We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warwick Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Warwick Hall
Ranked #10 of 65 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very special experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My wife and I spent a 6-day 'get away from it all' relaxing break at Warwick Hall during late Jan / early Feb 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We have 2 dogs who go everywhere with us and there was no problem having them stay with us. We were in the Riverside suite which is a lovely home-from-home apartment incorporating lounge, kitchen and bedroom with large en-suite bathroom. The apartment was centrally heated throughout with the bonus of an real fireplace in the lounge and a plentiful supply of logs. The lounge was well furnished and equipped with TV, compact stereo music system and IPOD dock. The kitchen was also well equipped and the bedroom had a large very comfortable bed. The bathroom was large with a huge bath - perfect for a relaxing soak.

Service was very friendly with as much or as little attention as we wanted. Breakfast was included in the price and we had full breakfasts every day of our stay, normally in the lovely, spacious dining room but served in the apartment one day at our request. Dinners were also served in the dining room on request and we only had to let Val know in the morning what we would like. We had dinner in the dining room on 3 nights of our stay and each meal was excellent with a good choice of fine wines. Other nights we ate out or self-catered at the apartment. The apartment was cleaned daily.

Although the main aim of our stay was relaxation, we did spend some time visiting tourist attractions which Val recommended and if we didn't fancy going far from the hotel, there are acres of private ground with riverside walks to enjoy with the dogs. Val was also happy to recommend restaurants and pubs for lunch or when we chose to eat out at night.

This hotel may not be the Ritz, but it is a thoroughly pleasant, very relaxing place to stay. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We would not hesitate to make a return visit and thoroughly recommend Warwick Hall to anyone looking for a special holiday experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186543Rjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for this very thoughtful and detailed description of your stay with us. We enjoyed having you stay - it's a genuine pleasure looking after guests who make the most of what we offer. For anyone reading this, if this couple sound like your kind of people, then please come and visit - you'll be our kind of guest too.
Many thanks from all of us at Warwick Hall
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    33
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
101
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked Warwick Hall in January 2013, to run a small event on behalf of a Client.

It was very easy to book this venue, liaising with Val, who quickly understood our requirements. Warwick Hall has a very warming and welcoming feel and Val was very attentive as a host, offering a personalised service. The bedrooms were very comfortable and the catering was excellent throughout the stay. It would benefit from having a bell in the hallway, as there is nobody to greet you when you arrive.

This venue is fantastic value and we would definitely consider using it again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write a review! We really appreciate it.
It is gratifying for us to see regular customers come back again because they found staying here helped them achieve the kind of conference - and the steadily improved attendance numbers - they were looking for.
This is a particularly nice group of people - all working hard to build a new and growing company together. We are getting the benefit of their growth and hard work from their regular visits to us for conferences with their franchise members from Scotland and the north of England - there's nothing more satisfying than seeing hard work and a good idea really paying off. This is the real Britain, in my opinion.
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at Warwick Hall on many occasions in family groups, as a couple and for private hire purposes and have thoroughly enjoyed each visit. The Hall and its grounds are stunning, the breakfasts and food are heaven, the owners and staff are welcoming and gracious hosts. This is the true Country House experience and nowhere else I have stayed can you give you that Lord of the Manor feel quite like Warwick Hall can. And by the way, the Riverside Suite is our favourite!
Steven Bell

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Oh, this is so kind! Thank you! The only thing that soothes the injured feelings of a bad a review is a good kind person taking the trouble to tell the other side story.
By the way, did anyone else notice re the previous unhappy review - I find it curious that they stayed for 4 days if it was so uncongenial - why not check out after the first night? Very odd....
Meanwhile, I will look forward to seeing the Bell family again soon - their house parties are always the v. best. Just what this house is for! she said happily.
Best wishes,
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I try and be very careful when writing these reviews because I am aware of the impact in business if comments made are not valid. Our visit to Carlisle was one of many to our family and friends in the area, thus as a Christmas treat we decided to opt for a more opulent hotel, and on reading the reviews and looking at the website became very excited about our stay, conjuring images of festive jollity, seasonal decorations, relaxing restaurant and quiet drinks in the bar with fellow guests.

I am afraid none of this lived up to expectations. Very sadly I have to say that this is in fact NOT a hotel but merely a B&B, set in the shabby chic grandeur of a country house, lacking in the most basic of amenities.

We were hit by the tremendous monsoon with harsh rain making the usual 7 hour journey even longer and more tiring with an added delay trying to find the Warwick Hall in the lashing wet. We finally arrived at 7.45pm to a large building in near darkness, the front door locked and a note upon it that said 'I may be in the garden ring XXXX mobile, Valerie'. Eventually a man opened the door with the greeting ' My wife did not tell me we had anyone staying tonight'.

Valerie showed us to the River Suite, which was not connected to the main building, but round the side of the house very much like a self-catering apartment with a kitchen. It was very nice, spacious, but the decor and furniture were not of the quality expected for £180 per night. However on the bright side, the bed (garish new brass frame excluded) was the best thing ever, there was plenty of hot water and a lovely view of the river but overall not good value for our 4 night stay.

Breakfast was served in the main house, and absolutely fine, but we felt like we were in a private house, no other guests, no bar or atmosphere, and apart from a large Christmas tree in the foyer, it could have been any winters stay. We had planned to ask various family members over for drinks, afternoon tea, or a meal, but we were told there was no catering facilities available. We were also told that if we they had advance warning they could have prepared something but it was not the usual remit.

If we had known there was no bar or restaurant we would definitely not have stayed here as we wanted a hotel where we could have family/friends over, and where we could eat/drink to avoiding driving. As it happened apart from the first night the local restaurant was full (weekend before Christmas) so it was very disappointing, and a dry festive experience! I believe they do put on food for guests, and possibly provide alcohol, but it seems their main business is wedding events, and on our last day we did see the house magnificently festooned with wonderful decorations in preparation of one.

Finally, the worst insult, on day two of a four night stay, we were asked if we could check out by 10am, but as it was a Sunday, we were on our Christmas holiday, it seemed just the last straw of a very disappointing stay. We been fortunate to stay in many country house hotels, and this is one we would not come back to. On looking at the website again it has been very cleverly done to insinuate many things that it is not.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank windsor10yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Oh, dear....what can I say - this is not the sort of customer who likes staying here. I'm pleased they were comfortable - (it's a very good bed in the River Suite). I'm pleased they were nice and warm. I hope they enjoyed the open fire with the unlimited supply of logs. I hope they got a chance to walk along the river. I thought they'd made good use of the well equipped kitchen. I'm sorry about the rain - it has been dire. But she's right. We aren't a conventional hotel. We are a genuine country house.
Thank goodness for all the happy guests who do love staying here. Please telephone if you'd like to discuss your needs and wants before you come - I'll be happy to suggest an alternative if this is not your cup of tea.
Meanwhile, can I refer any interested reader to the review below (November 5th) from someone who did like staying in the River Suite - just in the interest of balance.
Kind regards
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here in Dec 2012 and was surprised how at home we were made to feel.
I would highly recommend anyone planning their own wedding and making their own arrangements to use Warwick Hall as the perfect location for a picturesque occasion.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you so much for writing in. It really does mean a lot to us. Sarah and the staff work so hard to make everything as perfectly comfortable as possible - a pat on the back is very reassuring!
Please come back again, so we can thank you in person.
Best wishes for the New Year - we hope we'll see you here in 2013!
Kind regards and many thanks
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We first stayed at Warwick Hall in February 2012 with a view to holding our wedding weekend there later in the year. We immediately fell in love with the house and the surrounding views. An added bonus for us was our little border terrier, Ellie, who is very much part of the family was welcomed with open arms and no restrictions were placed on us with regards to where she could go. We were very impressed with Sarah and her attention to detail on food. Needless to say we booked our wedding for the 1st December. If I am totally honest, at times throughout the planning, I had concerns as Val, sometimes seemed to need reminding of things we had discussed, however having said this, Val, Sarah, Evan and all the staff provided us with the wedding we dreamed of!! We were encouraged from the beginning to have free reign on design and planning and Val warmly responded to all our arrangements. We held a formal meal for 19 on the Friday evening, which was beautifully cooked and presented. On the Saturday we hosted the wedding for 31 people, the ceremony was held in the hall and was just perfect, we had a sit down light meal and followed this by music, provided by Jean Penn from nearby, and dancing.
As a family there were 15 of us staying at Warwick Hall with others staying in nearby hotels which worked well for us. Our Photographs were just perfect as the setting at Warwick Hall is delightful and a large Christmas tree in the hall provided a wonderful backdrop once we lost the light.
I really can not Thank, Val, Sarah and the staff enough for everything they did for us, we are from a hospitality background ourselves having guest houses in Windermere, and from a professional point view we were very impressed with the service we received. We hope to return to Warwick Hall soon and hopefully stay in the river suite, which is so warm and comfortable.
Thank you all for an amazing weekend, keep up the good work....Tilly, Phil, Ellie and Family x

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TillyWorthington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
This comes from the nicest, happiest bride! We all loved doing this wedding because everyone - absolutely everyone - was a pleasure to look after and have in the house. We all thought this couple are bound to have a wonderfully happy life together - both so nice, so loving and thoughtful with each other - a great group of friends - and a very cute dog!
These are our kind of people! A toast to their happiness, and many thanks for the generous review,
Kind regards
Val
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed in the River Suite. It was a last minute booking but we couldn't have been made more welcome and there was even a fire waiting for us.

Just driving into the grounds we felt ourselves relax and I can honestly say our one night stay was the most relaxed I've been in ages.

The suite is beautiful with comfy sofas, very comfy bed and "the largest available bath in England". Wonderful shower and everything you could need including hair straighteners.

We were most impressed with the little touches, like the lit fire, fresh milk in the fridge, directions to the beautiful walled garden and being made to feel like guests rather than customers.

A wonderful place to stay with all the luxury but none of the pretension. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricra_0.1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valowner, General Manager at Warwick Hall, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
What a lovely surprise for me to open my email and find the message from Trip Advisor re your review! Thank you so much for taking the trouble!
"Each for each is what we teach" is our house motto - so gratifying for me when a friendly guest reciprocates - we do try - so it's very special when we find out someone has noticed.
Many thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
1.5 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cumbria Park Hotel
Cumbria Park Hotel
#8 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
6.5 mi away
Dalston Hall Hotel
Dalston Hall Hotel
#13 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Halston Aparthotel
The Halston Aparthotel
#3 of 20 in Carlisle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
4.2 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warwick Hall

Property: Warwick Hall
Address: Warwick-on-Eden, Carlisle CA4 8PG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 65 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warwick Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warwick Hall Estate offers luxurious hotel accommodation two miles from Carlisle and the M6 at Exit 43 junction with the A69. Perfect for a stopover on the road north (dogs welcome!) or stay a while if you have time to explore Hadrian's Wall and the beautiful Border countryside. Private house parties are our specialty - it's what the house was built for. Take over the entire house with its nine en suite bedrooms for exclusive use. Delicious food, excellent wine, afternoon tea in front of roaring log fires, and everything done just as it should be. You'll find long beautiful walks on the estate right out the front door. Two miles of riverbank on the River Eden through ancient beech avenues, a huge walled garden, things to do, places to go. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotel.de so you can book your Warwick Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warwick Hall Hotel Carlisle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing