We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”
Review of Carlisle Cathedral

Carlisle Cathedral
Ranked #1 of 48 things to do in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just take a look around this beautiful building and enjoy the peace and tranquility for a few minutes.
The Cathedral is just a small part of the historic centre of Carlisle and together with the Castle and nearby Museum provides an excellent insight into the city's importance over the centuries.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tilly096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    649
    296
    45
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“ancient aura, fascinating exhibit in the Treasury”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Having seen many a church on our trips, we were unusually impressed by the atmosphere of this ancient and actually quite small cathedral. The famous barrel roof over the 14th century choir and the huge stained glass East Window with medieval elements have to be seen, the many photos available online – not even those on the Cathedral’s own website – just don’t do them justice.

We spent a long time in the Treasury - accessible for a nominal fee - reading all the interesting panels interspersed with liturgical artwork and objects of gold and silver of all kinds in the excellent exhibit detailing the history of Christianity in Northumbria. And we learned about how people’s lives and their use of the cathedral changed through the centuries from panels on the cathedral grounds.

Of course the welcomers were very friendly, but that isn’t unusual in English cathedrals. Perhaps the reason why we found this cathedral unusually beautiful was the time of day we visited, on a sunny late afternoon in early spring. We’d certainly stop by again on our next trip to Carlisle to see if the magic of the place is different in the morning in another season.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We spent a lovely hour in the cathedral and really enjoyed it. A fascinating history and the most amazing ceiling ever! Totally worth a visit and not just on a rainy day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great free attraction steeped in history”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What can I say it is beautiful, and dates back centuries. Loads of information available. make sure you look up at the ceiling.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark.dUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have not visited this Cathedral for a number of years.....it is certainly a Gem. The wonderful ceiling.... magnificent windows a truly beautiful building set in the centre of Carlisle. So sad I have not visited before now, but will certainly make up for it in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlisle Cathedral also viewed

 

Been to Carlisle Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing