We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First stay at a Premier Inn but not the last!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First stay at a Premier Inn but not the last!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Have never stayed at a Premier Inn and after staying at a Days Inn nearby with the worst food facilities we've ever experienced were we a little dubious but very pleasantly surprised! The room was clean and comfortable and the bar and restaurant (in the same building) were decorated in a relaxed and modern style. Without exception, all the staff we encountered were very friendly and eager to please. We opted for the dinner/breakfast deal at £22.00 per person for a 3-course meal with glass of wine or a pint and full English breakfast and wondered what we would get for that but, again, a pleasant surprise. The only reason I haven't given this a '5' is because a little bit of TLC in the rooms would just make that little difference - flat screen TV, decor, etc.

Would definitely book at this or any other Premier Inn again.

Plea to Manager of this and many other hotels: Pleeeease - put two comfortable chairs in double rooms to save the fight over who has that one and who has the desk-type chair or, even worse, a stool with no back - not great for relaxing after a long drive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to send in your comments, it is always nice to hear that people using our hotel group for the first time have had a positive experience, here at Carlisle JCT44 we pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    369
    170
    64
    34
See reviews for
312
407
53
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Very good and friendly staff in hotel and restaurant. Excellent position if just passing through. However, hotel really is due for refurbishment. The cathode ray TV's are now historical curiosities. Flushing the toilet requires far too sure a wrist action. The carpet in the halls at least needs to be replaced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olderfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, although I am sorry we did not reach your expectations, we are not a purpose built Premier Inn and are currently in line for a full refurbishment, this however takes time as we are such a large group of Hotels. I was pleased to read that our staff did however come up to standard as we do pride ourselves on the quality of our staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the worst Premier Inn that we have stayed in and we have stayed in lots this year. Even driving up to this Premier Inn we thought we was at the wrong place as the outside decor and windows was not the standard Premier inn style, but now we know it was a former Holiday Inn and you can't have tell. We where in 312 which was a family room just walking down to the room right at the bottom of the hotel all you could smell was the drains and boy did they smell terrible...
The bathroom looked like it had not been cleaned no hand or shower soap in any dispensers even when it was reported earlier in the night we where promised it would be sorted but when we came back to our room nothing had been done. Even the smell in the bathroom was the disgusting drains smell so we had to fill up the basin and bath to try to stop the smells. We reported the smells to the reception and they came down to spray the plugholes but said we could not be moved because the hotel was fully booked out, The dressing table nearly collapsed and wobbled so badly that I did not put anything on it. As for the bed it was very tired and rocked backwards and forwards every time you turned over we felt like we where on a ship. We had no sleep at all that night due to the bed and the bad smelling drains but as always the premier inn does the good night policy and refunded our payment the next day. But certainly one to avoid for the future and was only slapped over with purple for the premier inn standard colour but unfortunately it did not stand up to it's usual fantastic Premier Inn standard..

Room Tip: do not let them put you in room 312...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. At Premier Inn we pride ourselves on offering our guests the highest possible standards and I am sorry that on this occasion this has not been the case. I will pass on your comments and ensure the issues you experienced are addressed straight away. I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Premier Inn again in the future.

Kind Regards

Sam Grieve
Conference & Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
195 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having stayed at a number of Premier Inns in the last couple of years I'd say this one had the friendliest and most helpful staff. Hotel somewhat older than others I've used and, as has been noted already, the rooms are a little smaller than some. Dinner didn't offer a great choice for fish-eaters and breakfast wasn't brilliant but overall as a place to stay en route to elsewhere, in a quiet location very close the the M6 it isn't a bad choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, here at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 JCT 44 we pride ourselves on our friendly and attentive staff and I am pleased that we met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfriesshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am only commenting on the thyme restaurant and bar. Stopped here for a "quick bite" and ordered two coffees and two sandwiches. After twenty five minutes and nothing had appeared I went up to the bar to ask what was happening. I was assured that my coffees and sandwiches would be with us shortly. The coffees arrived and were fine, and then the sandwiches arrived. We had ordered "hot" bacon, lettuce and tomato sandwiches but the bacon was stone cold! After the long wait (over 30minutes), we just asked for our money back as we had had enough. The duty manager apologised and asked if she could get us fresh complimentary sandwiches which we reluctantly agreed. She said that we would get our monies back as well. The sandwiches arrived promptly, but without knives and forks for the small side salad, nor any sauces etc! The sandwiches were not worth the money at all and when it was time to get our monies back no one knew how to do this! Again we had to wait until they had called another hotel and then they called back to tell them how to do this - an absolute shambles.

I don't blame the guy behind the bar (who said he was fairly new) as he was on his own having to take orders, serve at the bar, make Costa coffees/teas, collect the food and bring it to the table, clear tables etc. He should have had help as there was some kind of meeting going on in the conference room. Will we be back - most certainly not.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadaDumfriesshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel met your expectations.

Please accept my apologies for the poor service you received in the restaurant.
Your comments regarding this have been duly noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at the hotel.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Would recommend 100 percent . Staff extremly friendly. Rooms spacious and clean. Suitable for families . Food plentiful and presentation excellent . This visit was first time but would return. Although if someone had disabilty they find stairs differcult even though ther is a chair lift for wheelchairs on lower floor .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesMirror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
meetingsmgrcarlisle, Front Office Manager at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, I am so sorry we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Had the mis-fortune to stay one night.Only saving grace was Richard who checked us is he was very cheerful..No lifts even ground floor was down several steps.Luggage was left in a secure room, which turned out to be part of their offices.Do not class this as secure..Corridors smelt. Room especially bathroom very dirty. We were promised help with our luggage next morning - not forth coming. Certainly not worth the £59.00 it cost.Was only good for our onward travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 291margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.
Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
2.7 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,358 reviews
1.6 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
603 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
957 reviews
9.5 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle M6
Travelodge Carlisle M6
#1 of 1 in Southwaite
179 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Todhills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel
Address: Parkhouse Road | Kingstown, Carlisle CA3 0JR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Carlisle)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're planning a big event, you want a big hotel. Premier Inn Hotel Carlisle M6 Jct 44 is the largest hotel in Cumbria, and ideally situated for the Lake District and Scotland. So if you're travelling with a big group, or you're just looking for the perfect stop over, we're the ideal choice. The fun comes in all shapes and sizes in Carlisle. Live it large on Lake Windermere, with a boat trip up the UK's biggest natural lake. Or take a little trip back in time in time along Hadrian's Wall. Climb England's highest peak, or see an exhibition of small but perfectly formed objects at Tullie House Museum. Then recharge your batteries with a meal at our restaurant, and a night in our hugely comfy beds. This hotel has 7 air conditioned meeting rooms, which can accommodate up to 110 delegates. View real time availability and book a meeting room through our website. Directions: Leave M6 J44, follow A7 for Carlisle. Turn right at the first set of traffic lights and then take the first right. This takes you into the hotel car park. Transport and local information: Tullie House Museum & Art Gallery Carlisle Castle Gretna Green & The Blacksmiths Anvil Carlisle Train Station 2.5 miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Carlisle M6 Jct44 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Carlisle (m6, Jct 44) Hotel Carlisle
Premier Inn m6 j44

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing