We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took friends this time and again had a faultless meal”
Review of Holme Bistro - CLOSED

Holme Bistro
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: phone number 01228534851
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Took friends this time and again had a faultless meal”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Thanks again to Holme bistro for making us welcome an providing an excellent service. I ventured onto the specials board and had kangaroo which was fantastic... (Certainly put a spring in my step) don't miss this hidden gem and check online for discount vouchers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sjf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    9
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“tapas night was a revelation.”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I've eaten here but first for tapas. It won't be the last. Choosing what to eat was the hardest bit.steak strips were sooo delicious, obviously good quality steak. prawns really tasty with a spicy jam. my real favourite was the churros and chocolate sauce. Lovely service lovely wine. I couldn't fault it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous tapas”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Excellent choice of tapas. Too hard to choose so we ordered one of each on the menu and did a deal with the chef.! Excellent. wide range of meats, fish and salads. Everything was delicious. well presented and an imaginative fusion of flavours. Couldn't fault it. We all had a super night the service was friendly and efficient and we will be back again soon. Possibly for the steak night.!,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

A little gem tucked away in the Denton Holme area of Carlisle. The food was well cooked and very tasty with "just right" portion sizes. It was my first visit and I would definitely go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bothofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Undoubtedly the best dinning experience in carlisle”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Holme bistro ! Never heard of it until I took by wife for a valentines meal. The food was fresh and A+. Service A+ and atmosphere A+. It's a small family run place, I have to say its on par with David's if not slightly better. (Recommend the steak !). Don't miss it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sjf19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holme Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing