We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast!”
Review of No 1 Guest House

No 1 Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
No 1 Guest House
Ranked #31 of 60 Carlisle B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I got to the No. 1 late having had a long days cycle across the Lake District, as part of a Land's End to John o'Groats trip. I was greeted by Sheila who warned me the local pub (opposite) shut at 11. My room and en-suite bathroom were very clean and in good order. The breakfast was excellent and included a wonderful, light and fluffy cheese omelette. The breakfast table was shared with other guests and Sheila and her hubby made for some amusing banter during the meal! Highly recommended B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrbasstrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our 1 night stay was very comfortable. Sheila was very helpful suggesting somewhere for an evening meal coinciding with an pleasant drive. Breakfast was plentiful and yummy! Parking was the only problem - double yellow's outside - but there was a nearby car park which we could use and we were given an parking voucher for this use.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

As usual I was asked to stay out overnight. My boss said where? I said close to M6 at Carlisle. I found the No 1 b+b easily. My first room at the rear had a double bed and was clean and tidy, but we could not find the TV remote, So Sheila the landlady moved me straight away. The front room had 2 single beds and was very comfy, I was asked what time I would like breakfast. I felt at home straight away. The on-suite is the best I have had the pleasure to use. Shampoos and body wash for male and females. The only thing missing was the toothbrush and paste. I even was given a extra large bath towel. I enjoyed a good nights sleep.
Breakfast was very good. A good selection of cereals, Fresh strawberry's, Orange juice, and tea in a pot. I had a very tasty full English. Sheila and her husband are brilliant ( Sorry forgot his name).
This is one B+B that will be on our list in the office. It was booked through Late Rooms, but I would definitely request it when I am in the area again. The only downside is parking. It`s on the street, but you will get a pass to put in your car window.

Room Tip: No2 as a double bed and is at the rear of the house. But My room with the single`s at the front was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a fluke booking for us, an overnight stay on the way to Scotland. The only disappointment we found was that we didn't book for longer. The hosts are brilliant - they are charming, professional and helpful and made sure we were comfortable for our short stay, even pointing out where spare blankets could be found in the room as they were concerned that two Australians would feel the Northern cold more than average guests. We would definately recommend Carlisle as a desination and the no 1 guest house as the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oztra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I stayed here as a single traveller the night before a running event. The room was clean and amenities in the room well stocked. Although I didn't need a cooked breakfast the owner went and got me some peanut butter for toast the next morning and booked me a taxi the next morning lovely couple thanks

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juleswill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The owners were very friendly and welcoming, they made us feel comfortable on arrival and prepared a breakfast to suit at a time convenient for us the following day. It was nice to talk to the owner over breakfast.

On arrival I was extremely happy with the cleanliness of the hotel in particular the room. There were facilities to make tea and coffee with the added bonus of a chocolate biscuit hidden in the cup.

I would recommend this to anyone and would stay here again if travelling to this end of the country.

The only reason for giving the location a 4 is that it was on a road which appeared to be quite busy and could possibly be difficult to find a space.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smileyhead2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vere2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Carlisle hotels
0.7 mi away
Crown & Mitre Hotel
Crown & Mitre Hotel
#7 of 20 in Carlisle
1,069 reviews
2.7 mi away
Willowbeck Lodge
Willowbeck Lodge
#1 of 1 in Scotby
196 reviews
1 mi away
Ibis Carlisle
Ibis Carlisle
#5 of 20 in Carlisle
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Crown Wetheral Hotel
Crown Wetheral Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wetheral
1,052 reviews
7.2 mi away
Graham Arms Hotel
Graham Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Longtown
160 reviews
2.3 mi away
Park Broom Lodge
Park Broom Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crosby on Eden
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No 1 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No 1 Guest House

Address: 1 Etterby Street | Stanwix, Carlisle CA3 9JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Carlisle
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Carlisle
Hotel Class:4 star — No 1 Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your No 1 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing