We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bar great food!!”
Review of Circle Cafe Bar

Circle Cafe Bar
Ranked #69 of 346 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lovely bar great food!!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Me and my partner eat here regular. It never fails to please. The starters and main meals are always of good quality especially the bruschetta and the fajitas!! The service is quick and the place is very hygenic the starter bowls plates etc are taken away pretty quick then your meal will shortly follow!! It also provides a very nice bar to sit talk and enjoy a drink or two after your meal!! It is also good value and reasonably priced..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nixxiemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    44
    16
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great little cafe”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We stay near Carlisle several times a year and wouldn't miss a visit to this cafe/bar. Usually there at lunchtime and think the food is great and so is value. Gorgeous pea and chili soup. Their cakes are excellent and don't give my hubby indigestion! So must use good ingredients. Good atmosphere. Determined to go at night when I think they have music in bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iammadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked lunch here as part of our trip on the Settle and Carlisle line which gave us 90 minutes in Carlisle before our return. We booked it primarily because they allow dogs in the bar part which is unusual for a place that isn't a pub.

It's a bit tucked away in an arcade which doesn't help trade but we were told the shop opposite is going to open up soon.

It was very quiet at noon on a Sunday. The welcome was warm and the dog got a bowl of water. Menu has a good range of food. We had garlic bread with cheese and a rare beef salad for starters. Main course was caesar salad and a steak burger.

The only complaint with the food was that the garlic bread should have had longer in the oven as the middle was cold and the cheese wasn't melted.

Good range of wine and, overall good value for money. The service was wonderful

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Trenean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere & staff”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Have been to the Circle bar lots of times for lunch when visiting Carlisle & it is always brilliant. great food at great prices in a lovely atmosphere & the staff are always so nice in here. A definate place to go for lunch while in Carlisle.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Circle bar best by far”
Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Seth and his team produce great food at great prices and create one of the best atmospheres in Carlisle a must do

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jocampervan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Circle Cafe Bar also viewed

 
Carlisle, Cumbria
Carlisle, Cumbria
 

Been to Circle Cafe Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing