We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely visit again.”

Golden Fleece Restaurant
Ranked #34 of 346 Restaurants in Carlisle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Enjoy a local real ale from our bar; sit by the fire and read through our menus; enjoy dinner made with local produce in our restaurant; let the kids run riot on the the out door play area and the enjoy a great nights sleep in our newly refurbished bedrooms!
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Will definitely visit again.”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband & I stopped at the Golden Fleece for a late lunch. We were both impressed by the tastefully decorated restaurant and bar. The food was very very good and the desserts were delicious. We will not hesitate to recommend to family and friends and look forward to going there again and sampling more of their great menu!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine5062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    77
    34
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Initial impressions are good, nice decor and friendly staff. We each had a steak which was cooked perfectly. The only issue we had was the 45min wait for our deserts which we could've understood had the restaurant been busy, but it was not. I will still give a very good rating due to the standard of the food and the friendly manner of the staff

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fester1698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vrysoulles, Cyprus
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Can't wait to visit again”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Once again another great visit to the Fleece. It was the first time my wife and myself have stayed here since the renovated rooms were completed whilst travelling south after a wedding in Scotland and I must admit that I was extremely impressed ( but not surprised ) by what the owner and his team have done. We were in what I think is their 'honeymoon suite' (room 7) and the decor/standard of the room would not be out of place and is of as high a standard as many city 'boutique' style hotels, however ,it still retained a rural/countryside feel. Possibly one of the comfiest beds I've slept in and the shower was worth the trip itself, I'm just gutted we couldn't stay long enough to enjoy the inviting looking bath!

We ate downstairs in the evening and again the quality of service and food we received was worthy of many more upmarket and expensive establishments. A waitress informed us that the Chef had came from a well known Scottish lochside hotel which would explain the high standard of food. With another young local chef working there aswell it is refreshing to eat food that you can tell is made by people passionate about local produce and create menus to show it at its best. The breakfast again was excellent, fresh and set us up for a days travelling.

The only negative about the Golden Fleece is that we don't live in the UK! We will certainly make sure however that we stop off enroute to visiting family and friends, another great point is that it's only situated ten minutes from the M6 but feels like you're away out in the countryside.

Great place, great rooms, great food, great staff. You can't ask for anymore than that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12theBrambles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“up and coming”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is very up and coming with additions of rooms and a comference suite so more people will be able to sample the delights of this restaurant. All the staff are friendly and helpfull and the standard of food is very high along with the special service.Some very nice touches in the presentation of the food adds to the overall feel good atmosphere. I had a very nice simple main course of local cumberland sausage, smoked bacon, black pudding and chunky chips but it tasted far from a simple dish more a gastro masterpiece.We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bluejayaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Visited here for Fathers Day - our second visit and we will return! The food was cooked to perfection, really good quality and staff were friendly. Big portions so we were too full for dessert. Waited a little while for food to be served but it was worth the wait.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Fleece Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Golden Fleece Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing