We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Indian restaurant in Cumbria”

Rahi at the Waterloo
Ranked #43 of 343 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Carlisle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The best Indian restaurant in Cumbria”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I regularly visit this place for a curry . It is superb. Perhaps a little chilly sitting next to the Windows in winter time, but the warm welcome that you will receive more than makes up for it. The food is superb. Everything is cooked to order. The meat is succulent. The naans are huge. Everything is just brilliant. Can't wait to go back

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C0ley44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    34
    14
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really Good Food and great service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have returned to the Rahi having dined there just after it opened. Quite enjoyed it the first time but this time was even better. Great Food , greta service and reasonable prices - not much more to say

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great service great food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here for meals and take aways a good few times. Great food great service. Will be returning soon

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely superb”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Went here last night with a friend, it's the second time we've been here and both times it has been second to none. The food is to die for, by far the best Indian restaurant in the Carlisle area. The staff are extremely courteous and knowledgable, giving their own personal suggestions whenever you're struggling to decide what to eat. I recommend this restaurant to anyone seeking authentic Indian cuisine in a lovely atmosphere.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“1st visit to the Rahi at the Waterloo”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

It was a last minute idea New Years eve 2012,i don't know much about Indian food,but i phoned to book a table they said they were fully booked up,he must of felt a bit sorry for me because in the end he said we will fit you in for 9.30pm.When we got there we sat in the bar area,i told them i don't know much about their food,they were really helpful,they went through their menu telling us about their different taste's & strength's.In the end i went for the Tandoori chicken garlic naga,my partner had chicken kurma,the food was fantastic & it's a family run business & they are really nice people,we had such a good time with them.Can't wait to go back..

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicnoble1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rahi at the Waterloo also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Rahi at the Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing