We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
County Hotel
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My Husband and I have just returned from this hotel after spending a few days there . From the moment we arrive the staff couldn't do enough for us, very helpful at the reception only a few minutes and we had our key..The Hotel might be a bit dated but it's clean , beds and room was clean and tidy, It's very handy for the town centre, train station, Bars,we will be back at this hotel again, oh the breakfast was nice and plenty of it,

Room Tip: Round the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angcon6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    99
    120
    84
    119
See reviews for
34
168
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed over a weekend for two nights. The hotel was an ideal location for me as I travelled to Carlisle by train – the hotel is opposite the train station, literally a 1 minute walk and located on a main high street in the town centre. Overall I liked the hotel. It is very dated but being an older hotel it had a lot of character. My room was small but perfect for my needs. Had a nice flat screen tv which included the Sky News channel, which for me was a bonus. There were tea / coffee facilities, biscuits, shower gel, soap and shampoo provided. My room was on the busy main road. If staying at the weekend, may want to ask for a room at the back of the hotel due to noise from clubbers etc on the high street, although I didn’t have any major problems. I booked directly through the hotel website, which was offering a discount on the site at the time of booking and included full English breakfast. The buffet breakfast was good and included cooked food - eggs, bacon, sausages, toast etc, yoghurts, cereal, fruit, fruit juice, tea and coffee. If I am in Carlisle in the future, I would definitely stay here again - I felt it was reasonably priced compared to other chain hotels and as stated was an ideal location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main street if going at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

On first impression inside the foyer, which we came into from the rear(free) car park the hotel looked like it had had a recent refurb this however was short live as one you started up the stairs...you could see the general run down appearance of the hotel. Our room (215) had a strange smell like musty furniture...the bed however was comfortable and clean unlike the bathroom which seemed to smell of poo and stale pee , and was overdue for renovation a long time ago. The shower did not work and the ceiling was peeling and watermarked.
Do not be fooled by the pictures on Facebook.
We had breakfast in a well appointed dining room which was basic but very nice I have got to say
after all the other faults this was a relief.
The street below was very noisy until 4am which we kind of expected.
If your looking for a quite night in a nice hotel ..this is NOT for you.
Other Inconsiderate Guests were smoking in their rooms Are there no smoke detectors?
We were asked to pay on arrival which seems strange...but if we saw the room before we paid we would have asked for a substantial reduction or the room that was refurbished.
I feel the staff did their best but seem to be so stretched I feel this is why there are so many problems.

Room Tip: Ask To view before You Pay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffredcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Carlisle hotels

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location.... Me and my boyfriend booked this for last weekend. we were out for dinner, cinema then drinks, the reason we chose this hotel meant we didnt need to walk far as the location for pubs, train station is fantastic.

The hotel....is very dated, the first floor looks like it has been renovated and you can see this when walking up the stairs as it has a nice carpet and bannister, then the second floor it just looks soo scabby, the carpets are ripped, someone had been sick on the landing, looked like it was there for atleast a day. Got to our room, it was big enough couldnt fault that, but it smelled horrible, very very strong smell of urine, we sprayed some air freshner before we went out but when came back it was still really strong. however the room a could learn to live with as was only there for 1 night.

The staff werent very friendly either but as i said wasnt really bothered. There werent many spaces for us to park the car either.

This is definatly a hotel for the younger clubbers, me and my boyfriend are in our 20s and we were out for a few drinks so we dont mind people coming in late, but the noise was unreal, some of the other guests had no respect, i know this isnt the hotels fault, but the walls are very thin.

I would only ever stay here again if it was with a group of friends for a night out, not a romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missxtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Sadly, we did not recognize the County Hotel, Carlisle we stayed in from the descriptions and comments on Tripadvisor.
We occupied two rooms during our stay because when we booked we could not book the same room throughout. Our experience of Room 101 differs considerably from that previously reported. The carpet was dirty, the room gloomy and the outlook was over the back car park. The second room we stayed in was on the second floor. It was small, extremely hot and could not be ventilated properly because it was impossible to raise one sash window sufficiently to allow enough air in and the sash cord on the other window was broken so the window could not be opened at all. Even so, there was a great deal of noise from the street outside.
The bathroom area in both rooms was unspeakable - dilapidated, dated and with water damage.
Car parking was somewhat difficult because it was shared with lorries and coaches.
The staff were polite and attentive - trying to make the best of a bad job.
The best feature of the hotel was it's proximity to the station. We will not be staying at the County Hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Good hotel great location ..... The hotel is straight over from the train station and is close to all the shops and nightlife also taxi rank outside the station .... And cash machine in the station this hotel is ok I had a nice room that faced onto the main street .. Nice and bright and cool ..... The welcome we got was luke warm / cold off girl at reception she doesnt seem to have people skills at all to be on reception no welcome at all basic breakfast hotel smells musky /old needs some work done to it..... My room had wasps in it .... Everytime I got rid of 1 another wud be in my room...... My room was 219 nice enough but £65 a bit much for this hotel...... Great location. Just need someone with some sparkle on reception as its not pleasant checking in with someone with miss glum 2013

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

On initial arrival the outside looks very dated , once inside the décor was very swish our room ( 101 ) was very spacious clean and tidy.
The reception were very helpful and supplied us with an iron and ironing board within mins of us checking out the room , room was quiet ( Friday night ).
Overall a very pleasant stay.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stewarth63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
Hallmark Hotel Carlisle
#17 of 20 in Carlisle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about County Hotel

Property: County Hotel
Address: 9 Botchergate, Carlisle CA1 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 20 Hotels in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful listed building, the non smoking County Hotel still retains its Georgian Grandeur as well as providing modern spacious accommodation, free wireless internet access in all bedrooms and public areas and conference facilities. Situated in the heart of Carlisle, this 3 star hotel overlooks the splendid twin towers of King Henry VIII's historic Citadel and is opposite the railway station. With 2 miles from junction 43 on M6 the hotel is an ideal base for exploring nearby Gretna, north Cumbria and the Lake District. Open daily for breakfast and dinner the Gallerie Restaurant offers a choice of a la Carte or table d'hote menus, complemented by a good selection of wines and liqueurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
County Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing