Scotland. We had problems with noise and an issue with the plumbing but the service received was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable but the road was quite noisy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hengrovegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am pleased that we met with your expectations for the most part on this occasion. Unfortunately we have recently had some issues with our boilers however they are in the process of being repaired and you shouldn't experience these problems again should you decide to stay with us in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn M6 Jct 44.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We liked this Premier Inn, and for £29 was a real bargain. We had had a long day and received a nice greeting when we arrived and the room was comfortable. The only down side was we had to go down some stairs and then up some stairs to get to our room. I think there was help for disable people, but the installation of a lift would be a good idea, or at least only one flight of stairs somehow.

It was late and we were tired and hungry when we arrived, but were served promptly and efficiently with a main course and wine. The Thyme restaurant is very good. The breakfast was good value and, again, the staff were very pleasant.

So well done Premier Inn Carlisle. You lost a point because of the stairs issue which is a problem when you are tired and hungry, but overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ObanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted that we met with your expectations and that you were pleased with the hotel and restaurant service. As you may be aware, we are not a purpose built Premier Inn which unfortunately means we do have more stairs then you would typically expect, however our reception team will be more than happy to allocate you a room close to reception if you call us in advance. I look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This Premier Inn was not to the expected standard of a Premier Inn, from the outside the looked run down and so was the inside (mostly the reception and hotel was okay). The room was in need of a refresh, but just a standard room. But the toilet would not flush also the shower would one second, be at an unbearably hot temperature the next second it would be stone cold. We where extremely let down by this Premier Inn, and is not up to standard. Also when we went to complain we where just told by the receptionist, "I will report it." Not exactly very helpful. So overall we will not be returning to this Premier Inn and we will now be considering other hotel chains and not just Premier Inn. Extremely Dissatisfied.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2468mairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle (M6 Jct42) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Carlisle Central Hotel
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing