We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting friends in Carlisle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Lee Guest House
Ranked #9 of 61 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a lovely stay here for two nights. The host was very chatty and welcoming and we had a fantastic breakfast on both days which was tailored to our request. Good proximity to the centre of Carlisle. Room was large and very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Lizpoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 165 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We recently had a wonderful two night stay here. We stayed in the room which has the four poster bed and it was really comfortable. Room was great and very clean. There was plenty of choice on offer for breakfast and was cooked fresh each morning. There is nothing negative to say about our stay we were left to come and go as we pleased knowing there would be help available if needed. The owners were just so welcoming and friending. The guest house is only a 10 minute walk to the town centre which was really handy as we didn't have to worry about parking and driving. There was also a pub around the corner which served lovely food meaning we didn't need to go far. We would def return to Carlisle for another trip and would be looking to stay here in future would definitely reccommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the 4 poster bed and it was really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StacyR83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

An excellent stay. A very welcoming and friendly guest house. It was our first stay and we felt very much at home. The room was very comfortable, very clean to an excellent standard. We had a good long weekend. We shall return for future breaks.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mallinson15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you or your lovely review, glad you enjoyed your weekend and hope to see you again in the future. Debbie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed at Fern Lee on previous occasions but not since Debbie and family took over. I was made to feel very welcome from the start. Had 2 different rooms during my stay, both of which were warm and comfortable with bathrooms.
Although I only have a light breakfast it was tasty and plentyful.
Fern Lee is idealy located to Carlisle centre but just far enough out to be peaceful and cosy.
Plenty of on site parking which is always a bonus.
Will definitely return next time in Carlisle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank R B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This a very smart small hotel. Very friendly and they serve up an excellent breakfast. It is ideally located for both the very interesting border city of Carlisle and the local area of the lake district and the surrounding border countryside including Hadrian's Wall. This will always be my first choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dusty861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Warm friendly welcome whilst remaining unobtrusive. Excellent facilities and tasteful decor will be enjoyed at this fine example of a period house with character, whilst providing the convenience of modern amenities. On site parking and convenient location. I personally feel that Debbie & Mark undercharge given the facilities and service they provide. I'm so pleased to have discovered the Fern Lee on my first visit to Carlisle that it is most definitely my preferred accommodation of choice for future business dealings in the area.

Room Tip: Having now stayed here on two separate occasions both rooms enjoy the benefits associated with the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Everything about this B&B is excellent. Debbie and Nicole made us feel very welcome. The room was comfortable and quiet, a real bonus given it's so close to the centre of Carlisle. Room and facilities excellent. We'll certainly stay again when we come up to this part of the world.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with the four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Murrays02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debs7201, Owner at Fern Lee Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased you felt so comfortable and welcome at Fern Lee. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. All the best, Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.6 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,031 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,419 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#1 of 20 in Carlisle
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Carlisle Central
0.9 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#10 of 20 in Carlisle
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Warwick Lodge Guest House
Warwick Lodge Guest House
#7 of 61 in Carlisle
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Lee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Lee Guest House

Address: 9 St. Aidans Road, Carlisle CA1 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range: $107 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Lee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Lee Guest House is owned and run by Debbie and Mark Armstrong, Fern Lee offers bed and breakfast accommodation in a delightful Victorian property which is well deserving of its 4 Star Visit England Silver Award. We are located in the centre of the historic city of Carlisle with easy access from Junction 43 of the M6 Motorway. The Carlisle railway station and main bus station are only a few minutes walk away. English, Continental or Vegetarian Breakfast is included made from the finest local produce. Short walk to Hadrian's Wall Trail, Riverside Walks, Stonyholme Golf Course, The Sands Centre, College/University and the historic attractions of Carlisle. Lots of excellent restaurants and bars nearby to choose from. Free parking on site. Secure cycle storage. Drying facilities. Books and games available for guest use. Famous Gretna Green - 20 minutes drive away. Lake District National Park - 30 minutes drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fern Lee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing